We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm, friendly, comfortable hotel - like home” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edinburgh Thistle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Ranked #91 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Deal, United Kingdom
1 review
“Warm, friendly, comfortable hotel - like home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

We had a lovely stay at the Thistle Hotel, the location was excellent. The staff and service was wonderful could not be better. You were set for the day with the cooke breakfast. The room were very clean and comfortable. The bathrooms are in the process of being updated but were spotless.

I would definitely visit Edinburgh and the Hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise503900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    231
    77
    26
    16
See reviews for
121
257
49
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilton, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

Everybody is very kind, friendly and concerned about your wellbeing. The rooms are great, including the breakfast. The best part is that wonderful cozy "pub" on the main floor which I considered my "living room", and to which I was able to invite my friends to spend time together. I highly recommend this hotel.
Lilian

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lrevel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2010

The Thistle Hotel was everything we could have hoped for, and so much more. Upon arrival we were greeted by a lovely, sweet and enthusiastic hostess. We dropped off our luggage and when we got back later in the day, we were surprised to find that our suitcases had already been carried upstairs! We stayed on the top floor, so this was a big and very welcome surprise! The room was large, clean and with a view of the Castle. Even the bathroom was roomy, and had a bathtub. Breakfast and the bar in the hotel were also excellent. Overall, this is the best hotel I have ever stayed in, partly because the staff was always very sweet and helpful. We had a great stay, thanks to them!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lunapuella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2010

I have been traveling and on the go every few days for about 6 weeks qll through Europe and the UK and this is by far the worst value for money I have come across. The location for site seeing is terrible, the bathroom is TINY and in desperate need of an upgrade. There is no lift as it is an old Georgian terrace building so watch out if you have any luggage. When I booked the helpful receptionist advised me that the room rate (95 euros) included a full breakfast. I found out in the dining room that it didnt. After we had eaten the cereal and toast the waitress told me she had made a mistake and that a cooked breakfast was included. My travel companion decided to have the cooked breakfast anyway which was terrible. Internet access was a 5 euros charge. The "helpful" receptionist all of a sudden became not so nice when I mentioned the breakfast mix up upon check out. Bypass this one and find somewhere else would be my advice!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WaltzingMatilda20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2010

My partner and I recently stayed at the Edinburgh Thistle during the weekend of the Edinburgh marathon.
We had actually booked in to another hotel in Edinburgh but we were informed on arrival at this other hotel that there had been 'a flood' and so our booking had been moved elsewhere.
We strongly suspect 'a flood' was this hotel's particular code for overbooking their rooms on one of the busiest weekends of the year, and was not the most welcome news when we arrived as they also managed to split our travelling party in to two separate hotels across the city.
After much wrangling with the first hotel, we arrived at the Thistle Hotel to be greeted by Greg on reception, who provided a friendly welcome and a helping hand with our luggage.
The hotel itself has retained much of the character of the original building which gives a great feel to the place. Our room was clean and spacious, with a large window allowing in plenty of light and air.
Due to staff holidays, Greg was on duty for pretty much our entire stay – yet his natural friendly demeanour and good banter maintained despite the long hours!
After the stress of having our plans changed by the initial hotel (which had been chosen for its close proximity to the start of the marathon) the atmosphere of the Thistle, along with the approach and friendly attentiveness of all the staff, meant that by the end of the weekend we were glad our booking had been moved.
A fantastic hotel with a great personality that makes a refreshing change from so many big chains.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cookston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2010

great location - if arriving by car you can have free parking outside hotel if a space is available and if not discounted parking in adjoining carpark. Would request room at back of hotel as front has busy Leith Street which wakened us around 5.30 am with the start of the day buses and traffic otherwise we were very satisfied with our room in every other way.
Taxi rank just down hill from hotel outside omnicentre which is really handy for going out in the evening. Super location for shopping in all areas. We will certainly stay here again .

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shonaleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2010

shopping centre below a must walk very central good food enertainment excellent for shopping spree just off princess street 5 minutes walk from centre of Royal Mile

Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Celticmystyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#85 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
West End
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
#86 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Channings Hotel
#31 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
West End
Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket)
West End
The Bonham
The Bonham
#56 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Thistle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Thistle Hotel

Property: Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Address: 59 Manor Place, Edinburgh EH3 7EG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh Thistle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edinburgh Thistle Hotel is located in the prestigious, quiet and residential west end area of Edinburgh New Town.The hotel is central and near to Edinburgh Castle, the Edinburgh International Conference Centre (EICC) and of course the renowned Princes Street with its vast array of stylish shops and stores. Established in 1924, the hotel has retained most of its original period features, having once been a Georgian Town House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Edinburgh Thistle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Edinburgh
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing