We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, well located budget hotel”
Review of Piries Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Piries Hotel
Ranked #132 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Convenient, well located budget hotel”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We were travelling to Scotland and based ourselves in Edinburgh to visit Edinburgh and Glasgow. The hotel was BA recommended, hence we knew it would be a decent stay. Turned out quite perfect for us as it was well-located, very close to the train station, bus stop and cabs were available right outside. Even the Airlink bus from Edinburgh airport stops a very short walk away from Piries. Hence, location-wise, very convenient and suited to our travel agenda. The hotel itself has an old British feel to it and its cosy and homely. The rooms are ok and if you're spending most of your time sight-seeing, then its perfect to crash at night. They provide breakfast which is quite a decent spread. The staff are friendly and helpful with suggestions, directions, etc.

Room Tip: Choose a room on ground or first floor as you have to lug your own luggage up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoulSearcher91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and feedback on your recent stay at Piries hotel, Edinburgh

I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and Piries was the place to be while visiting Edinburgh

I hope we can welcome you once again in near future to extend our hospitality further

Kind Regards

Khaled Ibrahim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    226
    168
    66
    82
See reviews for
105
288
33
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

first visit to scotland for the hogmany,stayed 3 nights 29th 30th 31st at the piries hotel 10 mintues walk down to princes street,hotel is lovely and clean, housekeeping was great stayed in room 4 downstairs, room lovely and warm,tea coffee milk and sugar was replaced every day,breakfast was continental and could have as much as you liked,staff helpful and friendly,hoping to return to scotland again this year,and hope to stay at the piries,was well impressed for the price we paid.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beverly g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your cooments and feedback on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

I am delighted to learn that you had enjoyed your stay with us over the festive period

Looking forward to welcome you once again in not too far in the future

Kind Regards

Khaled Ibrahim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

having booked to stay from 20-27 dec at the piries was a bit sceptical having read previous reviews.however upon arrival was greeted by a pleasant receptionist, who informed us that we had been upgraded to room 15,which is a large and spacious room with a modern bathroom and t.v .continental breakfast was plentiful with a varied selection .the hotel itself is only a short bus journey into the town centre(or a 20 min walk)and the train station only a few minutes away.overall the hotel is clean and tidy and the staff very friendly and polite .would definately use this hotel again and reccomend to family and friends.THANKS FOR A WONDERFUL STAY

Room Tip: room 15 spacious and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time and feedback on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

I am delighted that your stay with us was enjoyable and I hope we can have more opportunities to welcome you in near future

Kind Regards

Khaled Ibrahim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Having read the reviews on here I was dreading our stay at The Piries! I was not expecting much but it was a good price and within walking distance of Edinburgh centre. However, I did like the fact the hotel manager reads all trip advisor reviews, responds and implements changes based on guest feedback.

When we arrived we were greeted by a lovely lady on reception and put in room 25. It's a good size room with a modern bathroom. It had a luggage rack and flat screen TV with tea and coffee making facilities. I requested more milk which was no trouble. A lovely young man on reception sorted this.

Negatives:
On the first day we choose not to have the house keeping team service our room but by the second day the towels were damp and the bedlinen was dirty (I'd eaten chocolate biscuits in bed with a coffee!) so decided to have the room serviced. Unfortunately they simply flipped the duvet over to hide the marks and instead of replacing the towels (which had been placed on the bathroom floor!) folded them back up and put them over the chair. They didn't even give us fresh cups!

To end on a positive note, if you're only staying one or two nights this hotel is perfect. It's a slightly better standard than a travel lodge but similar idea. It's close to Edinburgh (25min walk) and the staff are just lovely. I so wanted to give them a brilliant review but I could not overlook the house keeping issue.

Overall it was good value for money and a nice place to stay. Also there is an artisan bakery on the corner which does lovely breakfasts for anyone not having breakfast at the hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rao433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments on your recent at at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh.

I am delighted that the Piries was the place to be during your visit to Edinburgh..

With regards to Housekeeping issues please accept my apology. However, I have passed your points to the hotel duty manager who will be discussing the issues moving forward to a better performance

Once again thank you and looking forward to welcome you in near future

Kind Regards

Khaled Ibrahim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

my wife and i stayed at piries on 16-18 dec 13.for a weekday break.and visit to relatives.
the staff were very helpful and friendly.we were upgraded to room 22 (large family room) which was very clean and warm.
hotel very handy for access to edinburgh .walking/bus/train.
continental breakfast was perfect.and plentifull.
piries is a friendly ,warm ,welcoming hotel.
the hotel staff are smart/clean and helpfull.special thanks to "lazsio"
we will use this "value"hotel again and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: room 22 perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harryronnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and feedback on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

I am delighted that your stay with us was enjoyable and comfortable

Once again thank you for your customs and hope we can welcome you in near future to extend our hospitality further

Kind Regards

Khaled Ibrahim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

My fiance and I stayed at the Piries hotel 30/11/13-01/12/13, 1 night. We checked in and after waiting 2 minutes we were greeted by a polite young lady on reception. When asked if it was ok to park our car outside the hotel we were informed that it was a short stay chargable car park and that Piries hotel do not provide a car park, and then directed us to a nearby long stay car park about a mile away which cost £12.50 for 24 hours so please consider this extra cost if travelling by car. Also there was a lot of cars that had had number plates ripped off during the night so please consider finding a more secure one. The hotel itself was average. It was a very small room with just enough room for a double bed and a tiny bathroom. The toilet was making a loud 'grunting' noise everytime we flushed, as well as when the shower was running. The TV struggled to find a signal as we were in a basement room. The room also had a real 'fusty' smell. The breakfast the following morning was average, do not expect a fry up as it is continental food i.e bread, ham, cheese. Aswell as yoghurts, muffins, cereal an crossiants. Overall our stay was very good for the little cost we paid to stay and will return again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raindrops123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and feedback on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

I take your comments on board and pass to the relevant department to resolve immediately.

With regards to car park. unfortunately is not easy to facilitate such request with Edinburgh council

May I take this opportunity once again and thank you for your valuable comments

Looking forward to welcome you in near future

Kind regards

Khaled Ibrahim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2013

The Hotel is Good, just avoid taking Room 50, 51 & 52.

For initial stay we was offered Room 27, which was perfect. Then on our next visit we were offered room 52 which felt Haunted, Unclean and DIFFERENT. Its actually next door, so its scary.

But the staff at the reception was awesome. They put us back to Room 27.

RE: Breakfast.
They need more Vegan / Vegetarian Options. Also otherwise its very basic breakfast.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 50, 51 and 52
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m10d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

I am delighted that your stay with us was enjoyable and the team were helpful through out your stay

With regards to comments on pacific rooms will be passed to maintenance department to resolve immediately with action plan

Once again thank you for your custom and looking forward to welcome you in near future

Kind Regards

Khaled Ibrahim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Original Raj Hotel
The Original Raj Hotel
#138 of 149 in Edinburgh
259 reviews
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#139 of 149 in Edinburgh
56 reviews
West End
Ritz Edinburgh
Ritz Edinburgh
#143 of 149 in Edinburgh
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#83 of 149 in Edinburgh
804 reviews
Corstorphine
The White Lady
The White Lady
#36 of 149 in Edinburgh
628 reviews
West End
Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piries Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piries Hotel

Property: Piries Hotel
Address: 4-8 Coates Gardens, Edinburgh EH12 5LB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Piries Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Piries Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piries Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing