We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“significantly improved!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cumberland Bar

Cumberland Bar
Ranked #704 of 2,437 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $17
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: New Town
Description: Situated in the historic New Town of Edinburgh the Cumberland is a must visit bar. With 8 Real ale taps and superb range of local and imported beers you are not restricted for choice. A great wine menu compliments the exciting food offering. Sunday roast of the day is very popular, with booking recommended. The bar boasts the only beer garden in the New Town and is a popular venue when the sun shines. But you can always sit in front of the open fire if the weather is a little to cold.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“significantly improved!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Living locally, with the great outdoor seating,being kid and dog friendly, we had had such high hopes for this pub 2 years ago but were turned off by the food. THANKFULLY, things have changed! It is now well worth a visit. The food is high end pub style, very good, excellent service. I highly recommend a visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank goingplaces1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chasgas, General Manager at Cumberland Bar, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Oh! the difficulty of satisfying everybody. The previous post obviously did not like the presence of dogs in the bar. We feel that properly controlled dogs should not cause any inconvenience to customers and this is an are we will manage. As new owners we have introduced a new menu which we feel is more in keeping with the bar. We have already received recognition for Sunday lunches in a broadsheet paper and aim to keep on improving. Thanks for your positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    45
    9
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Too many dogs”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

I used to like this bar as it normally has a good range of real ales but most recently - on a Friday night - it was quieter and the beer choice and quality was not so good. The most off-putting aspect however, was the number of dogs in the bar, one of which was barking. It seems to have become a doggy lovers meeting point. My friends and I were going to try the food but did not care for the atmosphere and left.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Avaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chasgas, General Manager at Cumberland Bar, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thanks for your review, I am disappointed to here you did not enjoy your visit to the Cumberland. Dogs have always had a presence in the Cumberland, however just like any other customer they need to be managed. We aim to manage the bar in a manner that is enjoyable to ALL customers and noisy disruptive customers will be asked to behave. I would dispute the comment with regards the choice of beer. We are about to launch a new brew beer festival featuring over 50 breweries and 200 beers. This will run from the 11 April until the 28 April.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

The Cumberland Bar has been one of our fail safe weekend lunch destinations for years. We can bring kids (love it) and the dog. Always welcome. We stopped by today for lunch after a walk around town. The menu has been a bit revamped which was good to see. Everything was suburb - delicious fresh burgers the size of a football and huge fresh portions of fish and chips. Excellent service and super friendly staff. It has always been my daughter's favourite place to go since the age of 5 (yes, a pub) and today didn't let us down.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MicheleA42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chasgas, General Manager at Cumberland Bar, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thanks for a great review. As new owners we aim to build on the reputation of the Cumberland as a great bar. The food is an area we aim to develop. We already have breakfasts available at the W/E and Sunday lunches are also on offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Have worked in the area for years but haven't been here for about 6 months. Has it changed hands? The menu has totally changed, and it was deserted. You used to struggle to get a seat at lunchtimes. We still waited half an hour for our sandwiches (which were two slices of practically dry bred with assorted veg/meat on top). Tasted ok but could have been better for the price of nearly £6. A real shame as I used to love the place and it was very popular with work colleagues. As I remember from a while ago, it was absolutely freezing inside as well. I sat with my coat on for the duration of lunch. Friendly staff though. Don't think I'll be back for another while.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Polly7022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Super pub!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We had a few drinks in here one night. Very clean, very nice atmosphere. Wide range of cask ales, the three I tried were all in tip top condition. Just before we left a party of 30 from a local office came in for their Xmas dinner, so I presume the food is pretty good too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldbrewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cumberland Bar also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Cumberland Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing