We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location but very tartan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel One Edinburgh-Royal
Ranked #54 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good location but very tartan”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Arrived at the hotel for a weekend with my girlfriend. The biggest plus point of the hotel is its location - right next to the train station and opposite Princes Street. Very modern and inviting hotel however the tartan decor was a bit much! The staff at check-in were very helpful and advised us of everything we would need to know. The room itself was rather small, but if you are going out and about the city then it doesn't really matter. Some building/road works meant an earlier than planned wake up but there's not much the hotel or staff could do about that! Check-out was simple enough and the staff were helpful enough to let us leave our bags in their care while we did a bit more touring while waiting for our train. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wafflesniffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    868
    873
    247
    48
    36
See reviews for
206
1,053
193
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Me and my wife were spending a night in Edinburgh for our anniversary so I wanted to choose a decent place to stay in a good location.
I chose Motel One based on it's location (near to the Royal Mile) and it appeared to be decent quality for the price.

If I was to sum this place up very briefly I would say that it is a Germany's version of the UK's Premier Inn, this is definitely not a criticism however. The first thing to say is that the location of this place is great, it's right next to Edinburgh Waverley station and a short walk to Princes Street.
In the other direction you have a very short walk to the old town, George Street, Royal Mile etc..

On arrival my first impressions were good, it is quite contemporary and most importantly it was clean. There is a decent size seating area and a bar, the reception is up a small fight of stairs.
We arrived before our designated check in time but this was not a problem, they took our bags and we went off for a wander. The staff were welcoming and friendly, couldn't ask for much more and it was what I expected.

When we got to our room we were both happy with it. It was definitely fitting with the style of this place. It was modern but most importantly very clean. The best thing about the room was the shower room, the shower was fantastic and the fixtures and fittings were very good - it just looked the business!

A couple of minor criticisms I would have would be that the bed was slightly too hard for my liking and the pillow was very soft so it didn't give much support - despite this I still got a got a good nights sleep and this is me being picky! As mentioned in other reviews tea/coffee facilities would have been nice but again I didn't find it to be a massive issue.

We didn't have breakfast but the following morning when we checked out the bar/dining area was packed and the breakfast looked pretty good.

Overall If you are having a short break in Edinburgh and want a decent place to stay in a very good location you should consider this place. It is the same standard accommodation as a Premier Inn and at a similar price. I gave it a 4 out of 5 overall because it I felt it delivered what I wanted.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NewcastleAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I have just been to Edinburgh for a short weekend. Having never been I used Trip Advisor to research hotels and after looking booked Motel One. As soon as we jumped in the taxi at the airport the driver informed us that the hotel was brand new and located very centrally. He couldn't be more RIGHT! The hotel is pretty much brand new, and it is so clean. The location was excellent, 30 seconds walk from the Royal Mile and 3 minutes walk from Princes Street. It was the perfect location. It was also situated opposite the buses to and from the hotel ( they take you right to the door and directly to the zoo!) The hotel itself was clean, and the rooms were of a good size. They were also cleaned on a daily basis. The only thing I was bit like hmm was that the booking said we had a queen size bed- which we didn't have. The wi-fi could also be a bit dodgy. But overall a fantastic stay, the staff were great, location amazing and lovely rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed here in early June for one night with my wife. Compared to the many bog standard hotels available in Edinburgh this is a great option. Being recently renovated the room felt new and clean. It looked modern, beds were comfy, flatscreen, bathroom was good, coldnt really fault it. There was no iron however if you wanted one, and the bathroom mirror steamed up very quickly making it impossible for my wife to dry her hair in there, but on the plus side she did say the hair dryer was great ! We did not have breakfast but plenty of people looked like they were enjoying it. Location is brilliant also. Nearest car parking is about 5 mins walk away at the Waverly train station or 10 mins for a BCP.

Room Tip: High rooms ensure a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikeyofboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We travelled to Edinburgh by train and, despite having a lot of luggage, easily walked the short distance to Motel One. Although reception was not open, staff were happy to accept our bags and store them until we checked in. Staff were friendly and efficient throughout our stay, including when we left our luggage after check-out, which allowed us freedom before moving on. The building is recently refurbished - the decor is immaculate and the whole place is minimalist and modern. Our room faced onto the steps down from Royal Mile, so there were pedestrians walking past our window well into the evening and also some in the early hours. There is everything you need in the room, but no frills such as tea/coffee making. Sockets were not abundant, but we found sufficient to charge phones, dry hair etc. Altogether, the hotel is very convenient for the rail station, Princes Street and the Royal Mile, affordable, clean and modern.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snorkelpony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This hotel had an excellent location for walking around the city centre. However there were a few points that knocked it from being a 1st class hotel. 1. There was only one uk socket in the room, at one point we needed an iron, phone charging and hairdryer and had to take turns. 2. If you were in the room with the curtains open you could be seen by anyone walking down the corridor, we ended up with the curtains drawn and no natural light just so we could feel at ease. 3. Free WiFi, but none of us could get a connection. On the plus side the rooms were very clean and the decoration was excellent. Also the staff were friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinckney, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Beautiful, modern, clean room. VERY close to all major attractions. Airlink bus 100 literally drops you feet from the door. Everything we were looking for. Quiet, organized well. Staff were very helpful an friendly. Americans beware however- there are 2 duvets on a double bed, not one large one like we are used to. Not very conducive to couply snuggling.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Alisonivy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
#34 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#49 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Edinburgh-Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Edinburgh-Royal

Property: Motel One Edinburgh-Royal
Address: 18-21 Market Street, Edinburgh EH1 1BL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel One Edinburgh-Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel One Edinburgh-Royal has prime position in the hub of the city, on bustling Market Street, a stone’s throw from the Waverley Railway Station and the Royal Mile, close to the shopping strip, main attractions, businesses, and popular nightlife.Based on the concept "Great design for little money" the Motel One brand offers high standards of service and great design for budget conscious guests in city centre locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HRS, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Motel One Edinburgh-Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel One Edinburgh-Royal Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing