We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent accomodation”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Grassmarket 521

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Pat S
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent accomodation”
Reviewed February 4, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

This turned out to be a great choice of accommodation for us.
Before our arrival we had some great correspondence with the owner,(Lynn) with regards to trains and arrival times etc. We had never been to Edinburgh before and were visiting to take part in the Hogmanay activities.
The accomodation was clean and warm with a little christmas tree in the living area . Lynn met us on arrival and gave us some tips for our stay and places to visit (there is a drawer with lots of leaflets on things to do)..
The apartment was very quiet and the heating was easy to alter when needed and so we had very comfortable nights sleep which is amazing for any busy city.
The location was great - easy to get to the Royal Mile and Princes Street and there was a little Sainsburys for the fresh milk etc very close by.
Grassmarket, was a lovely square of restaurants and bars and only a few yards from the accommodation.
Should we ever get the opportunity to stay again we would hope to stay in the same place -we had a fabulous time !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 2, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mary Ann...
Silverton, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Grassmarket location!”
Reviewed September 13, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This is exactly where you would want to stay to be walking all over the Royal Mile, Grassmarket area and the Castle. Great location and very comfy. We used the bedroom while our friend had the pull out couch, all very comfortable! Once our car was parked we never moved in until we left the city and then came right back to the same lot that was very reasonable in cost. Lynne was a wonderful host having all ready for us and answered all our questions during the stay. Would return in a heart-beat!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, location, location
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William R
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy little apartment”
Reviewed July 20, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful stay here. Owner was extremely friendly and accessible and the apartment was comfortable and well furnished with really everything you could need for a weeks stay.
Location was ideal and if were to ever return to Edinburgh we would certainly stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NormanLew...
Great Torrington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
375 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Excellent location, great little bolt-hole”
Reviewed March 20, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This apartment is very well situated, being just off the main part of the Grassmarket where many bars and restaurants are situated, so easy access without any night-time noise issues. The exterior is a bit unprepossessing, with slightly grubby stairwells and landings but once inside the apartment it is very comfortable, warm and well-equipped with everything a couple could want for a short-break. Bed had good linen and was very comfortable, bathroom well maintained and good shower. But you have to come back to the location - just right for popping back to after shopping or a museum visit before going out for a drink or a meal because everywhere is walking distance. Although the city is on many levels and we are a couple in our late fifties we found we could make the Royal Mile in less than 10 minutes, Princes Street in 10 and George Street in 15. The unusually peaceful haven of Dean Village - a remarkable riverside place to stroll through en route to the National Gallery ( the modern art bit ) was also easy to walk to, so check-in to this apartment and forget all about the car for a few days. The owner has left lots of useful information and was very helpful. The only thing we could think of, that the apartment didn't have, was a dishwasher - but to be fair, Edinburgh has 1700 places to eat, so why would you be eating in when you are on holiday ?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Grubby public areas
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Backdrift...
London
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Probably our favourite Edinburgh apartment”
Reviewed January 13, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We have stayed in this complex many times before in other apartments but thought 521 might now be our preferred option here. It's perfect for two people, small but comfortable and with the space well-used. We stayed during cold windy snowy weather but the apartment is snug, warm and cosy. The owner's communication was clear, helpful and responsive, pre- and post-booking.

The location, just along from the Grassmarket, is excellent. It's at the foot of the castle hill, perfectly positioned to access both the charismatic Old Town and, via a pleasant walk through Princes Gardens, the more stately New Town. Also worth visiting and within easy walking distance are Tollcross and Bruntsfield.

We will definitely stay at 521 again in future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NancyDuff...
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The perfect location”
Reviewed September 27, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

I was delighted with the location of this apartment. Coming out of the apartment, turned left and came into Grassmarket. Turn right and onto CastleTerrace and over to Princes St or just go a few feet and there is a good grocery store on the corner. But the secret is to go straight ahead and enter a delightful coffee shop run by Gino.
I loved the apartment. It was perfectly equipped with a full kitchen including utensils and even a washer/dryer.
The windows made the place bright and cheery. The sofa folded out into a bed. I had a university friend stay for part of my visit and she found the bed was comfortable. Certainly the bed in the bedroom was comfortable.
The bathroom is good. The shower was fine.
I want to return in the near future. I hope I can stay at 521 Grassmarket.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The stairs
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing