We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely home cooked food”
Review of The Advocate

The Advocate
Ranked #606 of 3,022 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped off a quick bite on way home lovely simple food and good portions double vodka for £6 with mixer all good

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Lainey0401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Advocate, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Lainey0401, we're glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to your next one ! Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (734)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 734 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went to this pub to have a drink and a meal. Arrived at around 4.30pm, and there was nobody in the pub even though all the surrounding pubs were full. We were met at the door to be told that because we had an under 18 with us, we had to all order at least a main meal each straight away. We planned to order a main meal each, but wanted to sit and relax with a drink first. Apparently we couldn’t do that, so we left.
We were in Edinburgh for 3 nights, and no other pub turned us away or had a problem with us having a drink prior to eating.....and all those pubs were very busy, which I guess says something anyway.
Don’t waste your time going here.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Service
Thank Tamara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Advocate, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Tamara W, we're disappointed to hear of the negative experience you had at our location.

I believe there must have been a miscommunication as, while we do not require everybody in the party to have a meal, the purpose of the visit must be to feed the children.

We ask that food gets ordered fairly quickly after arrival as we have been in situations where guests would inadvertently make us break the conditions of our licence by telling us they would be eating once they had a round of drinks but left without ordering any food. I hope this clears this matter for you and hope you'll decide to give us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2019

Pleasant lunch yesterday. The fresh haddock was huge and very tasty with a light batter. My partner enjoyed his lunch (haggis, heaps and tatties pie). The Belhaven extra cold was also a joy.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tar512016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Advocate, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hiya Tar512016

Thank you for leaving a lovely review - it was a pleasure to serve you and I hope you got home safe :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2019

Was very disappointed this place has gone down hill and fast.asked about house wine and it was only 50p cheaper than a sauvignon on list wish we had taken it though,the sauvignon we choose arrived warm was disgusting.food certainly not value for money .sharing starter looked as if it been platted up yesterday and main course macaroni certainly not home made.served by an annoying waitress who when asking if everything was ok would give the thumbs up. Sorry but won't be returning.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Duns135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Advocate, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Duns135.

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review but I must admit it has left us a little confused.

After thoroughly investigating your visit with both the team who served you and CCTV I can see that the 'annoying' waitress checked on you a couple of times (as she has been trained to do) and at no point did you raise any concerns about either the quality of the food or the wine - infact - you engage her in small talk toward the end of your visit and can be seen vigorously nodding when asked if everything is okay (thumbs up emoji)

I am sorry that you claim you did not enjoy your visit and wish you had raised any of your concerns at the time in which case we would happily have rectified any issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2019

The place was not crowded at all because it was late afternoon. I ordered a Hunters chicken. When it arrived the salad was limp and the chicken very dry. When asked if everything was ok, just after starting the meal, I explained the problem but all they said was 'Oh, ok.'

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mokryna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Advocate, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2019

We appreciate all reviews, and appreciate you giving us the chance to improve by providing us with this feedback. I am really sorry the meal wasn't satisfactory and believe you should have been offered a replacement by the team member who checked back on you.

Could you please get in touch with us by email or by phone (01312262749) to let us know the date of your visit so that we can address it with our staff ?
If you do decide to get in touch, I would also really like to have the opportunity to turnaround your experience.

I am looking forward to hearing from you. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Advocate also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Advocate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing