We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location, Comfort & Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Ranked #88 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Owermoigne Dorset
Level Contributor
137 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good Location, Comfort & Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

The Thistle is located in a quiet convenient location in the west end of the city just a short walk from the main sights in the centre. Street parking is easily available in the area or off street for £15 per 24 hours. Rooms were quiet and comfortable with friendly service to help point us in the right direction to make the most of our stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank TLPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thistlehot, Public Relations Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
thank you for your recent feed back we are happy that you were satisfy and look forward to welcoming you back in the furture
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    234
    79
    27
    16
See reviews for
122
267
49
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for one night. Pretty central location, my room was clean and reasonably priced. I had an early flight to catch next day and the staff has been excellent in organising everything for me(taxi booking, settling account when checking in, wake up call, etc) and also offered packed breakfast. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmsdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thistlehot, Public Relations Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
thank you for your recent feedback, this is all part of the staff our staff provide, hear at the thistle hotel you are not just an number, but a guest who has needs and we feel it is our job to meet those needs. we look forward to welcoming you back in the furture
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel is very nice, clean, fantastic sized room. Staff are very friendly and can not help you enough, continental breakfast was excellent. Plenty tea / coffee etc in the room. Nice bar downstairs with reasonable prices. Princess street is only a 10 min walk away from the hotel so position is ideal. We enjoyed a great weekend and have no hesitation to return

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thistlehot, Public Relations Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Mikey

Many thanks for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the thistle hotel in the furture
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

On arriving to leaving ,the staff of the King James couldn't have been more helpful ... Thank you all ..This is the 2nd time staying (12yrs ago being the first tme) and the standard hasn't changed ..The rooms were clean the beds were very comfortable .. On our day of departure we had several hours until our flight .. the hotel were more than happy to hold our suitcases until we were ready to leave for the airport ..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lionking526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Cozy and small hotel located close to Heymarket conveniently located for visiting Edinburgh. Very good service, and friendly and helpful staff. Easily reached from the airport with shuttle bus and the tram in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ullapool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

My first visit to Edinburgh n stay at Thistle hotel.The upper floor rooms are quiter.Excellent staff members n good hospitality .Scottish traditional bar n well stocked.Left one suitcase n took trip to highlands.Planned visit next week again

Room Tip: Upper rooms are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skype2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostfildern, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

A small but nice hotel in walking distance of the Castle. The hotel staff was absolutely wonderful and we felt right at home. We had a family room to the back which was nice and quiet. The bar is well equipped and the perfect place for one or two nightcaps with the kids just upstairs. The Thistle is an excellent base for exploring Edinburgh on foot and all in all it was a perfect stay. If we're in Edinburgh again we'll be back :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Isabel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#84 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
West End
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
#87 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Channings Hotel
#35 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
West End
The Bonham
The Bonham
#52 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
New Town
Frederick House Hotel
Frederick House Hotel
#110 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Thistle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Thistle Hotel

Property: Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Address: 59 Manor Place, Edinburgh EH3 7EG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh Thistle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edinburgh Thistle Hotel is located in the prestigious, quiet and residential west end area of Edinburgh New Town.The hotel is central and near to Edinburgh Castle, the Edinburgh International Conference Centre (EICC) and of course the renowned Princes Street with its vast array of stylish shops and stores. Established in 1924, the hotel has retained most of its original period features, having once been a Georgian Town House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edinburgh Thistle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Edinburgh
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing