We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's all about the burgers” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Southern

The Southern
Ranked #435 of 2,437 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It's all about the burgers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

I've only been there twice so far, but the burgers are very nice! I love that the burgers are not the same as everywhere else. They also serve big portions so no one is gonna leave hungry. I recommend it :-)

Helpful?
Thank Klaas500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    73
    15
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
GLASGOW
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere, lovely food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have now visited this place a few times and I have really enjoyed it each time. The staff are very friendly, the food tasty and very reasonable and the atmosphere is just great.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
93 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice, but doesn't shine when compared with the Holyrood 9A”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

I'm already a firm fan of the Holyrood 9A and their burgers, so thought The Southern, as part of the chain, would be a safe bet. The menu is the same, however I just found everything to be a poorer version of the 9A. Most notable was a distinct lack of generosity compared with the 9A; smaller serving of chips; a stingy amount of guacamole in the burger; a rather watery coleslaw. The service was still friendly, however I won't be returning when I know there is better fare elsewhere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SWtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best burgers in Edinburgh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

I recently went on a hunt for the best burgers in Edinburgh, and The Southern is my winner. Delicious, well cooked burgers, with interesting topping combinations. Every element of the burger works, and I've never had a bad one. On top of that, this is a great beer drinkers bar, with a rotating selection of interesting beers to choose from. The atmosphere and style makes this a nice place to hang out.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MartinSpoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
170 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, nice food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Came here on a very cold snow-ridden night when I was staying near by and didn't have the stamina to walk all the way into the city centre.
It is a modern but characterful decor with really nice (also attractive) staff :)
The meals are served in a novel, rustic way, and were really enjoyable.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Southern also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Southern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing