We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pret-tay, Pret-tay, Pret-tay Good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galvin Brasserie de Luxe

Galvin Brasserie de Luxe
Ranked #188 of 2,437 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: French, European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: West End
Description: Inspired by traditional French urban design, the Galvin Brasserie De Luxe boasts an inviting, all-day dining option in Edinburgh city center. With stunning polished surfaces, rich, deep woods and stylish ceramic tiles, this French bistro presents simple efficiency with luxurious touches. Savor exceptional French dishes and aromatic delights. Unwind with a relaxing evening drink or meet colleagues to discuss business in the calm, tranquil ambiance. Galvin Brasserie De Luxe offers dual entry from Rutland Street or the iconic Peacock Alley.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pret-tay, Pret-tay, Pret-tay Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

I'd heard and read a lot of good things about this place and wasn't disappointed. Entered through the Hotel's main door and was immediately impressed by the classy surroundings. Into the restaurant itself and it also looks stunning. Service was prompt, polite, friendly and helpful. Had the razor clams as a starter. I'd had it before, but nothing as good as this version. Main course was the dish of the day, Bouillabaise (fish stew). Massive and delicious portion. Finished off with a rich, chocolate desert. Had one of their specialist draught beers to start with, followed by a reasonably priced Chardonnay.

This is my new, favourite, Edinburgh restaurant; In the words of the evil Skeletor, "I'll be back".

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    188
    80
    31
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A must for everyone!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Went to the Brasserie for the 3rd time this year and had another amazing meal. The food really is first class as is the service and the surroundings. The restaurant was really busy for a lunchtime service so obviously many others share my views.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Y A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Competent food, awkward service, no ambiance”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Bottom line: food fine but overall dining experience a disappointment. We'll spend our money elsewhere. Despite booking several weeks in advance for a Friday dinner, we were asked to sit at a table in one the anterooms to the main dining room, in a high-traffic area. As a nearby booth was open, we moved, but sitting in a corner next to a coat rack in an anteroom killed any ambiance. The food menu offered a pleasant range of options and we enjoyed starters of escargots, charcuterie and smoked salmon (though at 8:15 PM we were surprised to learn the salmon ravioli were already finished for the evening). Mains of sole, guinea fowl and entrecote were competently prepared. We were disappointed to learn the chef patron does not offer frites in any of the Galvin restaurants. The wine list does not offer a wide choice and some bottles seemed excessively marked up. The food and wine service was awkward: e.g. wine slow to arrive; server seemed inexperienced and had difficulty placing glasses and pouring; one main arrived before the others. The cheese course was a letdown: the server wheeled over a large cart only to present four uninspiring cheeses. A deliciously tart passion fruit souffle was the clear winner for dessert.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NMCastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relax, enjoy and savour the service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We have eaten lunch and dinner here on several occasions. The staff are very knowledgeable (which helps a lot with the more unfamiliar French terms!) and will remember your preferences every time. There will be something on the menu to match your mood, from the rich Tartare of Scottish Beef to the lighter, but equally generous Smoked Salmon, Blini and Crème Fraiche, to look just at the starters. Someone very helpful will be on hand to interpret the wine list and all in all you will end up feeling far removed from any grey Edinburgh day outside. Fred and his standout team will make every visit a relaxing, enjoyable one.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Good-hotel-lovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

As might be expected on a cold, February evening the restaurant was quiet and therefore somewhat lacking in atmosphere but the food more than made up for this. The prices reflected the high standard of cuisine so this was not a cheap meal but the staff were attentive and friendly and the surroundings understated and comfortable. With so many places to eat in the city I'm not sure I would go again but it was well worth a visit.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Felintraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galvin Brasserie de Luxe also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Galvin Brasserie de Luxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing