We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal base to explore Edinburgh”
other travelers have booked this property
Lothian House is a landmark Art-Deco Listed Building, right in the city centre, on Lothian Road.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lothian House is a landmark Art-Deco Listed Building, right in the city centre, on Lothian Road.
The newly renovated lovely master bedroom has a very comfortable king size bed and quality bedding There is plenty of storage space for all your holiday clothes & a handy inbuilt dressing table.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Lothian House is a landmark Art-Deco Listed Building, right in the city centre, on Lothian Road.
The newly renovated lovely master bedroom has a very comfortable king size bed and quality bedding
There is plenty of storage space for all your holiday clothes & a handy inbuilt dressing table.
Attention to details & presentation ensures the apartment is welcoming upon your arrival.
Beautiful high quality bedding enhances the appeal of the comfortable king size bed!
A detail photo of the lovely master bedroom's gorgeous chandelier. It's great to wake up t
Complimentary generous arrival continental breakfast pack helps get your stay off to a great start!
The small bathroom has full size bath to relax in & luxurious fluffy towels are provided.
Looking from front door, down the hallway, into master bedroom. Features original artwork.
From kitchen door, master bedroom on the left, looking into the sitting room on the right.
Floor Plan showing unique Art-Deco room designs for Apartment 39 Lothian House, Edinburgh
A partial view from the sitting room window showing some of the Lothian Road local area.
Night View: 'Taken by a very satisfied client who had a wonderful stay', thanks Dennis Dal
The front foyer of Lothian House, showing some of its Art-Deco features & the lift/elevator.
An Edinburgh Tour Bus passing Lothian House on Lothian Road (it's a very central location!)
We've earnt Four Star Self-Catering awards for 20 consecutive years, a sign of high quality!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Claremorr...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal base to explore Edinburgh”
Reviewed July 30, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Jenny provided us with great guidance. Flat was very clean and view fromantic sit ting room of castle is awesome. Location is walking distance to center of city. Lovely bars and restaurants 2 min's from front door. We will be back as three nights in Edinburgh was not enough!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 7, 2016
Thank you for providing this great review and I'm really glad to hear you will be returning to stay with us again. You are absolutely right about 3 nights not being long enough in Edinburgh - but it does help show what this wonderful city has to offer and how useful it is to stay right in the heart of things!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire W
Long Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Absolutely wonderful!”
Reviewed July 5, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My spouse and I were traveling for three weeks through Europe and the apartment 39 Lothian House was by far the best place we stayed. The apartment was clean, well maintained, spacious, and comfortable. We enjoyed sipping tea in the sitting room and that has views of the city and Edinburgh Castle. The pictures of the apartment are accurate and it smelled clean and fresh. We really enjoyed the welcome breakfast basket. Jenny was very accommodating and responsive leading up to our stay and throughout our stay. The hair dryer broke one morning and she replaced it within hours. I suggest bringing washcloth (or loofah), as they were not provided, but that's pretty standard for the majority of the places we stayed. We did laundry in the complex, and it was very easy. The apartment had a book with very clear instructions for anything we had questions about,and again, Jenny was very responsive if we had questions. Check in and check out were extremely easy. We would absolutely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness and the views
Liked least: lack of washcloths and hand soap in bathroom.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2016
I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed staying in our property and thank you very much for this fabulous review. I wish you had asked me about the washcloths during your visit though, as we do provide them and there were a couple inside the cupboard. I'll make sure they are easily seen in future, so thanks very much for bringing this to my attention. It would be our pleasure to accommodate you again in the future, should you decide to revisit our wonderful city.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZJ_Walker
Anguillara Sabazia, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in the heart of Edinburgh”
Reviewed January 3, 2016 for a stay in November 2015

This was my second time to stay in this apartment. Jenny was very helpful and accommodating. The apartment has unusual shaped rooms but it is comfortable for two people staying there. There is a great view of the castle and as it is on the main road, it does get a little loud at night on the weekend but I got used to it. Will definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 4, 2016
Thank you for taking time to provide this review. I'm very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sergethes...
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Ooooo ahhhh (that's the fireworks)”
Reviewed August 23, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We can only echo everyone else really – immaculate flat with a great view of the castle and fireworks every night (if you go during the festival!) We stayed in more than we thought we would because it was nice just being there. It’s small but the high ceilings make it feel much bigger and I now like wedgy shaped rooms. It’s very well located for the International Exhibition Centre, Usher Hall and the Traverse Theatre. It’s also a reasonable stroll to almost everywhere else too. Bed was good. Towels were generous. Welcome pack was too. Jenny was very helpful and did us several favours with getting in a bit early and getting out a bit late. This was really appreciated and made our last day much more relaxing that previous years and previous flats. We were really pleased we picked this one this festival.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view of the castle. Even at home you're on holiday.
Liked least: It IS on a major road favoured by emergency services, but that's hardly Jenny's fault. We still slept well.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2015
Thanks for this brilliant review, it's much appreciated. I'm glad you like the room shapes too, they are unique and offer something a little different and unusual. Actually, Lothian House is a really interesting Art Deco building, with 88 apartments of different shapes and sizes.

It was good to hear you enjoyed your stay .. and the spectacular nightly fireworks! I hope to see you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire W
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“WOW......................”
Reviewed August 12, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This accommodation is stunning. Jenny was very welcoming, we arrived early and the apartment wasn't ready for us, but we were aware beforehand and Jenny kindly allowed us to leave our luggage so we could explore Edinburgh at our leisure.
The apartment was spotless, and the views of Edinburgh Castle cannot be appreciated from the photos.
We were staying for a family wedding and it was the perfect location for getting around the City.
We would definitely recommend and stay here again. The welcome pack was a lovely gesture.
Congratulations Jenny, your apartment is a credit to you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The size of the apartment and the views.
Liked least: Slightly noisy as on a main road, but not too much of a problem.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2015
It is good to know you had such a great time and enjoyed the apartment-thanks for giving it a 'wow' review! We hope to see you on a return visit sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen D
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Brilliant location - excellent value!”
Reviewed July 21, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Everything about the apartment was perfect! The practical aspects of our stay were handled with friendly efficiency, and the apartment was extremely well-situated for the Old Town (5 mins walk from Grassmarket - amazing view of the Castle from the living room window). Clean and comfortable, with good facilities. The photos don't do it justice!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 24, 2015
Thank you for your great review! We are glad you were pleased that the apartment was better in reality than in our pictures!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodav461
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very happy - Thanks”
Reviewed April 24, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Brilliant location for all Edinburgh highlights.
No need for public transport once there.
Very accessible from airport by tram.
Apartment appears to be newly fitted out and was spotless.
Close to all needed shops and restaurants.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Proximity to city.
Liked least: Nothing to dislike.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 30, 2015
Thanks for taking the time to provide this great review. It is good to know the central location is an important factor for guests. Staying right in the city centre makes sightseeing so much easier!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing