We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Thai-like food”

Mintleaf Restaurant
Ranked #162 of 2,528 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Thai
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Delicious Thai-like food”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Phenomenal service and stocked Singh's beer. This is an Indian and Thai food restaurant so the Thai food which we ordered was a bit different e.g. olives served with Some Tam (always tricky in the UK because of the difficulty in getting green papaya), Basmati rice rather than Jasmine rice. But ... the food was freshly prepared, beautifully cooked and with generous amounts of basil and coriander where appropriate ☺ When we requested a dish of fish sauce with chopped chillies to season the rice it appeared in seconds, brilliant. Did I mention the phenomenal service? The manager gave me his email address so that we could warn him next time we go and he will ensure they have enough bids eye chillies!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank m25doc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    384
    100
    33
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Lovely restaurant -fab Indian curry”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

I thought i would try this restaurant after it was recommended to me and i was very pleased i did, the food was lovely, it came really quickly and was good big portions. The service was also second to none with the waiting staff being attentive and even gave us some free snacks while we were waiting for our food to cook.
i would recommend this restaurant to anyone who likes curry, you will not be disappointed.

They also do Thai food and have specific Thai and Indian chefs who specialise in each cuisine.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Recommended”
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

My son and I ate at the Mintleaf earlier this week. A very pleasant eating space, friendly service and, above all, excellent food. I thoroughly recommend this Leith restaurant. We shall certainly return.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank mikemackey52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West lothian
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant and Great Night”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

I have been to Mint Leaf twice now and cannot rate it highly enough. It is a modern Indian/Thai restaurant with a good sized menu and will have something to suit all taste buds. Both times I have been I have went with family and all of us really enjoyed the experience. The last time I was there I had the Mixed Pakora starter followed by a Chicken Tikka dish. Both of which were full of flavour and filled me up. The Naan’s that we got as a table were also of a good size and struggled to finish them. Prices are reasonable and by Edinburgh standards are probably one of the cheapest Indian’s about. I have not yet tried the Thai dishes however look to try them next time I will be there.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Timecapsule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Soooooo Good!”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Returned to the Mintleaf tonight. Lovely meal as always and the staff are so friendly. Had tandoori mixed grill, chicken hot and sour murgh, sag paneer, nan and these amazing sweet potatoe dumplings with peanut satay sauce. Don't need to go anywhere else in Leith for a curry this good. Thai food is also spot on. Thanks Mintleaf

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mintleaf Restaurant also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Mintleaf Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing