We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best meal in Edinburgh”

Michael Neave's Kitchen and Whisky Bar
Ranked #24 of 2,449 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Old Town
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best meal in Edinburgh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Had dinner here while on vacation with our teenage son. Centrally located in the Old City, the food was fabulous and the service was excellent. My fish was cooked perfectly and my husband really enjoyed the vegatable rissoto. I thought the portions were just the right amount, with just enough room left over to share dessert with my son. Definately the best meal we had in Edinburgh.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LisaF820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    624
    149
    34
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We really enjoyed dinner here- the food was very good new style Scottish food with locally sourced ingredients. It was imaginative and very good value. Portions were appropriately sized to enable partaking three courses and wine and the staff was very pleasant and knowledgable about the menu and the wine list. We discovered it on our second last night in town and wish we had found it sooner- there are so many silly restaurants in town that serve over-priced ordinary food that has little to do with Scotland. This was a really great holiday experience for us- eating food that gave us a real sense of the country and what can be done with local food. Please give them a try- it is well worth a visit or two.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank bretthartmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

One of the best restaurants in Edinburgh, the food tastes wonderful, the only slight criticism is that the portions are on the small side (however, that leaves room for one of the delicious puddings). The roe deer in particular was memorable. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cuthbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Scrumptious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Went here for dinner. Had the gnocchi as a starter (shared with mum) absolutely delicious. Wonderful rich creamy cheese sauce, the best gnocchi I've ever eaten.
Had the duck for my main, cooked beautifully with wonderful sides. Exactly the right amount of food, although I couldn't manage dessert as well - and they looked wonderful. Our waitress (Katie) was really friendly and helpful. Lovely setting and ambience in the restuarant and the bar upstairs not too crowded like many of the restaurants here and a brilliant drinks list - try the amaretto sour cocktail. Well priced meal for top quality food. Lovely to be allowed to take our time with dinner and drinks unlike some places where you have a limited seating time. Would definitely recommend whilst you're in edinburgh.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jess240790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringoes, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

I am visiting for the weekend and am glad I took a chance with Michael Neave's new restaurant. For about the same price as the tourist restaurants on High Street, we were treated to fine dining. We had the steak, duck and gnocchi main courses and the scallops and salmon mousse starters. All were excellent. Service was a bit relaxed, but I appreciated that. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michael Neave's Kitchen and Whisky Bar also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Michael Neave's Kitchen and Whisky Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing