We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like being with great friends”

Three Birds Restaurant
Ranked #145 of 2,550 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed January 21, 2017

As always this restaurant gives tremendous value for money. It has great atmosphere, superb, friendly staff and very innovative dishes. Working out just what the funny named ingredients really are is great fun. Warm duck sales with a perfect sauce teffiric, my port stronganoff with herby crime fraiche, turmeric rice was just delightful. So full no place for dessert. Washed down with lovely crave of Chenin blanc Columbus then coffee. Such a pleasure to eat here and the staff service is just wonderful.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank blondie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Write a reviewReviews (887)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

241 - 245 of 887 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2017

I absolutely love a restaurant where the food is exceptional, the atmosphere is warm, friendly and inviting, service is attentive and, the wine list has uncommon options - The Three Birds had all these wonderful characteristics and more! The variety of food was exceptional with additional daily specials giving a wide range of glorious fresh options for every palette, taste and dietary requirements. The restaurant atmosphere was lovely being very busy with a bustling, delightful atmosphere. Being so impressed I have already recommended this wonderful place to three friends! Booking for dinner I feel would be essential so not to be disappointed in acquiring a table. All the staff, especially the owner were very knowledgeable about the menu and wine and have directed us towards their other two restaurants, which I am about to google! Can't wait for my next visit to Edinburgh so that I can go back to the Three Birds - I would Immensely recommend a visit!

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed January 17, 2017

This is a little neighbourhood restaurant, frequented by locals.
The two courses for £10 lunch is an amazing value for money.
We tried pork belly and beef for mains. They were both delicious and came in generous portions. We also found the deserts absolutely fantastic and quite unusual.
Service was friendly and quick.
Two details that could be improved are the chair cushions, as some of them looked too worn and the table surface that felt a bit too sticky.

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Chalisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed January 2, 2017 via mobile

Great food with attentive and friendly staff. Reasonably priced, great value for money and only a 20 minute walk to Princes Street.

Date of visit: January 2017
1  Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed January 1, 2017

i have used this restaurant and enjoyed the informal enthusiasm of the owners for the quality of the dining experience provided. The menu is not extensive (appropriate for a small restaurant concerned about quality) and is impeccably served. The staff/owners take time to explain each dish and each dish comes exactly as described. We intend to return to this restaurant again to repeat our always agreeable experience of dining here.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank JohnGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travelers who viewed Three Birds Restaurant also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Three Birds Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.