We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good location, friendly staff, dated decor, large rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bellevue Guest House
Ranked #272 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I visited recently, 2 people, few nights, September 2013

I will start from positives: location is great, 5 min by buss to the town centre, bus stop at the front door, frequent bus service number of different busses, large room, flat TV, comfortable bed, tea/ coffee facilities, room cleaned every day, clean quite modern bathroom although quite small, friendly staff and free wi-fi
Breakfast is Continental (so no hot food like fried English) but it is good, well presented, not large selection though, no tomato or ham available to put on a toast, just cheese, butter or jam. Cold platter with more selection would have been nice but everything fresh and presented very well, selection of fruit and cereal and yogurt was nice, bit slow service though

Negatives: very loud bathroom fun attached to the light in the bathroom- it was going on for 20 minutes after you turned off the light, you had to use the bathroom without turning on the light if you did not want to have a headache or not to wake up everybody, shower attached to the ceiling, impossible to take shower without making your hair wet- no flexibility at all for different type of customers, bit dated décor but you don’t pay for 5 star.

Windows in the room and in the corridors were not sealed properly (no double glassing) and therefore the wind was howling in the windows and made them rattle during the night and all the heat was gone, you could feel the cold draft from the window all the time making the room very cold and also some doors were rattling/ banging all night due to the wind in corridors, so no good night sleep (I guess apart from when it is good weather outside which in Scotland is probably 1-2 months in the year). Heating was turned off during the night 24:00 to 6am turned on only from 19:00 to 24:00 and 6:00am to 9:00am which for me is not good as it is the coldest at night.

It is not possible to pay by card so you need to have cash with you and if you don’t or not enough then it is not very pleasant conversation after that and they make you feel quite uncomfortable like you are trying to cheat them of the money. I used booking.com website and although they take debit/ credit card details from you they do not take the money so you think that you paid but you actually didn’t and you face the unpleasant surprise when you have to pay for your stay at the door and you were not prepared for it.

Rooms are quite large but décor is very dated.

Although the staff is in general very nice and pleasant and very helpful but they argue every day and that make you very uncomfortable- you can hear them from the kitchen during breakfast and during the day,

Car park only for 1 maybe 2 cars at a push so bit of a problem if you come by car.

I guess you have what you paid for but I have been in low budget guest houses and although they might have been dated and the standard was the same at least I had a good night sleep- the bathroom fun and the unsealed windows and doors make it impossible to have good night sleep so I am sorry but I would not come back there.

Room Tip: if you want to have good night sleep dont stay there- the bathroom fun and the unsealed windows and...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edyta F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
There are newer reviews for Bellevue Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 49 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

Nice guest house, on a bus route to the Royal Mile (just about within walking distance). Service was excellent, although I couldn't confirm our booking by phone as nobody seemed to be able to pick up the phone! Otherwise a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Bellevue for 4 nights while on holidays with my dad. It's a small B&B that's only a 15min walk to the main part of Edinburgh so the location is fantastic! A lovely breakfast is included in the rates and served every morning by the lovely Sam. He's made our stay wonderful as he is always there if you need advice and happy to offer recommendations on places to go and how to get there ;) having a bus stop right at the front door has made travelling as easy as can be, we would definitely stay here again, there's a homely feel about the place and we've really enjoyed out stay.
Thanks Sam!!!
Kellie & Frank ;)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Arrived and were greeted by the landlady who asked for cash payment right away. Then she took us to our room. Good bathroom, clean, good shower, Not much more to say. Old mismatching furniture, like an old auntie house. Very dark. The bed was comfortable though.
Continental breakfast in the morning, which I wouldn't mind if there was something fresh there! Everything on the buffet was just out of a supermarket shopping bag, no fresh croissants or pastries, Muller corner as yogurt option (which I don't mind but you get the point!), no fresh fruit. Some cereals with tiny bowls to eat them (my partner pointed out that this implies you eat less of it)....It lacks personality and warmth. It's just a budget accommodation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarabach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We have been a weekend during Easter for 2 nights and paid £100.
We arrived and we were able to leave our luggages at 8.30 in the morning. We came back at 14:00 and found out that they had already put our luggages in the room on the ground floor. The room was big, it was a triple room! (we booked a double room, so it was great). Ceilings are high and the interiors look luxurious. Bathroom is small, but will do the job. The room was bright and big flat screen TV. Coffee and tea facilities (with shortbread biscuits) are in the room.
The breakfast was nice, even though it was a bit cold in the breakfast room. I ate toasted bread, 2 types of cheddar, Babybels, 2 types of ham, butter, muffin, Activia yogurt, Muller yogurt with fruit jam, clementini all topped with tea/coffee and a jug of orange juice (for the two of us).
The men mananing is very friendly (speaks very good french) and offered us Ferrero Roche when leaving. We were also able to leave the luggages and come back at 20:15.

Top tips: 1. Book early via Booking.com
2. Room no 1 is the best room

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheTraveller8989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed at the Belle Vue Guest House in February for a long weekend, Ideal base for visiting Edinburgh. Don't be put off by the neglected exterior and entrance hall, We stayed in room no 6 it was a lovely clean room and spotless on suite. We only paid £130.00 for 3 nights for two of us. Breakfast is a continental breakfast with plenty choice. Tea and Coffee in rooms. Bus stop just outside into Edinburgh buy a £3.50 all day ticket and have right money buses do not give you any change. Plenty of bars and pubs just up the road.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulcarol40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We were in Edinburgh in September,2011. We decided to stay in Bellevue Guest House, you get really nice place to sleep for great price. Owners are really nice and helpful, they gave us free wi-fi password and help with anything we asked. We had nice breakfast , I think our room was number 2,on ground floor, it's quite small place and bathroom, but everything was clean,and well kept. It's approx.15-20 minutes walk to Royal Mile.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tamy91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
The Salisbury Hotel
The Salisbury Hotel
#89 of 150 in Edinburgh
838 reviews
0.3 mi away
Masson House
Masson House
#116 of 150 in Edinburgh
442 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edinburgh Holiday Guest House
Edinburgh Holiday Guest House
#125 of 393 in Edinburgh
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Thrums Edinburgh
The Thrums Edinburgh
#284 of 393 in Edinburgh
194 reviews
0.0 mi away
Strathallan Guest House
Strathallan Guest House
#70 of 393 in Edinburgh
215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blossom House
Blossom House
#263 of 393 in Edinburgh
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellevue Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue Guest House

Address: 40 Minto Street, Edinburgh EH9 2BR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #272 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $78 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bellevue Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bellevue Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellevue Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing