We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel One Edinburgh-Royal
Ranked #53 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Weekend Stay”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I recently stayed here for a 1 night stay in Edinburgh for the Tattoo and was quite happy with the accommodation. The hotel itself is huge with 7 floors, recently completed so everything is in nice, new condition. The bathrooms are excellent and the beds are comfy (we only got one pillow each though we didnt bother asking at reception for more, i'm sure they would have obliged). Free wifi and a decent flat screen tv. We were slightly disappointed that breakfast was just continental (toast, warm croissants and boiled eggs included) considering it was £7.50 each. I still think it was a bit pricey at £150 for 1 night, but this was among the cheapest in Edinburgh considering the Tattoo and Fringe festival were on. Great location too, right next to Waverly (city) train station. Its at the bottom of a hill though, so be prepared for lots of steps up to High Street and the Royal Mile.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    879
    888
    252
    50
    37
See reviews for
211
1,067
197
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

How odd that they make you pay for the room (and breakfast) when you check in and not when checking out. So you'd better not change your mind the next morning about breakfast or complain about the room that you haven't yet seen having paid for both already. The hotel is a series of listed buildings on a slope that have been converted into a hotel. As a result, its a bit of a rabbit warren inside with winding corridors. My room was small and the fan was loud. Shower only, no tub, and no soap for washing hands. No bedside table for watch / alarm. Those are the gripes. On the plus side, the location is very convenient for trains, busses, shopping, castle etc. The insides are new and the decor is nice. Bathroom fixtures and fittings are lovely, as was the bed and plasma screen TV. Continental breakfast is very good value-for-money at GBP 7.50. The breakfast area also doubles as a bar for guests at night, which is convenient and convivial. Staff were polite, but not chatty and welcoming and neither asked questions nor offered advice. Mixed feelings overall.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Firstly the positive:
The hotel is in a great location right next to Waverley Bridge and the trains and airport bus (get the bus from the airport as its a great service and very cheap). You can easily get to all of the main sites from the hotel which was the only bonus with this hotel. The rooms are clean. Decent hairdryer but heavy. Breakfast is a continental buffet but plentiful and good value for money. The beds are very comfortable but we were not keen on the German pillows and you get a single duvet each.
The negatives
Its a very noisy hotel and seemed to be full of very inconsiderate guests and the walls appear to have no sound proofing at all!
The first room we had was the size of a shoe box and like an oven! They changed our room upon request and we had a larger room with a window that opened directly onto a smoking area and the TV in this room did not work as well.
There is no soap in the bathroom so bring your own if you like washing your hands after going to the toilet!!
No bedside tables either so all of your stuff ends up on the floor next to the bed.
I also did not like the fact that they take payment in full when you check in and have not even had a chance to see the room first.
The hotel is reasonable value for money considering its location. However if I go back to Edinburgh I would not be staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cracknelll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in July 2013. This hotel is centrally located and within walking distance of all the major attractions and 2 mins from the train station. Hotel is clean and modern. Our rooms was spacious but not a great view. But for £90 per night for B&B (buffet breakfast) for two adults and a child you can't go wrong.
I would compare this hotel to the Travelodge and the Premier Inn. This is by far a higher standard (maybe due to it's recent refurbishment).
Cannot fault the service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Osian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Right next to Waverley Station centrally located. Recently re-furbished throughout and very clean , stylish and contemporary throughout. Good sized rooms with excellant power shower. Odd thing about the rooms is that there is no telephone in the room and in the Bathroom no soap, just liquid body gell ! We didn't gor for the Breakfast , at £ 7.50 each , as only "continental" style. There are a number of local Cafes nearby for a "Full Scottish" at £ 6.95 !!
Reception staff are very helpful and attentive
( aircondition problems mentioned in other reviews have been fully fixed as at July 2013 )

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tc+Ac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Only stayed here for one night but was very impressed. First off the location is perfect for exploring all that Edinburgh has to offer. It's across the road from the train station (Waverly) and a short 5-10 min walk to the castle, with lots of places to drink and eat on the Royal Mile. Princes Street is 5 mins away for shopping and Princes Street Gardens is a nice walk just outside the hotel.
The room we got was small but really clean and nicely presented. The room really just had a bed, a table and a TV but all very nice and a to have two separate duvets on the bed. The bathroom again was small but finished to a high standard with a large walk in shower with a rain style shower head that was also detachable. Water pressure was good. There is free WIFI in the room. I can't comment on the other posts regarding the layout of the hotel as my room was pretty easy to get to. The air con wasn't working which reception apologised for, the window could be opened which was fine and not noisy (even facing onto Princes Street)
Breakfast was included and was continental style but all very fresh and a reasonable selection continuously restocked. The staff I interacted with were very friendly. I'll be looking to stay here again for any other Edinburgh visits.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claricus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely brilliant location ... Right next to Waverley Station.
Rooms very clean, check in excellent, cannot comment on brekky as not keen on continental brekky.
The only thing that let this hotel down was air condition very poor..... But saying that I must have lost a few pounds in sweat.
I did say to the reception on check out so hopefully they will sort this out.
Good value for money hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike4golf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
#34 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,056 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 148 in Edinburgh
309 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#50 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
914 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Edinburgh-Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Edinburgh-Royal

Property: Motel One Edinburgh-Royal
Address: 18-21 Market Street, Edinburgh EH1 1BL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel One Edinburgh-Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel One Edinburgh-Royal has prime position in the hub of the city, on bustling Market Street, a stone’s throw from the Waverley Railway Station and the Royal Mile, close to the shopping strip, main attractions, businesses, and popular nightlife.Based on the concept "Great design for little money" the Motel One brand offers high standards of service and great design for budget conscious guests in city centre locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, HRS, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Motel One Edinburgh-Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel One Edinburgh-Royal Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing