We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty New Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bristo Bar and Kitchen - CLOSED

The Bristo Bar and Kitchen
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Neighborhood: Old Town
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tasty New Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Only open about 4 weeks when we went - neither the hotel nor the taxi driver knew where this was! Valentine's night dinner was superb, without going for the special. Cocktails to start (sadly no Galliano), then starters and beautiful main courses (surf and turf; haggis). Moved on to sit at the bar for Irish coffees and drinks. Staff are superb, friendly and knowledgeable - especially Mark and Johnny. Don't miss this little gem on Lothian Street.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank June H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    25
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great food, great drinks, great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Visited with friends the day of a six nations match.

Made to fee very welcome by all staff who were able to provide advice with regards dishes on the menu.

Opted for a pasta dish for main which was excellent and a sticky toffee pudding for desert which was delicious.

Will definitely revisit soon.

Very, very well stocked bar as well so will become a regular haunt!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MSmith963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best meal out in a while”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Was given a tip from a friend that the restaurant is under new management and the food was good. Took my wife son and his fiancé on Sunday night. Thoroughly enjoyed it. Staff really friendly. All of us except my misses had 3 courses. My son and his fiancé are veggy and well catered for. You've got to save room for the banoffee pie - didn't know it could taste so good. I'd describe as pub food at restaurant quality.. And just to top things off the beers on offer are excellent...... Dave

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Decent Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Everything was pretty good, staff looked after us well, quality was excellent, temperature wasn't ideal, bit too warm. Young American bar tender made us a stellar strawb daiquiri and a Malcolm(?) tasted just like fruit salad sweeties, I enjoyed the nostalgia. Would recommend the burger trio to anybody who comes here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleApple_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best staff! Delicious food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

I've been to loads of restaurants in Edinburgh but i have to say that every single one of the staff members i came into contact with here were awesome. I will definitely be going back because their food is also fantastic!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Semi_Circle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bristo Bar and Kitchen also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing