We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful house, great breakfasts, friendly hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Strathallan Guest House
Ranked #60 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fife Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful house, great breakfasts, friendly hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2010

We only stayed overnight but have to say room was comfortable and clean, up Sunday morning and was greeted by the owners who were very friendly and couldn;t do enough for you, very good value for money for the room and the breakfast which was very filling
Would stay there again if staying in Edinburgh

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curlywhirl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    83
    28
    8
    0
See reviews for
51
83
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Haven, CT
Level Contributor
123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2010

We found a note on the door and since we did not have a cell phone, we had to find somewhere to call from. The phone on the corner was broken so we had to go to a pub and borrow a phone. After that, the room was large, bright and clean, so was the bathroom. It was quiet. A bit far from the royal mile but very close to our favorite restaurnt Hewat's. All in all, a good bargin. Mass transit easy to find and the cab service was not over priced.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimibev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlelorna13
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2010

Stayed at the guest house for a few days as visiting the sights in Edinburgh. Found the service very friendly, the breakfasts were very tasty and service was lovely. Our room had an ensuite and the rooms were serviced every day so it was always clean and tiday. The owner was kind enough to give us some bus fare to Princess Street on our last day as we didn't have any change. I would definitiely recommned The Strathallan Guest House to anyone visiting Edinburgh.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlelorna13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2010

It is a traditional house with large windows and high ceilings. Clean rooms and great service. The landlord is very friendly and helpful.The breakfast was great, also vegetarian options available.
The house is located close to the city cente (walking distance).

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zuzana_sandorova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2009

I wasn't put off staying here after reading previous reviews and have to say really enjoyed my stay, was pleasantly surprised by the building and its history, size of rooms, cleanliness, breakfast, willing to please hosts and was thoroughly dissapointed not to find a pair of pants in the corner of my room!

C'mon folks, you get what you pay for. Here I got more: £35 per night for a single room, I ended up with a double with a dormer window afording a splendid roof-top view of Newington. The bed was very comfortable with clean sheets and the en-suite was immaculate.

OK, so the carpets were a little jaded and the kettle hadn't been used on account of dust on the lid but this place did what it said on the tin and the host explained that the place was in line for a refurb.

Finally, off-street parking is a must in Edinburgh (esp if you have new car syndrome like I did) which Strathallan provided and the host allowed me to park during the next day.

If i'm ever back in this part of Edinburgh, I will definately consider staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Djembe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2008

I largely had a very pleasant stay for a night in this guest house. I was greeted by someone who turned out not to be the owner. He showed me straight to my bedroom, which was small, but had everything I needed. The guest house advertised that it had free wireless access, so I went back down to ask how to get onto this (there being no instructions in my room). The person I spoke to didn't know, but said I could ask the owner when he came back later. I didn't want to keep going out to check whether he had returned, so didn't get on the web in the end.

I had a very good night's sleep in a very comfy bed - all sheets clean etc etc, and the area seemed quite quiet (I was out the back, rather than on the main road). I had a shower when I got up in the morning. This was bizarre. While the room was clean, the shower base had quite a lot of hair in it. Moreover, the shower and shower fitting was lying in a pile in the base. Before having my shower, I had to build it!!! This took 5 minutes. But it wasn't exactly difficult - I did wonder why this hadn't been done before letting me go into the room!

I met the owner at breakfast and he was extremely friendly and cooked a great full breakfast. I'd consider going back there again, but would make more of an issue of the cleanliness etc if it was a problem another time.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2008

The room was very clean, quiet and with en suite bathroom. house holder were friendly and helpful. very good breakfast, buffet for continental and coocked scottish . five minutes walk to Festival Theatre, 15 to Royal Mile. Bus stops just in front of B&B.
realy Worth for price

  • Liked — cleaness, quiet, closness to city centre
  • Disliked — ?
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RicItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Classic Guest House
#68 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Dene Guest House
#20 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Sherwood Guest House
#32 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Sixteen
#91 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Auld Reekie Guest House
#51 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
New Town
The Edinburgh Townhouse
The Edinburgh Townhouse
#40 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathallan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathallan Guest House

Property: Strathallan Guest House
Address: 44 Minto Street, Edinburgh EH9 2BR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Strathallan Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Strathallan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathallan Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing