We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite takeaway”
Review of Curry Cafe

Curry Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Curry Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,311 of 2,505 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $1 - $19
Cuisines: Indian, Pizza
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Our favourite takeaway”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

This place is very good. We have never been let down and the curries are delicious. We are always trying out new takeaways but always come back to curry cafe and its the best.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Twinmummy94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    9
    2
    1
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I tried this cafe last week when me and my were in Edinburgh. We being Indians never venture out eating Indian food abroad as they are never quite the best taste. So when we entered this place we didn't expect anythings good. But to our surprise the food turned out to be nice, nice nan breads and curries. I have had dined even in Michelin star indian restaurants but I must say this was the best curry in UK so far. Highly recommended and great value for money. Indian food normally gives us an upset tummy the next day so I was prepared for it too. But yet again everything was normal the next day too. So if you are in Edinburgh and planning to eat out, don't mis this place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Sibinsanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalkeith
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Simply good curry”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is another of those small cafes in Edinburgh's Leith Walk that specialises in simple, good food, and friendly service. It is distinctly Indian (e.g. not Bangladeshi or Pakistani), and very welcoming. It is what it claims to be - a cafe that serves curry, and the dishes are imaginative and distinctive. We chanced in during Diwali, and at one point the cafe filled with friendly, cheerful and colourfully dressed local Hindus intent on having a good time. The owner wondered if we had been disturbed by this - but not in the least! It all added to the festive atmosphere. This little venture deserves every success, and we shall certainly be back. BYOB.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CeithFaclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ras Malai to die for”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I can't believe there is no review for this place yet. If you look on just-eat.co.uk, you'll find many good reviews, hence why I first ordered from this restaurant/takeaway. I have never been to the restaurant itself so can't comment on atmosphere, etc. but the food is good, it came before the estimated time and the delivery man was very friendly. The main standout to me is their Ras Malai dessert which I am now addicted to! I highly recommend trying it, although beware, you might get addicted too. We also tried the butter prawn, vegetable biryani, chicken vindaloo, peshwari naan and mixed pakora. We received a complimentary poppadom. The mixed pakora was nice, however I would've preferred a yoghurt sauce with it rather than the chilli sauce. The other dishes were fine, nothing special but nothing to complain about either.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nohighlandsplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curry Cafe also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Curry Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing