We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, personal service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cranachan & Crowdie

Cranachan & Crowdie
Ranked #5 of 171 Shopping in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: At Cranachan & Crowdie you'll find all those quintessential Scottish food and drink souvenirs from thistle-shaped shortbread down to a humble bottle of Scottish water. But this range of trademark Scottish treats is certainly not limited. These Scottish foodies boast an exciting range that includes sixteen different types of oatcakes alongside oodles of accompanying jams, marmalades and chutneys. Not to mention traditional Black Bun, award winning chocolates, ice cream during the warm months, traditional and whisky tablet and even Scottish dog treats. Those among us with special dietary needs needn't worry about being left out, as Cranachan & Crowdie offers a fantastic gluten free range to satisfy their Scottish-food-cravings. Cranachan & Crowdie are bringing the widest range of quality Scottish food, drink and gift products to the capital's doorstep as they always seek new, small producers, including acclaimed Charlotte Flower Chocolates, to introduce in the city. So if you haven't already been tempted by the Canongate's latest take on traditional Scottish food and drink shop, don't wait around to stock up on your favourite Scottish treats, and pick up a few new ideas while you're there. They'll even wrap it up in a gift basket for you! Gift certificates are available and make the perfect gift for any foodie. Free gift wrapping available year round.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Cumbria
Level Contributor
228 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Friendly, personal service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

We called in whilst en route back from Arthurs Seat. I spied some Elderflower liqueur that took my eye. I was offered a sample to try and it was utterly delightful. We returned the next day before we left the city to buy a bottle. Whilst there I also bought some Limoncello lemon curd, haggis crisps and some 'puffin poo' sweets for my nephew. We got friendly service by staff who are passionate about their local produce. So even if you give some of the more 'tourist' shops selling Scottish merchandise, don't give this place a berth or you will be missing a treat!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazza9173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    8
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Scottish Goodies to Austin, Texas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

We are delighted that Cranachan & Crowdie were able to help us select and send a special birthday hamper to our dear friend in Austin Texas. We picked some great Scottish Goodies and they took care of the rest. Packaged and sent within 72 hours to be there on the day of our friend's birthday. Great service and great advice from Beth as we picked a selection of Scottish food and other birthday presses. Thank you so much. xxx

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank GilliG9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely shop and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

I walk past here nearly every day to and from work. Don't get the chance to pop in, until today. The staff were lovely and friendly without being pushy. There was lots of beautiful things all made in Scotland. Got some whisky marmalade and going back for the limoncello curd next.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lornajeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing Shop Don't Miss It!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Arrived in Edinburgh this morning and our first port of call was Cranachan & Crowdie after reading about it on Trip Advisor, and we were not disappointed! All my holiday pressies bought in one place and Beth and Fiona were brilliant! Love my Wee Broon Bag Ian bought me, a must have souvenir from Edinburgh! We loved this shop so much we are going back tomorrow!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Went above and beyond for a Christmas gift”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

After a trip to Edinburgh I wanted to buy my husband a whisky and glasses stave set for Christmas but was having no luck anywhere and had been let down by another shop online. I was given C&C's contact details and duly phoned them up. Beth was so helpful and patient even with a shop full of people! She took my number and email address and a few minutes later i had 7 or 8 emails all with pictures of all the different staves they had plus prices. I picked the one I wanted and then received another email as there were 2 or 3 varieties of the one i wanted - it was like being in the shop! She then rang me back and on paying for the stave she very kindly charged me for 48 hour delivery but actually put it on 24 hours as it was getting near Christmas - such good service. The parcel arrived expertly wrapped and my husband was thrilled with his gift. Thank you C&C and we will definitely be paying you a visit next time we're in Edinburgh!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tamzin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cranachan & Crowdie also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Cranachan & Crowdie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing