We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty fresh food”
Review of The Cholas - CLOSED

The Cholas
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Tasty fresh food”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We went on a Friday evening and found the restaurant empty, still it was only 7pm. We were warmly greeted by Neesha (spelling?), who was a delight to chat to through the evening. We had Masala Vadai and MIni Sambar Idly for starters, accompanied by a light and fluffy garlic naan bread. Different fare from any Indian food we've had before, so that was a nice change. The mains were a very delicious Chicken Chettinadu, accompanied by beautifully flavoured saffron rice and a Mysore Masala Dosa, with accompanying sauces. The Dosa wasn't as flavoursome as the chicken, but nice and my partner enjoyed it. The chicken wasn't as spicy as expected but not at all disappointing. BYOB appreciated and with no corkage charge. We had pistachio kulfi and a typical Southern India dessert of vermicelli in a very sweet creamy sauce, with nuts and sultanas. Can't remember the name but something like paysan. Was too sweet and rich for me, but again, nice to try something different. A very nice change from the norm and first visit to Cholas. Good value too, £31 for 2 people having 3 courses each plus naan bread.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Egon_Rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    13
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

This restaurant is close to the Queen's Hall and we were going to a concert there. The service was warm and friendly. The food is Southern Indian style and very tasty. It is good to be able to taste the spices that make up the curry. The lamb and chicken specials are recommended.
Served without too much delay. All in all, we will go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Wroclaw, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic South Indian food in Edinburgh”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I've been to this restaurant a few times, and it hasn't disappointed yet. Very authentic South Indian dosa (the Mysore Masala is great), great starters (I had the mini idly in sambar). Was very tempted by a banana dosa for desert, but went for jamun and ice cream instead, which was a generous portion and very tasty.

Waiting staff are very friendly and attentive. I've eaten South Indian lots before, but if you haven't I'm sure they'd help you decide. Prices are reasonable.

If you're looking for authentic food with no gimmicks then go for it!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank russellelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uphall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellant Food”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Went with friends after restaurant being recommended to us. It is not the fanciest of places.....but if you are looking for excellent Indian food, with different options from the norm, and lovely staff, then give this place a go. Really tasty food, just a great atmosphere and attentive staff. Loved it....recommend it and will be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shirleydoll S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A great wee find!”
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

We were attending a concert at the Queens Hall and stopped in at the Chola for a meal beforehand. A bit spartan looking with wipe clean table cloths and paper napkins but the atmosphere was warm and friendly. The waitress recommended the dosa to share. We opted for this and had it with 4 delicious sauces. I then had chicken kuruma which is chicken in a creamy coconut sauce with ground cashews and poppy seeds. My husband had Kerala fish curry, which is made with onion, garlic, and coconut with Kerala spices. We had tomato and saffron rice to accompany our dishes. It was all delicious and not too expensive. The waitress was very knowledgeable and could tell us about traditional South Indian food. She also advised that the chef could 'customise' our meal, should we require more spice/heat etc. A very pleasant dining experience and would definitely recommend it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Teri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cholas also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing