We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Comfortable, Outstanding Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments
Ranked #20 of 204 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Quiet, Comfortable, Outstanding Location”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

These apartments are excellent. Very peaceful, just a few minutes walk from the Royal Mile and Edinburgh University. Supermarket, restaurants, coffee bars all nearby.
Ideal for sight-seeing or business!

Room Tip: Ask to look out over the meadowland park at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RCWO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistle R, Manager at Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    129
    34
    10
    14
See reviews for
201
152
10
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Wonderful location with a real vibrance, near University. Stayed 3 nights. Excellent base to explore Edinburgh. So close to great cafes, supermarket, shops, fabulous fresh fish shop (Eddy's seafood market, on Roseneath Street through lovely adjoining park called The Meadows) about 8-9 minutes away. Apartment very fresh, very clean presentation, well set up, and quiet. Scott, the manager was extremely helpful, professional & welcoming.

Room Tip: We were on first floor facing street & enjoyed outlook - fairly visible to passers by - others...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MC H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistle R, Owner at Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Hi,

Thanks for pointing out 'Eddy's seafood market'. Guests tend to head towards the castle and Royal Mile but you're correct in that taking a walk through the park brings you to a wonderful area called Morningside. This is like a village of its own and hosts a number boutique style shops and fresh food outlets. Definitely worth a look if the weather justifys a stroll.

Regards
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Me and my girlfriend spent a few nights here. I have to say it was a great place. The apartment was so clean and had everything you needed and fast wifi and digital tv. Really was like a home away from home. The staff were all very helpful and very pleasant and location wise it was great. About 10 mins to the castle and 15 mins to the city centre all by foot. There is a Starbucks downstairs but we loved the coffee shop/bakery on the corner called "peters yard" it had an open bakery that you could see into and was very nice. And next to that was a sainsbury's with all the essentials. I would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jayrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistle R, Manager at Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Apartments are taking a large chunk of the accommodation market from hotels for the very reasons you mention. Freedom and independence are the main positives and at the Quartermile we have what we believe is the best location in the city.

Regards
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2014

I stayed for 2 nights in late January and as it was a business trip I didnt spend much time in the apartment - but it was great to have plenty of space and the convenience of such nearby restaurants and supermarket. It would be good to return in nicer weather, to enjoy the nearby Meadows and their views of the Castle. Even in winter the modern glass apartments give some pretty reflections of the historic buildings which are spread across the Quartermile site. The assistants were very helpful - for example supplying taxi number and advising how to operate the oven. I was alerted to the fact that turning on the bathroom towelrail might make the bedroom very warm - which it did - but that was a very minor problem, quickly solved. The area still has quite a lot of building going on - any young children would have loved watching the shiny blue robotic crane!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 2014English2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistle R, Manager at Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Great to hear that the apartment worked well for your business trip. The building work is only at one of the development and shouldn't impact a guests enjoyment. We believe that the mix of old and new perfectly adds to the romance of the area and the historical architecture has been tastefully converted.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I stayed here at the very end of the comedy festival but in reality, felt like i was truly away from it, which was nice.

The location was quiet and easy to get to on foot and by car. There was an express supermarket below which had everything i needed and was complimented well but a properly setup kitchen, however, be wary of cooking as the smoke detector was overly sensitive and went off when cooking bacon in the frying pan!

The bed was reasonably comfortable. However the curtain solution was very poor and didn't cut out all of the light and had massive gaps down the edges, preventing full privacy.

The staff member that met me there was very useful, polite and organized. Although that is the only time i saw anyone, which is both good and bad for various reasons.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistle R, Manager at Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Hi Matt

Thank you for your feedback.

Please email us direct so we can ascertain which apartment we need to address the curtains in.

Our onsite reception is manned generally from 9:30 - 22:00 and there is someone on site 24/7. We are always available if guests need us and are here to help.

Regards
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We booked a one bed apartment for ourselves and one child. The agency owner, Scott, was amazingly helpful. They have a wide range of apartments, which are fresh, well equipped and modern. Quartermile has a few restaurants on the doorstep - Peters Yard Swedish bakery would be my favourite - and is a wonderful central location for the city. Only minutes away are the Meadows, the Grassmarket, the Old Town, the central University area and lots more.

Room Tip: One bed apartments face into the Quartermile, two bed apartments face out to the Meadows
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARossfromScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistle R, Owner at Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Hi,

Thanks for your feedback.

Peters Yard are soon to bring their 24 hour bakery to the Quartermile to help support the demand from local residents.

Your tip is a very good point and guests should note that the 3 bedroom properties also face out.

We hope to see you again soon.

Regards
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed in late January - although the weather wasn't anything to go by the great quality apartment was. A spacious 2 bedroom apartment with open plan lounge and kitchen area. Bathroom with bath and separate walk-in shower gave us plenty of space for the whole weekend. The bedrooms themselves were a good size (pretty sure they were king size beds), walk-in wardrobe in the larger room and plenty of mirrors and lights for the girls to get ready. We made use of the heating due to the cold weather and there was even extra blankets on the beds. Scott and Craig from Thistle Residence were extremely helpful in directing us to the apartment and helping us out with parking. We were in a great location in The Old Town with a 5 minute walk to the nearest pub. I recommend the Italian Divino restaurant, it was amazing food and the service was great. Pretty, idyllic settings and so much to do in the area. Handy supermarket and coffee shop right on the doorstep we shall definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jessmct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistle R, Manager at Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Hi Jess.

Unfortunately the weather is outside of our control but i'm pleased the apartment made up for it.

Divinos' is a great restaurant and one that our guests will receive discounted prices at. We are in the process of building relations with other local establishments and these are listed on the guest offers page of our website.

Regards
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Southside & Holyrood
Residence Inn Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh
#36 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,053 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 149 in Edinburgh
933 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,820 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments

Property: Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments
Address: 2 Lister Square, Edinburgh EH3 9GL, Scotland (Formerly Thistle Residence - Quartermile Apartments)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 204 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scotia Grand Residence offer 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom immaculately presented apartments in the prestigious and sort after Quartermile development. Situated within walking distance of the city centre and Royal Mile, these luxury apartments have been finished to the highest standard and make for a relaxing and memorable stay. All apartments offer lift access and are entirely self-contained. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing