We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Five Star”
other travelers have booked this property
Lothian House is a landmark Art-Deco Listed Building, right in the city centre, on Lothian Road.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lothian House is a landmark Art-Deco Listed Building, right in the city centre, on Lothian Road.
The newly renovated lovely master bedroom has a very comfortable king size bed and quality bedding There is plenty of storage space for all your holiday clothes & a handy inbuilt dressing table.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Lothian House is a landmark Art-Deco Listed Building, right in the city centre, on Lothian Road.
The newly renovated lovely master bedroom has a very comfortable king size bed and quality bedding
There is plenty of storage space for all your holiday clothes & a handy inbuilt dressing table.
Attention to details & presentation ensures the apartment is welcoming upon your arrival.
Beautiful high quality bedding enhances the appeal of the comfortable king size bed!
A detail photo of the lovely master bedroom's gorgeous chandelier. It's great to wake up t
Complimentary generous arrival continental breakfast pack helps get your stay off to a great start!
The small bathroom has full size bath to relax in & luxurious fluffy towels are provided.
Looking from front door, down the hallway, into master bedroom. Features original artwork.
From kitchen door, master bedroom on the left, looking into the sitting room on the right.
Floor Plan showing unique Art-Deco room designs for Apartment 39 Lothian House, Edinburgh
A partial view from the sitting room window showing some of the Lothian Road local area.
Night View: 'Taken by a very satisfied client who had a wonderful stay', thanks Dennis Dal
The front foyer of Lothian House, showing some of its Art-Deco features & the lift/elevator.
An Edinburgh Tour Bus passing Lothian House on Lothian Road (it's a very central location!)
We've earnt Four Star Self-Catering awards for 20 consecutive years, a sign of high quality!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Swedish first
Any
English first
bronte000
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Five Star”
Reviewed October 5, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

I cannot think of one thing that was wrong with this apartment. The location was great, just a small walk to Princes Street, and walkable to the Royal Mile. Buses stopped just across the road (including the sightseeing buses and the other buses). There were many places to eat , and there was a movie theatre underneath.

The apartment itself was not just clean, it shone. Everything you can imagine that you would have in your drawers and cupboard at home was there. The welcome basket held enough food to provide me with breakfast for my entire stay of one week. The bed is just about the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The appliances (jug, kettle etc.) were of high quality as well. Overall it was absolutely fantastic. Thank you Jenny.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
10Lukasz8...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“A perfect first visit to Scotland”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Our stay at Lothian was a mixture of business and leisure with both of us visiting Scotland for the first time and it left us wanting to come back. Thank you to both Jenny and Dawn for making it possible. The pre-arrival arrangements with Jenny covered all aspects of our stay catering to our specific needs. We were welcomed by lovely Dawn in an absolutely spotless apartment with all the amenities and instrucitons we needed. The place is fantastically located with an open plan apartment opening to a stunning view of Edinburgh streets and the Castle dead in front. It is perfectly located with a walking distance from the castle, the centre and the markets. We found plenty of guides in the rooms too so were well prepared to explore the city.
We will definitely look for availability with Jenny next time we decide to bring friends along. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish K
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfort and quality.”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This flat is comfortable, spotless and convenient. All the fittings are of quality and everything you need has been supplied. In fact Jenny indicated that she was planning to have new carpet installed though we could see nothing wrong with the current carpet. There is a lovely bedroom with a most comfortable bed. Living area is small but quite perfect for two people. Although we did not cook, the kitchen had all that is needed to put a meal together. There is a small supermarket just around the corner. The bathroom was spotlessly clean, though the toilet plumbing was a little slow. We were a bit disconcerted when the building's elevator stopped working on three occasions during our two weeks in the flat. This would only be a problem when heavy luggage needed to be moved. We appreciated the goodies which Jenny so kindly supplied. Thank you, Jenny.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the windows.
Liked least: The toilet plumbing.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eaglesham, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 4, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely apartment in perfect location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 25, 2014
We are glad to hear you liked what we have done with the recent improvements and our new décor! Thanks very much for taking the time to provide this great review. We look forward to accommodating you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
lizbiz
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Return to wonderful Apartment 39”
Reviewed November 20, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

After an extended stay in June with my daughter, I returned for another six nights this month. Upon arrival, I was met by Jenny who explained that there was a problem with the heating. She offered to put me up at her other property, 21 Cordiner's Land, but as conditions were acceptable, I opted to stay at Apartment 39. The issue was subsequently rectified.
As in June, I found the property to be spotlessly clean and well-equipped. I would not hesitate to recommend Apartment 39 to anyone looking for a conveniently located, self-catering flat in beautiful Edinburgh.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 21, 2013
Thanks for this great review. I'm glad the problem with the central heating didn't affect your enjoyment of your return visit to Lothian House. (Thankfully, we were able to get it fixed quickly on the Monday morning and it just took a few minutes, as it was only a blocked air-vent!). We hope to see you again, in the not too distant future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amani B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, charming, great location, great attention to details, fantastic service”
Reviewed October 11, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

This apartment is bright, charming and super clean. Terrific location, can walk to major sights. We lost power in half the apartment, called Dawn. Jenny was knocking on our door in 30 minutes. The attention to details is amazing. From the welcome basket to the chocolates in the bedroom, amazing. This was home away from for 6 days. Recommend it highly. Thank you Dawn and Jenny

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 31, 2013
Before I respond properly to your comments, please allow me to say I'm sorry it has taken me a while to reply to this great review of Apartment 39 Lothian House. Your comments are very helpful and welcome. We never get tired of looking at the amazing views and are glad you enjoyed them, and the central location too. Dawn and I were delighted to hear that you appreciated our prompt attention when the power went out! We always try to attend to maintenance issues as quickly as possible and I think on that occasion everything just fell into place very well. We know it can be so frustrating waiting for things to get done, when you just want to get on with enjoying your holiday, so thanks for mentioning that. We hope to see you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temse, Belgium
Reviewed October 5, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 31, 2013
Firstly, please accept my apologies for the delay in responding to your very nice review of Apartment 39 Lothian House. We are grateful for your comments as these are about the main issues guests have when travelling - particularly the cleanliness of a property and the service they receive, so thanks for that. It is also good to know you appreciated our welcome package, we like to include a good supply of the basics for guests' first breakfast, and the little treats seem to be enjoyed by guests too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing