We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful stay”
Review of Piries Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Piries Hotel
Ranked #134 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed January 2, 2014

having booked to stay from 20-27 dec at the piries was a bit sceptical having read previous reviews.however upon arrival was greeted by a pleasant receptionist, who informed us that we had been upgraded to room 15,which is a large and spacious room with a modern bathroom and t.v .continental breakfast was plentiful with a varied selection .the hotel itself is only a short bus journey into the town centre(or a 20 min walk)and the train station only a few minutes away.overall the hotel is clean and tidy and the staff very friendly and polite .would definately use this hotel again and reccomend to family and friends.THANKS FOR A WONDERFUL STAY

Room Tip: room 15 spacious and quiet
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time and feedback on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

I am delighted that your stay with us was enjoyable and I hope we can have more opportunities to welcome you in near future

Kind Regards

Khaled Ibrahim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (660)
There are newer reviews for Piries Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

286 - 292 of 660 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2013

Having read the reviews on here I was dreading our stay at The Piries! I was not expecting much but it was a good price and within walking distance of Edinburgh centre. However, I did like the fact the hotel manager reads all trip advisor reviews, responds and implements changes based on guest feedback.

When we arrived we were greeted by a lovely lady on reception and put in room 25. It's a good size room with a modern bathroom. It had a luggage rack and flat screen TV with tea and coffee making facilities. I requested more milk which was no trouble. A lovely young man on reception sorted this.

Negatives:
On the first day we choose not to have the house keeping team service our room but by the second day the towels were damp and the bedlinen was dirty (I'd eaten chocolate biscuits in bed with a coffee!) so decided to have the room serviced. Unfortunately they simply flipped the duvet over to hide the marks and instead of replacing the towels (which had been placed on the bathroom floor!) folded them back up and put them over the chair. They didn't even give us fresh cups!

To end on a positive note, if you're only staying one or two nights this hotel is perfect. It's a slightly better standard than a travel lodge but similar idea. It's close to Edinburgh (25min walk) and the staff are just lovely. I so wanted to give them a brilliant review but I could not overlook the house keeping issue.

Overall it was good value for money and a nice place to stay. Also there is an artisan bakery on the corner which does lovely breakfasts for anyone not having breakfast at the hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Rao433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments on your recent at at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh.

I am delighted that the Piries was the place to be during your visit to Edinburgh..

With regards to Housekeeping issues please accept my apology. However, I have passed your points to the hotel duty manager who will be discussing the issues moving forward to a better performance

Once again thank you and looking forward to welcome you in near future

Kind Regards

Khaled Ibrahim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

my wife and i stayed at piries on 16-18 dec 13.for a weekday break.and visit to relatives.
the staff were very helpful and friendly.we were upgraded to room 22 (large family room) which was very clean and warm.
hotel very handy for access to edinburgh .walking/bus/train.
continental breakfast was perfect.and plentifull.
piries is a friendly ,warm ,welcoming hotel.
the hotel staff are smart/clean and helpfull.special thanks to "lazsio"
we will use this "value"hotel again and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: room 22 perfect
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harryronnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and feedback on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

I am delighted that your stay with us was enjoyable and comfortable

Once again thank you for your customs and hope we can welcome you in near future to extend our hospitality further

Kind Regards

Khaled Ibrahim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

My fiance and I stayed at the Piries hotel 30/11/13-01/12/13, 1 night. We checked in and after waiting 2 minutes we were greeted by a polite young lady on reception. When asked if it was ok to park our car outside the hotel we were informed that it was a short stay chargable car park and that Piries hotel do not provide a car park, and then directed us to a nearby long stay car park about a mile away which cost £12.50 for 24 hours so please consider this extra cost if travelling by car. Also there was a lot of cars that had had number plates ripped off during the night so please consider finding a more secure one. The hotel itself was average. It was a very small room with just enough room for a double bed and a tiny bathroom. The toilet was making a loud 'grunting' noise everytime we flushed, as well as when the shower was running. The TV struggled to find a signal as we were in a basement room. The room also had a real 'fusty' smell. The breakfast the following morning was average, do not expect a fry up as it is continental food i.e bread, ham, cheese. Aswell as yoghurts, muffins, cereal an crossiants. Overall our stay was very good for the little cost we paid to stay and will return again in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank raindrops123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and feedback on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

I take your comments on board and pass to the relevant department to resolve immediately.

With regards to car park. unfortunately is not easy to facilitate such request with Edinburgh council

May I take this opportunity once again and thank you for your valuable comments

Looking forward to welcome you in near future

Kind regards

Khaled Ibrahim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

The Hotel is Good, just avoid taking Room 50, 51 & 52.

For initial stay we was offered Room 27, which was perfect. Then on our next visit we were offered room 52 which felt Haunted, Unclean and DIFFERENT. Its actually next door, so its scary.

But the staff at the reception was awesome. They put us back to Room 27.

RE: Breakfast.
They need more Vegan / Vegetarian Options. Also otherwise its very basic breakfast.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 50, 51 and 52
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m10d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

I am delighted that your stay with us was enjoyable and the team were helpful through out your stay

With regards to comments on pacific rooms will be passed to maintenance department to resolve immediately with action plan

Once again thank you for your custom and looking forward to welcome you in near future

Kind Regards

Khaled Ibrahim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

booked this hotel as i needed to be near the Hilton and hay market station,very nice hotel in a good location,staff very friendly and rooms clean and comfortable.Would definitely stay here again.The hotel is only 3 minutes walk from hay market station and there is lots of bars nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derek135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and feedback on your recent stay at Piries hotel, Edinburgh

I am delighted that you stay with us was enjoyable

Looking forward to welcome you once again in near future

Kind Regards

Khaled Ibrahim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

This is my second visit to this hotel. Both times we have been made to feel very welcome and the rooms are well presented, clean and comfortable.

It is a good location for Edinburgh city centre if you don't mind a bit of a walk.

The breakfast is a little basic, but I would happily recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Binkymalinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and feedback on your recent stay with us at Piries hotel, Edinburgh

Myself and the team are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay as always and Piries becomes your home away from home

Once again thank you and looking forward to welcome you visit after visit

Regards

Khaled Ibrahim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Ritz Edinburgh
Ritz Edinburgh
#143 of 150 in Edinburgh
410 reviews
West End
Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel
West End
The Original Raj Hotel
The Original Raj Hotel
#139 of 150 in Edinburgh
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#135 of 150 in Edinburgh
134 reviews
West End
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
#86 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,136 reviews
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#91 of 150 in Edinburgh
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piries Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piries Hotel

Address: 4-8 Coates Gardens, Edinburgh EH12 5LB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: $68 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Piries Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Piries Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piries Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing