We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent flat in a great location”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Comfortable king size bed (queen in the US)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Comfortable king size bed (queen in the US)
Spa bath to relax after a day's sightseeing
The Castle from the Grassmarket
The Castle from the central courtyard of the apartment building
The entrance to the apartment building on West Port
The fountain at the foot of Victoria Street
The quirky shops of Victoria Street
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
FeeKel
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent flat in a great location”
Reviewed August 28, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed with my husband and 11 year old daughter, for three nights. The flat was very comfortable (my husband has a bad back and the bed was perfect for him) and well equipped and the location was excellent.

The Coffee Mill was a great cafe to have breakfast with nice coffee. We had lovely views of the castle from the kitchen and bedroom, we watch the Tattoo fireworks from the bedroom and got some great pics.

The owner Lynne was lovely and very helpful. I'd defiantly repeat book.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TitchKH
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Central Location - Great Facilities”
Reviewed July 16, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

My partner and I stayed in this apartment for a 4 night city break and really enjoyed it. The location of the apartment is spot on, within walking distance of most attractions and sights in Edinburgh. The apartment is round the back of a block and although there was a little outside noise not enough to keep us awake at night.

The kitchen has everything you might want if you wanted to eat in one night and has a lovely view of the castle. The living space is perfect for two; might have been a little cramped if any more were to visit. Can't fault facilities within the apartment, the owner even left a lot of leaflets and info about what to visit in Edinburgh. We visited in winter and were never cold inside the apartment.

Communication with owner before our stay was brilliant, she even let us come a little earlier in the day as had no one there the night before.

Highly recommended!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merelamer
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cozy and comfy city retreat”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We loved the apartment, the view and the amenities were spot on for our little family. Our 8yr old son was quite comfy on the living room rollout bed, and we found the master bedroom to be very comfortable as well.
Heating in the unit was just right, immaculate linens, bath facilities great, TV, kitchen, etc all just perfect!! Location: perfect! Cafes and late-night kebab just steps away, early morning market and coffee also right there.
Did I mention the view? We loved spotting the castle every time we walked in and out the door, seeing how the chandeliers lit up the great hall and trying to guess what all the little doors and steps along the castle wall were for.
The location is very central, and convenient to a ton of bars, pubs, clubs and cafes. Great for couples and singles, and still great for families, but maybe not so much for those with very little ones. Our son is pretty portable and raised around bartenders, but was still quite unhappy with some of the loud folks outside of the bars and the far too-occasional occurrences of vomit on the sidewalk. Mind you, this was right before New Years Eve, so other times are sure to be much more quiet.
All in al, we LOVED the apartment, and would definitely revisit and recommend to our friends. Thank you for a great stay in Edinburgh!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy, comfy, snug apartment
Liked least: 11PM-3AM Fri and Sat night techno music a few doors down
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed November 27, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That it was a gated community
Liked least: Could on a few occasions hear banging from the neighbours upstairs
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Malene N
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“Pleasant, well situated and well equipped apartment”
Reviewed November 17, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We found everything we needed in this neat, clean, and cosy apartment, including lots of informative and interesting books about Edinburgh.
Great location close to the old castle and next to Grassmarket with lots of nice cafes and restaurants.
Very helpful owner.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSL68
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful Homebase for Edinburgh”
Reviewed October 30, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

What a great apartment, in a terrific location. And the views of the castle from the kitchen and bedroom are gorgeous!

We spent 4 days and nights here and loved it. The apartment is very clean and very well-maintained, quiet, and quite comfortable. Roomy kitchen with a washer/dryer (and, again, great castle view), spacious living room with dinette table/chairs, and comfy bedroom.

A half-block walk to the Grassmarket and its wonderful pubs, a few minutes more to the Royal Mile or to Cowgate, and a Sainsbury's a half-block in the other direction - what more could one ask for? On days we felt more energetic, we walked to Holyrood Palace, Arthur's Seat, Prince's Street ... and each night it was a wonderfully welcoming and cozy home to come back to.

Lynne provided plenty of great communication and info leading up to our visit, and was super-fast helping us resolve a minor issue with he WiFi when we arrived.

We couldn't be happier with our lodging choice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hankfroms...
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cosy, comfortable and convenient”
Reviewed September 14, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We really enjoyed staying at 202 Grassmarket. It was literally 5 minutes away from Castle Hill (uphill there, downhill back!) in one direction, and the National Museum in the other. And only about 15 minutes' walk from the New Town (on the level, round the back of the Castle). Though the apartment might be a bit too cosy for three or more people, it was perfect for a couple. Plus it was clean, well maintained, and very well equipped. And Lynne, the owner, simply couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. If (when?) we return to Edinburgh, we won't bother looking for anywhere else to stay. And I don't think we're the only ones...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing