We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad but could be great!”
Review of Piries Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Piries Hotel
Ranked #136 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Well done to the staff at the hotel. We arrived before mid day not expecting to be able to check in but they gave us our rooms and even upgraded us to "executive" rooms My room was about 11.5 x 8m. Large room, well decorated. No noise heard from other guests. Breakfast was continental and my only real critism was break had to eaten on a bar stool and tables still sticky from beer! Attention to detail could raise this hotel to a higher level. We went on a British Airways holiday package so I do not know what the room cost. I think we probably got what we paid for.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time and feedback on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us

I will forward your comments to breakfast staff

Once again thank you and hope we can welcome you in near future

Kind Regards

Khaled Ibrahim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (665)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

341 - 347 of 665 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012

Our "room" was in the basement, room 10. It was tiny - it just about fitted a double bed but you had to crawl into the bed from the bottom as there was no space either side of the bed to move!

There was no headboard on the bed so our heads were right at the window which let a cold draught in all night. Also didn't make for a comfortable nights sleep.

There was no wardrobe or drawers so our weeks worth of clothing had to be left in the suitcase all week!

My husband and I were staying there & we were only left 1 bath towel. They were a bit grumpy when we asked for another one!

The fire alarm went off when I dried my hair in the room because the room was do small with no ventilation.

Our room was beside a door to exit the hotel which was always left open. This made us feel insecure about leaving things in our room as any1 could have tried to break in to our room!

The bathroom was relatively clean. However There was mould in the shower.
The water temperature was fixed to lukewarm & you had no option to have a hot shower.

Breakfast was basic & nothing like what you'd expect for a British breakfast ie no hot food & tea & coffee was out of an automated machine. Poor selection of breakfast food. Mainly just cold meat buffet with baps & 3/4 choices of mini boxes of cereal.

The hotel is about 3 mins walk from haymarket train station. This is the only positive thing I have to say about this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marmalade_nipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Booked four rooms in the Piries Hotel (2x twin, 2x double) for one night because of its location and its reasonable price. There were no complaints from any of us (7) about any aspects of this hotel. As has already been said, rooms are small but clean and appear to have been recently redecorated and refurbished. Breakfast is not included and is £6.50 per person. However, there are a number of eateries nearby to suit most tastes. Hotel reception area and bar are small but bar prices surprisingly well priced. Staff were efficient and professional. I would certainly consider staying here overnight again. I was surprised to read considerable criticism of the Piries in the hotel guest book. Although not the greatest hotel experience, none of us experienced any negative comments to make about this place.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank mistahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for your recent comments on Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

I am delighted that you and your respected party found Piries an adequate place to stay while visiting Edinburgh

We are very much appreciate your feedback and time

Looking forward to welcome you once again in near future

Kind Regards

Khaled Ibrahim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Absolutely nothing wrong with this place. Stayed from Wednesdat 7th to Friday 9th November for a conference at the EICC.
Check-in was swift and very friendly (£20 deposit taken which was a little strange) but has since been returned.
Room was clean, very fluffy white towels, tea, coffee, flat screen TV, clean white sheets ...i was surprised....it was a bit dusty, but i wasnt there as a hotel inspector.
Breakfast was fine, cereal, pastries, fruit, cheese, ham and chicken....yogurt, nutella!!! and juice, coffee and tea.
I only paid £76 for two nights B & B...and i think it was outstanding value. Bar drinks are not expensive either. Thanks, I will return again.
Thanks for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StuartWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for talking the time and feedback on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

I am delighted that Piries hotel has met but exceeded your expectations

Once again thank you and looking forward to welcome in near future

Kind Regards
Khaled Ibrahim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Our original room had a seperate toilet which was not what we had initially requested. Staff quickly found us another room with attached toilet. Customer service was great and the room was standard but comfortable. Great location with easy access to transporation. Wish the building had lifts for the buggy though.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank PilotTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us at Piries hotel, Edinburgh

I am glad that Piries and its team was up to your expectations and I hope we van welcome you once again to extend our hospitality further

Kind Regards

Khaled Ibrahim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Our double room was basic but clean. The location is very close to bus routes both to city center and Airlink to the airport. Breakfast was above average continental and staff to help was available. Service at reception was excellent as was at breakfast. Little bar to have a glass of wine in the evening. Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TiittaLohja_Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

I am delighted to learn that your experience with us was excellent

Once again thank you and looking forward to welcome you in not too far in future

Kind Regards

Khaled Ibrahim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

we have just spent 3 nights at this hotel,it was very nice,hotel was clean,breakfast was good and plenty of it. we were on the top floor,lots of stairs to climb but we had help with our case from the staff who are all very helpful. it was very quiet at the top of the hotel,apart from the early wake up call when fire alarm went off at 6.20 in morning,but at least you know fire alarm works!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jc14grimsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and feedback on your recent stay at Piries hotel, Edinburgh

I am delighted that your stay with us was enjoyable and met your expectations

Once again thank you and hope we can welcome you in near future to extend our hospitality further

Kind Regards

Khaled Ibrahim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Ritz Edinburgh
Ritz Edinburgh
#145 of 151 in Edinburgh
411 reviews
West End
Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#134 of 151 in Edinburgh
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Original Raj Hotel
The Original Raj Hotel
#141 of 151 in Edinburgh
270 reviews
West End
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
#88 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,145 reviews
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#93 of 151 in Edinburgh
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piries Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piries Hotel

Address: 4-8 Coates Gardens, Edinburgh EH12 5LB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: $60 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Piries Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Piries Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piries Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing