We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovin' the Larder!”
Review of Edinburgh Larder Bistro - CLOSED

Edinburgh Larder Bistro
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: West End
Description: "Fresh, bright, and delicious" The Edinburgh Larder Bistro on Alva Street at the west end corner of Prince’s Street, with its light interior and conservatory, is the ideal place to enjoy seasonal, Scottish food! The Edinburgh Larder team works closely with local farmers, fishmongers, fruit, vegetable and drinks suppliers to bring you the best of local Scottish produce. With a regularly changing seasonal menu and daily market specials, you will experience the delicious flavours of the Scottish countryside.The buzzy atmosphere of The Edinburgh Larder Bistro is the perfect ambience to unwind as you clear your plate of daily specials and menu favourites, and quench your thirst - try one of the incredible botanical drinks produced in Scotland (Edinburgh Gin and Pincer Vodka are our favourites!); Scotch malt whiskies; or Scottish brewed beers. There's a range of carefully selected wines and fizz - we specialise in sourcing interesting bottles from small artisan vineyards, and we make our own cordials, and serve Edinburgh-based Artisan Roast coffees and Eteaket teas.
Chicagoland
1 review
“Lovin' the Larder!”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

My 10 day stay in Edinburgh included 2 visits to this lovely bistro! From the scones to the baked eggs and cream, every dish was prepared with finesse and attention to detail. They kindly prepared a treat bag of cheese and bread to help us make our day trip more pleasant. This hidden gem is just off the Royal Mile and deserves a visit. Enjoy!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mesquite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburghlarder, Owner at Edinburgh Larder Bistro, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hi there - we are thrilled that you enjoyed your visit to the Larder while visiting Edinburgh. Our team at the cafe just off the Royal Mile are a fab bunch of people... It is great that you were well looked after with a picnic treat, and that you had a lovely couple of trips to try our very special baked eggs recipe! Hope to see you again on your next trip.

Best wishes,
Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    114
    46
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“The best of the best”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We could see the Larder from our room at the Radisson Blu and thought we'd stop in one morning - and kept going back each morning after that! Richard, the concierge at the hotel, told us the food was delicious and fresh and he was spot on. The service is friendly, the atmosphere is comforting, and the food is fresh and delicious. They went out of their way to tend to our wants; they even did up a picnic for us to take on one of our day trips. The Larder should be a regular stop for every trip to Edinburgh!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leezie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburghlarder, Owner at Edinburgh Larder Bistro, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thanks so much for your very kind review of our cafe! We are so happy that you became a regular customer while staying at the Radisson and popped in for a picnic to take on your travels. We make all our food on the premises as we want people to enjoy home cooking with great scottish produce! Hopefully we shall see you again on your next trip to Edinburgh.

Best wishes,
Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy venue”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We had our office christmas lunch here and from the moment we were seated we received fantastic service from the staff who were very welcoming and attentive. The food was delicious- fresh and full of flavour and nicely presented. There was excellent choice on the menu and the wine list was varied too. The basement location gives a warm cosy atmosphere - will definitely return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank copperycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburghlarder, Owner at Edinburgh Larder Bistro, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Hi there - thanks for your generous review. We are delighted that you had a such a lovely time at your Christmas event. It was our first Christmas and we were so thrilled that you chose the bistro to celebrate your office party - so a big thanks for coming to visit us!

We hope to see you again sometime soon, and just so you know we just released our new menu this week so you may wish to pop in sometime this month to try it!

Have a great weekend.

Best wishes,
Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fantastic food and service”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The bistro came highly recommended and lived up to our expectations. Both the food and the service were excellent and we were welcomed into this lovely establishment. The lower ground level restaurant led to a cosy atmosphere which complimented our romantic evening beautifully. Thank you for making our weekend extra special and we will be recommending yourselves to family and friends.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rodtosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburghlarder, Owner at Edinburgh Larder Bistro, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Hullo there - thanks for posting your very positive review about our bistro. We are so happy that you had such an enjoyable time at dinner, and felt that the ambience complimented your romantic evening! We really hope to see you back again sometime soon, and in the meantime, have a fantastic weekend.

Best wishes,
Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
2 reviews
“current favourite!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I've been a few times recently, twice for lunch which is a total bargain, then for dinner on my birthday with my family. The food is great, and very reasonable, and the service is good as well. The highlight for me has been the desserts, which are absolutely amazing, but it's all top notch in my opinion!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pauloedinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburghlarder, Owner at Edinburgh Larder Bistro, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
What a privilege to be named as your current favourite! Thanks for your fantastic review, it is very generous of you. We are delighted that you have found our food and service to be of a good standard, and yes, the desserts can be really special too! We certainly love taste testing them... alongside the rest of the menu... Something we never tire of, strangely!

Have a fantastic weekend, and we hope to see you back again soon.

Best wishes,
Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edinburgh Larder Bistro also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing