We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Service and large room.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Ranked #101 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2012

A very nice and small Hotel offering very friendly service and quiet locale.
The room was very clean and well maintained. Service very friendly and efficient.

On the down side, no parking onsite and it is probably a little too far from the action to walk.
Also parking is $15 per night and only a few spots available. Wi-fi is also available but at a hefty price. Considering a lot of lodgings now offer free wi-fi.

Overall, I would recommend and would most likely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank popquiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thistlehot, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay at the Thistle Hotel; we appreciate your comments.

We are one of few hotels to offer on-site parking in Edinburgh, but we are happy to hear you enjoyed your time here and that you found to service and the room to be of a high standard.

Hoping to welcome you again in future,

Kindest regards,

The Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (675)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

447 - 453 of 675 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2012

Though a little further of the beaten path than I think I might have preferred, I had a very positive experience at the hotel. The area is quiet (due to location), the decor was charming, the rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff was exceptionally friendly. No elevator, but I didn't personally mind the stairs (and I was on the top floor). I suppose that might be an issue for some, unfortunately.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thistlehot, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments on your stay at the Thistle Hotel- we appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here and the décor and rooms were to your liking. We are also pleased that the staff were helpful.

Hoping to welcome you again in the near future,

Kind regards,

The Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The Thistle was well placed for my business meeting, but a little further from the town than I would have liked if not staying on business.
The reception/bar staff are great - so helpful and lovely even though they seem to cover a variety of job roles in one.
The bed was so comfortable and I normally struggle sleeping in any bed other than my own. The room was nice and spacious, with a great shower and a big TV.
If you are looking for a traditional, budget scottish hotel then this won't disappoint, but I personally prefer somewhere more modern. I felt that the walls/bar/rooms needed a touch of modernising and a fresh lick of paint.
The breakfast room was the nicest room I visited and the continental breakfast was huge! It's a shame they don't provide food in-house in the evening. They have to order out and by the time the delivery charge and the 'booking fee' is applied it works out very expensive.
I would absolutely stay here again if on business or on my own, but would stay somewhere else if going to Edinburgh for a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneyFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thistlehot, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to give feedback on your recent stay at the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel; we appreciate all comments and opinions. We’re very glad to learn you had a lovely time here.
The Hotel is located in the prestigious West End area of Edinburgh, only 800 meters from Princes Street.
The rooms were decorated earlier this year with new curtains, fresh paint and feature walls. As the building is a Georgian townhouse, we want to keep some of the original features. Your description of a “traditional, Scottish hotel” seems quite apt! We are very happy that you had a peaceful sleep and enjoyed our facilities.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to give us feedback and we hope to welcome you back to the Thistle Hotel soon.
Regards,
The Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We booked 2 rooms for 3 nights + breakfast and we were all really satisfied. The hotel is well situated, we could walk to our various destinations. The rooms were very nicely decorated and clean. The staff is nice and helful. The breakfast was good and in aboundance, nicely served at the table.
I would definitely stay there again if I were to visit Edinbourgh again. I can only recommand it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissPouick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thistlehot, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your time and feedback on your recent stay at the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and that the Thistle staff were of assistance to you and your party. We are also pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast- it’s the most important meal of the day!

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Regards,
The Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is a good hotel for visiting Edinburgh as it is two minutes walk from Princes street.This is our third visit to this hotel we use it when we are in town for a show at the Edinburgh Playhouse as it is only a three minute walk.The rooms are very comfortable having everything you would expect from a Thistle hotel and as we were only b/b the breakfast was up to standard with a good choice of british or continental,the bar was a good standard but as we were the only couple in it,it lacked a bit of atmosphere,but I would recommend it for a short stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giudici206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thistlehot, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your time and feedback on your recent stay at the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel. We’re very happy to hear you had a lovely time!

The location of this hotel is indeed very convenient for visiting a variety of places in the city, and we are glad that this was a benefit for you- Edinburgh is too brilliant a city to miss out on! We are also very pleased that you enjoyed our range of breakfast choice- our traditional Scottish breakfasts are not to be missed!
Looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
The Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed for my daughter's wedding and for a few days after to explore Edinburgh. It is a super location near some main attractions - Modern Art Museum and the Botanical gardens after a good walk. The hotel was clean, well-decorated and welcoming. The staff, both desk and breakfast, was excellent and incredibly helpful with all our enquiries. It will be our first choice on our return to Edinburgh.

Room Tip: If you are older you should request a lower floor room as there is no lift. The staff did however of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bev B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thistlehot, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your time and comments on your recent stay at the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel.

Glad to know you enjoyed your stay and the thistle staff were of assistance during your stay.

Thank you for making us your first choice on your return trip to Edinburgh.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards
Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Spent a fantastic 3 days in this beautiful city centre with a friend celebrating 2 "BIG" birthdays!. The Thistle is a lovely small hotel set in the West End of Edinburgh. Far enough away from the noise/bustle of the city centre but not too far to be able to walk to all the major attractions. Annick (the owner) was very friendly and helpful and always prepared to have a little chat with any of her guests - she also willingly provided maps, suggestions of palces to visit and travel information. Having lived in the city for many years she obviously has alot of local knowledge! The room (22) was very spacious with 2 double beds and was on the 1st floor next to the breakfast room. Continental breakfast was included in the room charge and included tea/coffee, fruit juice, cereal, fruit salad, yoghurt, toast, croissant - perfectly adequate to start off a day of sightseeing! The staff were very friendly and attentive and always greeted you with a smile. There was even a bar to have a drink and relax at the end of a busy day! Edinburgh is a wonderful city and this hotel is a perfect place to stay whilst you're there!

Room Tip: 22 was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarrisTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thistlehot, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time and feedback on your recent stay at the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel. Glad to learn you had a lovely time in this small hotel.

Rightly said we are not far away from the major tourist attractions and the city centre still located in a quiet residential area.

Annick does her best to make sure all her guests have the best experience when in Edinburgh, and makes them feel at home.

Glad to know the hotel, breakfast and the Thistle staff met your expectations. We will be happy to welcome you in the near future.

Kind regards
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#80 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,232 reviews
West End
Grosvenor Gardens Hotel
Grosvenor Gardens Hotel
#126 of 151 in Edinburgh
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
#88 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,153 reviews
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#94 of 151 in Edinburgh
883 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Regent House Hotel
Regent House Hotel
#129 of 151 in Edinburgh
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Thistle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Thistle Hotel

Address: 59 Manor Place, Edinburgh EH3 7EG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $84 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh Thistle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edinburgh Thistle Hotel is located in the prestigious, quiet and residential west end area of Edinburgh New Town.The hotel is central and near to Edinburgh Castle, the Edinburgh International Conference Centre (EICC) and of course the renowned Princes Street with its vast array of stylish shops and stores. Established in 1924, the hotel has retained most of its original period features, having once been a Georgian Town House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edinburgh Thistle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Edinburgh
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing