We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pack your hot water bottle and some anti bac wipes”
Review of Piries Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Piries Hotel
Ranked #136 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

Room was absolutely freezing we were provided with a thin duvet like a piece of paper and had to sleep with our clothes over our pyjamas
Breakfast was awful did not even bother to have it after the first day
And the noise! Worse nights sleep ever due to a tram system being put in road hotel is on is being used as a cut through
Other guests were inconsiderate coming in at all times drunk banging doors and making up noise
If you want to use this as a place to lay your head once your drunk it's fine but if you expect a quality experience think again
I realise these points are not really the fault of the hotel and staff but it still tarred our experience

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine822012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Piries Hotel.I am sorry that street noise kept awake all night but I am glad that reception has managed to allocate another quite room for the reminder of your stay

With regards to freezing room. I would like to point out that all rooms are individually heated and guests are able to control the heating system as they wish. However, The maintenance department have checked both rooms and confirmed the heating in full running order

Piries hotel does serve variety of continental breakfast to suite most of our guests,haven't said that the confirmation we sent does indicate continental breakfast

I hope my feedback will reassure you that Piries and its team are keen to resolve any issue(s) to ensure and maintain guest satisfaction

Once again thank you for taking the time and looking forward to welcome you in near future

Kind Regards

Khaled Ibrahim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (659)
There are newer reviews for Piries Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

370 - 376 of 659 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

Our room was in the cellar.... to anyone who has worked in a bar...remember the smell of cellar? Try sleeping there....knew hotel was fully booked so didn't bother asking to be moved. The bed is uncomfortable, the window did not open.

When we arrived I was asked for a deposit for room?!??? I had already paid why the hell should I leave a deposit!!! Nothing was mentioned when I booked it.. only good thing about room was shower

Location is good. Despite other reviews princess street a 10 min walk so that's good! There's a fantastic Indian just near hay market station

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank squirl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and comment on your recent stay at Piries hotel, Edinburgh

I would like to take this opportunity and confirm that Piries rooms wither in lower floor or 1st, 2nd floor are the same with only some sizes different(its the 19Th century townhouse structure)

With regards to deposit I am afraid its Piries policy and most but all hotels operate with such point to allow guest have credit around hotel outlets.This is nothing to do with the reservations wither paid in advance or in the hotel

I am positive that you have enjoyed your stay with us and looking forward to welcome you once again in near future

Kind Regards

Khaled Ibrahim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

We spent one night in Piries hotel and found it very reasonably priced as we got a last minute deal. The staff were helpful and friendly and check in was quick and easy. We had a double room booked and it was extremely spacious. The decor in the room was modern and bright. The only faults we found were that the shower head was broken so the water came thundering down rather than in jets and one side of the bed seemed to be broken as it sunk right down when you sat on it! We could also have done with a bath mat as the bathroom floor was slippy after getting out of the shower. Overall a nice room, good location and very quiet in the evening, we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank megorme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments and feedback on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us

With regards to the points mentioned I will action as appropriate...

Looking forward to welcome you once again

Kind Regards
Khaled Ibrahim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

The Hotel is near Haymarket, 3 minutes away of the bus station of the airlink bus. 20 minutes to the george and Princes street. The hotel staff was very friendly and they spoke very good german. The rooms are very small and the double bed was not really comfortable for two people. The shower had an electric heater for the warm water, a litte bit strange but it worked well (after you check how it works).
The hotel offers only continental breakfast at a rate of GBP 6,50, the waitress was very polite but the variety was poor.
For a short trip to edinburgh the price/performance ratio is really ok.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorothea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments & feedback on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

We are delighted that Piries has met your expectation most importantly that you have enjoyed Edinburgh

With regards to breakfast standard I must say that we do change our products quite often to meet all our guests demands

Once again thank you and looking forward to welcome you in near future

Kind Regards
Khaled Ibrahim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

A friendly, well-presented, recently refurbished and reasonably priced hotel in Edinburgh New Town. Good for exploring the West End of Edinburgh, Dean Village and the Zoo and if you are using one of the Haymarket trains. Rooms are well appointed, breakfasts are good and variety is also good. The property has been a hotel for probably over 25 yrs, but the current owners have made a series of upgrades. Due to its reasonable prices, it is very popular and as the breakfast area is small, you may find yourself having to compete for space and food, otherwise no negative comments to be made.

Room Tip: Mix of rooms, ones on lower floors and front probably sleep three, rear rooms and near stair well ar...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PajaritoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for your time and feedback on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us while visiting Edinburgh

We hope to see you once again to extend our hospitality

Kind Regards
Khaled Ibrahim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

I arrived at the Piries Hotel Edinburgh on Sunday 23/4 and I was greeted by a receptionist who asked me to provide a credit card or pay a cash deposit in case of breakables, this is something I had never been asked to do before and I refused. I was then told that she had no confirmation from Superbreak. I was given the key to my room, room number 40 which was in an out building and there was a huge crack in the window, I mentioned this to the receptionist and she told me they were aware of it, if that was the case why had it not been fixed? and the heating was not working at all in the room it was freezing. The heating was eventually fixed however there was an upstairs flat above my room which was not part of the hotel with a loud party going on it felt like my ceiling was coming in. So I asked to move. I was eventually moved to another room in another outhouse which was a lot quieter however the window was jammed open and would not shut and the television was not working. Not wanting to be bothered again I went to bed. However it was cold and there was a lot of noise from the street. The room very obviously had not been cleaned as there were a whole lot of pink feathers lying around the room like from a feather boa. The paint was coming off all the skirting boards in the room and the room was very worn. After not a good nights sleep I went for breakfast which was a joke, the hot water machine for the tea was tepid, the cheese in the 'refrigerated food distributor was luke warm and I had indigestion all morning and the 'Fresh Orange juice' was heavily diluted juice, it was so weak it was unbelievable. I was glad to leave. I find it amazing that this is recommended by Superbreak, do Superbreak check out the hotels? I found it a very dissapointing experience and certainly not value for money, Having a lot to do the next day in Edinburgh I was extremley tired and it sullied my experience

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2012

Dear Guest
First I would like to thank you for your comments on your stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

We take all your comments very seriously.All issues addressed will be looked at and action immediately

Please accept my personal apology for your experience..

I hope we can have another opportunity to welcome you once again to show you that Piries and its team are keen and not reluctant to provide a good hospitality service

Kind Regards
Khaled Ibrahim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

stayed at the piries for a long weekend at the tattoo convention and i found this hotel suitable for all my needs.
it's a short stroll to the haymarket rail station which will whisk you up to waverly station in no time and off to glasgow in the other direction. it's on the airport bus route and (in time) the tram line as well.....

the room was small (it was a single booking) but adequate for sleeping in after a good night out, the staff are on all night so no getting locked out. the shower was of a good size, the t.v was large but reception was a little flakey....but who's in edinburgh to stay in and watch the box?

there were tea making facilities in the room and a buffet breakfast thrown in which would get you through to lunch if needed.

all in all, a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank big_foooot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for your valued time commenting on your recent stay with us at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

I am very delighted that Piries team have met your expectation and the hotel serviceswere up to your satisfaction

We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you again in very near future

Kind Regards
Khaled Ibrahim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Ritz Edinburgh
Ritz Edinburgh
#144 of 150 in Edinburgh
409 reviews
West End
Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel
West End
The Original Raj Hotel
The Original Raj Hotel
#140 of 150 in Edinburgh
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#135 of 150 in Edinburgh
133 reviews
West End
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
#86 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,134 reviews
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#91 of 150 in Edinburgh
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piries Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piries Hotel

Address: 4-8 Coates Gardens, Edinburgh EH12 5LB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: $68 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Piries Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Piries Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piries Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing