We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful flat in great location”
other travelers have booked this property
The Grassmarket flat - situated 3rd floor on right
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Grassmarket flat - situated 3rd floor on right
Room with a view Meal for two
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
The Grassmarket flat - situated 3rd floor on right
Room with a view
Meal for two
Living Area
Scottish themed soft furnishings
Kitchen. Complimentary tea,coffe,and milk is provided plus a bottle of chilled wine on your arrival.
New shower room
Comfortable sleeping area
Tastefully decorated living area
The Grassmarket view
Complimentary Xmas/New Year Hamper
Scottish soaps
Scottish theme throughout
Wine for two!
View from windows at night
Meal with a view
Edinburgh Castle seen from the Grassmarket
Edinburgh Military Tattoo - 3 minutes walk from flat
Grassmarket skyline at night
Street entertainers outside
A Christmas treat !
Victoria street leading to Grassmarket.  This street is just outside
Fair In Grassmarket precinct
Our flat is centrally situated at the bottom of Victoria Street
studio/Lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Berniebar...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful flat in great location”
Reviewed November 16, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I stayed for 2 nights in mid-November and were not disappointed. The flat is beautifully maintained, with all the essentials. The location is also ideal- right in the centre of Edinburgh, perfect for visiting attractions like Edinburgh Castle. Despite this, it was always quiet at night. All in all a brilliant place to stay. We will be back!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 17, 2016
Thank you so much for the great review.
It was great to meet you, and I hope you managed to climb " Arthurs seat "in the good weather.
It would be a delight to have you back to stay in the future
Gill & Tom
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anniej979...
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect.”
Reviewed October 16, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

I stayed in this lovely flat for six nights at the beginning of October. It's only a 10 minute walk from Edinburgh Waverly but catch a cab if you have lots of luggage (only about £5). It's on the third floor up a spiral staircase but the views down Grassmarket more than make up for that!! It's spotlessly clean and has everything you could possibly need. I would stay here again in s heartbeat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 16, 2016
Thank you for your great review
I am so glad you enjoyed our place so much.
I hope to see you again sometime.
Gill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toadhollo...
PA
Level 6 Contributor
458 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed October 5, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We found this to be a perfect location for our Edinburgh stay. We enjoyed the time we spent in the apartment overlooking Grassmarket. Centrally located for sightseeing, restaurants and pick up for the hop on/hop off bus. Great restaurants and pubs at our doorstep.
The kitchen is well equipped but being from the US, it took us a while to understand the on/off switches for the appliances. There is a washer but no dryer. The washer is tiny and there is a drying rack in the service closet but I'm not sure where you would put it to dry the wet clothes. We intended to do a load of wash upon arrival, but never did...I probably wouldn't have been able to figure it out. Detailed information needs to be in the kitchen regarding these appliances.
Nice table and chairs in the living room area with a stuffed loveseat and chair. Very nicely decorated. TV was not working due to power switch turned off at the TV so, the TV and remoted needed to be turned on. Again this took us some time to figure out...not that we really needed the TV.
The bed was comfortable but wee...only a double. We found this to be the case with several places where we stayed. We made it work, but not my idea of comfort and restful night's sleep.
The bathroom was small but serviceable with nice amenities. The shower does need some sort of holder for soap/shampoo and some hooks on the wall would help with towel hanging.
The owner/caretaker was was very available for any of our questions through email and assisted us in reserving a taxi when leaving.
All in all, a very positive experience in lovely Edinburgh. The rental was very reasonably priced and we certainly felt more a part of the city rather than staying in a large hotel. Just beware of that small bed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The bed
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 6, 2016
Hi, thanks for the review. We take onboard what you say about hooks in the bathroom and intend to add more. It is a good point. Switches for appliances are common in UK for safety. This has never been raised as an issue before but a general note saying that they need to be pressed might be helpful. The bed is advertised as a double and this is a standard size in UK and most of the continent. As your comment could be misleading to others, for clarification, it is a standard double bed. We have altered the washer description in the listing as it may have caused confusion. It is there for the convenience of guests who might need to use it for small loads. It will still be available in the flat. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in general and these appear to be only very minor points.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our wonderful stay in Edinburgh”
Reviewed September 23, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The apartment was clean and had all we needed for our short stay. Gill gave us all the info to get into the apartment and we had absolutely no problems finding and accessing the flat. It's also beautifully located in the Grassmarket area with loads of restaurants and pubs nearby. The Royal Mile and all the main city attractions are just a few minutes walk. Thank you Gill we'll definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Compagno/a
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 24, 2016
Thank you very much for your very kind review.
We take pleasure when our guests love our apartment and beautiful city.
You are welcome back again anytime.
Gill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smithJone...
1 review
“Home from home”
Reviewed August 21, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a wonderful time staying 5 nights in this amazing little flat, right in the middle of the grassmarket. It was the perfect location for enjoying the fringe festival and we can't wait to come back next year. Thanks Gill for a lovely holiday!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2016
You are welcome.
Thank you for the great review and thank you for booking again next year.
I look forward to seeing you soon.
Gill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen L
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An excellent place to stay, highly recommended”
Reviewed July 29, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

A great little apartment, ideally located, clean & well appointed. We had a great time here, we'll be back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2016
Thank you so much for your great review.
I look forward to welcoming you back anytime.
Gill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IainEngli...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Our home from home in Edinburgh”
Reviewed June 16, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Yet another visit to this gem of an apartment.
The friendliest owners, the perfect location.
We return time and again and will continue to so.
Many thanks for letting us stay.

Jane & Iain

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: People watching from those huge windows with a glass of wine.
Liked least: Leaving.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 17, 2016
Thank you so much for your loyalty and many return visits, it is a pleasure to have you stay.
Gill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing