We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Uncomfortable bed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Ranked #89 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
NZ
1 review
“Uncomfortable bed!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

A convenient location, clean & smart.
But the bed was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept on - I could feel each of the inner sprung mattress springs! In the middle of the night I got up & used a spare blanket doubled up over the mattress & under the base sheet which helped. When I explained this the next morning & asked for another room they offered to put a mattress "topper" on - which helped but was still only really thin, more like a mattress protector really & they left the blanket in place.... and did not apologise nor offer any discount.
The owners have tried & succeeded for the most part in upgrading the decor but the fake wood formica/MDF units let it down.
Also I was on the top floor which was fine for me but would be a long haul with a big suitcase or if unfit (no lift and a charge of ten pounds to have someone take your bags up!).
Not terrible but I'd look elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: No lift so be fit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NzJed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thistlehot, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

We’re sorry to hear your bed was so uncomfortable for you. The manager did inspect the bed himself and felt no problem with it. At least the mattress topper helped.

The décor in the hotel is largely traditional, which is admittedly not to everyone’s taste, but suits the feel of this old Georgian townhouse.

You’re right though- these stairs keep us fit!

Hoping to welcome you again at some point in the future,

Kindest Regards,

The Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    233
    79
    27
    16
See reviews for
122
265
49
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hotel was so cute and within a 10 minute walk to the main street and buses or half hour walk to the Royal Mile and Edinburgh castle.
We came to Scotland with our 17 year old daughter and were very fortunate to have a room with 2 double beds and our own washroom.
Breakfast being served on second floor in the morning was delicious and the service was very nice.
Ladies at front desk were so helpful, Even when we parked our vehicle in the wrong location. (note that there is a fee for parking your vehicle as no parking was at front of hotel)

Our room was very clean and a decent size as really all we needed it for was a place to hang our hat for the night.
On our way back through Edinburgh we stayed here again and the second room we were given was just as nice and maintained as the first.
This time the front desk lady even walked us to where we were supposed to park.. Such a sweet and nice gesture.
As we were leaving VERY early in the morning to catch our flights they even took the time to make our breakfast to go.
An apple, a juice box, a cookie and a yogurt.. So thoughtful and much appreciated.

Wanting to be within walking distance to the castle and all that the Royal Mile had to offer, i was happy with the length of the walk.. It afforded us a bit of time to enjoy the city and we also stumbled upon some very nice pubs and a grocery store and a health food store.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thistlehot, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your trip and your stay with us. Thank you very much for taking the time to review us!

Edinburgh has so much to offer and we are pleased that we helped you find some enjoyable places. We are also glad that the staff were helpful and that you found the room so much to your liking.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Regards,

The Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

A very nice and small Hotel offering very friendly service and quiet locale.
The room was very clean and well maintained. Service very friendly and efficient.

On the down side, no parking onsite and it is probably a little too far from the action to walk.
Also parking is $15 per night and only a few spots available. Wi-fi is also available but at a hefty price. Considering a lot of lodgings now offer free wi-fi.

Overall, I would recommend and would most likely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank popquiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thistlehot, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay at the Thistle Hotel; we appreciate your comments.

We are one of few hotels to offer on-site parking in Edinburgh, but we are happy to hear you enjoyed your time here and that you found to service and the room to be of a high standard.

Hoping to welcome you again in future,

Kindest regards,

The Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Though a little further of the beaten path than I think I might have preferred, I had a very positive experience at the hotel. The area is quiet (due to location), the decor was charming, the rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff was exceptionally friendly. No elevator, but I didn't personally mind the stairs (and I was on the top floor). I suppose that might be an issue for some, unfortunately.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thistlehot, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments on your stay at the Thistle Hotel- we appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here and the décor and rooms were to your liking. We are also pleased that the staff were helpful.

Hoping to welcome you again in the near future,

Kind regards,

The Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

The Thistle was well placed for my business meeting, but a little further from the town than I would have liked if not staying on business.
The reception/bar staff are great - so helpful and lovely even though they seem to cover a variety of job roles in one.
The bed was so comfortable and I normally struggle sleeping in any bed other than my own. The room was nice and spacious, with a great shower and a big TV.
If you are looking for a traditional, budget scottish hotel then this won't disappoint, but I personally prefer somewhere more modern. I felt that the walls/bar/rooms needed a touch of modernising and a fresh lick of paint.
The breakfast room was the nicest room I visited and the continental breakfast was huge! It's a shame they don't provide food in-house in the evening. They have to order out and by the time the delivery charge and the 'booking fee' is applied it works out very expensive.
I would absolutely stay here again if on business or on my own, but would stay somewhere else if going to Edinburgh for a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneyFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thistlehot, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to give feedback on your recent stay at the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel; we appreciate all comments and opinions. We’re very glad to learn you had a lovely time here.
The Hotel is located in the prestigious West End area of Edinburgh, only 800 meters from Princes Street.
The rooms were decorated earlier this year with new curtains, fresh paint and feature walls. As the building is a Georgian townhouse, we want to keep some of the original features. Your description of a “traditional, Scottish hotel” seems quite apt! We are very happy that you had a peaceful sleep and enjoyed our facilities.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to give us feedback and we hope to welcome you back to the Thistle Hotel soon.
Regards,
The Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We booked 2 rooms for 3 nights + breakfast and we were all really satisfied. The hotel is well situated, we could walk to our various destinations. The rooms were very nicely decorated and clean. The staff is nice and helful. The breakfast was good and in aboundance, nicely served at the table.
I would definitely stay there again if I were to visit Edinbourgh again. I can only recommand it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissPouick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thistlehot, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your time and feedback on your recent stay at the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and that the Thistle staff were of assistance to you and your party. We are also pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast- it’s the most important meal of the day!

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Regards,
The Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is a good hotel for visiting Edinburgh as it is two minutes walk from Princes street.This is our third visit to this hotel we use it when we are in town for a show at the Edinburgh Playhouse as it is only a three minute walk.The rooms are very comfortable having everything you would expect from a Thistle hotel and as we were only b/b the breakfast was up to standard with a good choice of british or continental,the bar was a good standard but as we were the only couple in it,it lacked a bit of atmosphere,but I would recommend it for a short stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giudici206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thistlehot, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your time and feedback on your recent stay at the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel. We’re very happy to hear you had a lovely time!

The location of this hotel is indeed very convenient for visiting a variety of places in the city, and we are glad that this was a benefit for you- Edinburgh is too brilliant a city to miss out on! We are also very pleased that you enjoyed our range of breakfast choice- our traditional Scottish breakfasts are not to be missed!
Looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
The Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#83 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
West End
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
#86 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Channings Hotel
#35 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
West End
The Bonham
The Bonham
#53 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
New Town
Frederick House Hotel
Frederick House Hotel
#111 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Thistle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Thistle Hotel

Property: Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Address: 59 Manor Place, Edinburgh EH3 7EG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh Thistle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edinburgh Thistle Hotel is located in the prestigious, quiet and residential west end area of Edinburgh New Town.The hotel is central and near to Edinburgh Castle, the Edinburgh International Conference Centre (EICC) and of course the renowned Princes Street with its vast array of stylish shops and stores. Established in 1924, the hotel has retained most of its original period features, having once been a Georgian Town House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edinburgh Thistle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Edinburgh
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing