We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay :)”
Review of Piries Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Piries Hotel
Ranked #132 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay :)”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

My partner and I had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The room was impeccably clean and spacious; the staff were friendly and informative and the location was perfect for exploring the city.

The hotel was easy to find from the airport bus and the 24-hour reception was beneficial, as it allowed us to check out without and worries.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wojiaotudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaled101, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

I am delighted that your stay with us was enjoyable

Once again thank you for staying with us and looking forward to welcome you in near future

Regards

Khaled Ibrahim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    223
    167
    65
    81
See reviews for
103
287
32
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Booked this hotel through the BA website and got a fantastic deal. Though the rooms are small, they are clean and if you wanted any extras they were happy to oblige.

Located around the corner from Haymarket station, it is only a 20 minute walk from the Centre of Edinburgh, or there are numerous bus routes into town if you don't fancy a walk.

Would recommend at a great place to stop if you are on a city break, and will be spending most of you time out of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaled101, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments and feedback on your stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

I am delighted to learn that youir stay with us was enjoyable

Once again thank you for your feedback and looking forward to welcome you in near future

Regards

Khaled Ibrahim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

a good hotel ideally situated near the haymarket railway station and the sights of edinburgh.the room was small,but was clean and nicely decored.the staff were very polite and we enjoyed our stay.we stayed for the experience of edinburgh,the rooms were vrey good as a base.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fred k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaled101, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and feedback on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

I am delighted that Piries and its team have met your expectations

Once again thank you for your comments and customs

Looking forward to welcome you in near future to extend our hospitality further

Kind Regards

Khaled Ibrahim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Paid £71 upfront for one night, double room but single occupancy.
Room was absolutely tiny, only 2 hangers for clothes (no drawers), tv keep freezing because of poor signal, very dark with cheap plywood decor, had to keep my light on at all times because I overlooked a wall with a ventilation system outside it so there was barely any natural light at all.

Bathroom was adaquate, tea and coffee was provided. The hotel was quite clean and the staff were polite but when I pointed out that my room was nothing like what I had seen pictures of when I booked they merely suggested I pay for an upgrade!
If there is such discrepancy in the standard of the rooms, this should be made clear before booking and the price adjusted accordingly.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank caNireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaled101, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Deat Guest

Thank you for taking the time and feedback on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

I take all your highlighted points on board with immediate actions by our maintenance team

I hope these minor issues did not stop you enjoying Edinburgh

May I take this opportunity and assure you that Piries Hotel and its team strive to please all our guests and go the extra mile to ensure complete satisfaction


Kind Regards

Khaled Ibrahim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

This was for the second night of my friend and I's visit to Scotland, the Piries Hotel was perfect just a short walk from the Haymarket train station and very nicely decorated with excellent facilties, our twin room was quite small but had a nice shower and flat screen TV. The reception was very helpful when we asked for more tea and milk and though the wifi was £10 for 24 hours the price of the room was well worth it. Would definitely recommend it and we walked into the centre of Edinburgh quite easily.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and feedback on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us

Looking forward to welcome you once again to extend our hospitality further

Kind Regards

Khaled Ibrahim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stayed here for Valentine;s Weekend. Some of the paintwork was a bit tired but it is an old hotel, We were upgraded to an Executive Room because it was Valentine's weekend and the room was warm and cosy and very spacious. Roomy bathroom with a great power shower. Continental breakfast more than ample - make your own toast which is a good idea. The bar and lounge area very comfortable and the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Bed was a bit too soft for me but that's a personal choice. A little out of town but we found the walk to Princes Street about half an hour, and away from the noise of the town centre, which is a bonus.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunny1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and feedback on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

I am delighted to learn that your stay with us was enjoyable

Looking forward to welcome you once again in near future

Kind Regards

Khaled Ibrahim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

This hotel has a very good location - it is about 3 minutes from a bus stop to the airport, 10 minutes walk to the historical city. The stuff was very kind and helpful, able to provide breafast for 6 o´clock in the morning. The only two things we found bad was a very soft bed, for me it was sometimes like a sleeping on the top of a pudding :) The second things was windows, it was a little bit cold near the windows but after few days we got used to, and it was acceptable because our holiday was in half of January.
But any way the whole stay at this hotel was nice, so if you want to spend your holiday in a hotel with a good location, good service and you want a good price - be sure that this is the star for you :)) BTW therme underwear was a very good idea for walking round Edinburg in January.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malamoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us while visiting Edinburgh

Once again thank you and looking forward to welcome you in near future

Kind Regards

Khaled Ibrahim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#141 of 148 in Edinburgh
21 reviews
West End
The Original Raj Hotel
The Original Raj Hotel
#138 of 148 in Edinburgh
256 reviews
West End
Ritz Edinburgh
Ritz Edinburgh
#143 of 148 in Edinburgh
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#83 of 148 in Edinburgh
794 reviews
West End
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
#88 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,090 reviews
Corstorphine
The White Lady
The White Lady
#65 of 148 in Edinburgh
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piries Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piries Hotel

Property: Piries Hotel
Address: 4-8 Coates Gardens, Edinburgh EH12 5LB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Piries Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Piries Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piries Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing