We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delight!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
AmarAgua Guest House
Ranked #42 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newtownards
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A delight!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Situated in Kilmaurs Terrace just off the Dalkeith road, the Amar Agua does not look that impressive from the outside, set in a row of block built terrace houses. However the experience begins inside. The freindly welcome from Dawn makes you. feel at ease right away. The look and feel of the main hallway exudes class and attention to detail. We stayed as a party of 7 adults occupying 4 rooms (one was a triple consisting of a double with a spearate single) over for the Tattoo week-end.
All rooms were tastefully decorated,clean and welcoming. Good firm bed in the room my wife an I occupied with an appropriate tartan decor. The bathroom though compact was clean and airy, with complimentary soaps, moisturiser and shower gel, quality towelling for hand and shower and spotless. The plastic washhand basin was a bit disappointing given the quality of the other fittings, however you only use it when your washing so I can overlook this.The room had a TV, tea, coffee (real cafeterie coffee) and muffins on arrival, these were topped up daily. The room was cleaned every day and beds made up.
Each of us were given our own key and this was useful especially when coming back late from Edinburgh ( a 20 min stroll away).

The breakfasts were fantastic, good choice of cereals and cooked breakfast menu to suit all tastes, beautifully presented and served with a smile by the very personable co-owner Tony. every day you were give a copy of the menu to pre-order for the next morning, although changes were possible, this lead to a very efficient breakfast regime. Every plate of food was given the same treatment and would not be out of place in top hotel. The place was fully occupied following our arrival and the max number of guests at any one time is around 11.
My only issue was the lack of a residents lounge, although the did have a reading spot with a library of books on the 1st floor landing.

Amar Agua has a very high rating from a number of agencies and rightly so, therefore you pay a premium price for your stay. Based on the service, the food and the general care and attention given to the guest it is good value for money.

Would I recommend it? If you want a respite from the city, friendly helpful hosts and a welcoming rooom to lay your head after a day walking the citys. Yes.

(If you get tired walking a taxi to Waverley Bridge and back is about £16)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greekirelander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmarAgua10, Owner at AmarAgua Guest House, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. Unfortunately the dimensions of our house do not allow us to accommodate a guest lounge, but we do try to do our best with the limited space we have.
We are a nice distance from the tourist centre with great public transport links by taxi and also various buses, which are very good value at £3:50 for an all day, unlimited ticket.
Looking forward to seeing you and the rest of the family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    23
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
54
236
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a B&B away from the bustle of the city center, but an easy 10 minute bus ride to the action. It is quiet, the rooms are very romantic, and the breakfasts are great. A little road noise from Dalkin Road for rooms on the front of the house.

I would return again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmarAgua10, Owner at AmarAgua Guest House, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for your review it is very much appreciated. Our Double glazed windows manage to isolate the little traffic noise that may occur on the nearby road , however we have had some very warm nights (unusual for Scotland) where the windows may be left open and it is inevitable to hear a little traffic noise as the city awakens in the mornings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheringham
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Just returned from three nights at the fringe staying with Tony and Dawn Ann at the wonderful AmarAgua guest house. Why anyone would stay anywhere else in Edinburgh is beyond me! My sister in law and I chose the triple option - she had the double and I the single on the second floor. Everything you require was provided with good humour and good grace. I asked for ice and was immediately given an ice bucket full. The beds were so comfortable that a good night's sleep was a dead cert but it was those little extras that made it so special - the delicious Scottish shortbreads replaced every day, the exquisite breakfast choices - from waffles piled with delicious summer fruits to the ultimate Scottish breakfast complete with haggis, all complemented by Tony's ever cheery banter.
We loved it so much that we are determined to return as soon as possible.

Room Tip: They are all ideal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gailSheringham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmarAgua10, Owner at AmarAgua Guest House, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you ever so much for your glorious review, it was very much appreciated. We do hope you had a great time in Edinburgh during the Festival period and that your overall experience was a memorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2013

What can we say but fantastic!! Along with my husband and our 2 adult sons we have just spent 5 nights with Tony & Dawn Ann and enjoyed every single minute of it. We had 3 rooms on the top floor. Every aspect of Amar Agua is exceptional. The guest rooms and the whole house are beautifully appointed with every detail perfect and of course fabulous breakfasts. Tony & Dawn Ann are wonderful hosts the loveliest people always available to assist from the time you arrive until the moment you leave. It is by far the best B&B we have ever experienced and I would say ever likely to. It would be impossible to beat....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kym L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmarAgua10, Owner at AmarAgua Guest House, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review us it is very much appreciated, we hope your visit to Scotland was a memorable one. Look forward to seeing you all again soon, maybe next year for the "Ryder Cup" ? :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I have to echo all of the excellent comments. Tony and Dawn-Ann are wonderful. Our room was great (one). We had a beautiful four poster bed. Well equipped tea/coffee and muffins which are replenished daily. The bathroom was fabulous. This was probably the cleanest B&B / hotel that we have stayed in.
Breakfast was great, the choices were great, I tried the porridge and eggs benedict and both were very delicious!
The location too far to walk into town but taxi and bus services are outstanding and very reasonably priced.
Absolutely loved staying here and will book again when we next visit edinburgh.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly-ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmarAgua10, Owner at AmarAgua Guest House, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to right this lovely review, it was really appreciated! :-)
Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aviano, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We loved the AmarAgua Guest House. My sister and I stayed for 4 nights in 2 separate rooms on the top floor with a shared bath in the hall. The rooms were great, the house is beautiful, the breakfast choices and food are as good as everyone has described, but Tony and Dawn Ann are the real deal for nicest people ever. I encountered some problems (nothing to do with them), and they were so helpful it was amazing. We generally took a taxi into the town center, because we wanted to. We actually had a private tour guide who picked us up a couple of days, so we didn't need lots of taxis. I don't think I'd particularly want to walk into town, but the bus is just at the end of the block. We ate at Salisbury Arms restaurant right up the street a couple of nights...good food and easy. You will be happy that you stayed here with this wonderful couple for many reasons. If you are a couple, the poster bed rooms are stunning! Book now!

Room Tip: Choose a four poster bed if you are a couple. So pretty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJinItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmarAgua10, Owner at AmarAgua Guest House, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review it is very much appreciated and we do hope you got your problem sorted out! We are lucky enough to be quite well located, not far from the busy centre, just a short bus ride and very inexpensive by taxi and for the "walkers" it is not too far and an enjoyable 25-30 minute walk, but most important is that you do not have to return to the city centre for dinner as we have so many GOOD restaurants within walking distance from the house.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

It has been said before, and it is true -- Tony and Dawn-Ann provide their guests at AmarAgua Guest House with a perfect B&B experience. The location of their home allows easy access to anywhere you want to go in Edinburgh, the bedrooms are spacious and elegantly appointed, the breakfast menu has more delicious options than most guests would have time to try (and overhearing comments from other guests, all are excellent), and last but certainly not least, Tony and Dawn-Ann are perfect hosts. Perfection!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmarAgua10, Owner at AmarAgua Guest House, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review it is very much appreciated! We look forward to seeing you again to finish tasting the rest of our menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
Ard-na-said
Ard-na-said
#14 of 392 in Edinburgh
337 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dunedin Guest House
Dunedin Guest House
#149 of 392 in Edinburgh
116 reviews
2.2 mi away
Fraoch House
Fraoch House
#9 of 392 in Edinburgh
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gifford House
Gifford House
#70 of 392 in Edinburgh
140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alba House
Alba House
#48 of 392 in Edinburgh
168 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#49 of 392 in Edinburgh
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmarAgua Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmarAgua Guest House

Property: AmarAgua Guest House
Address: 10 Kilmaurs Terrace, Edinburgh EH16 5DR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AmarAgua is a comfortable Victorian residence, situated in a quiet residential area, built in the 1880s but recently upgraded retaining many original features, it is the perfect location for those who want to relax away from the noise of the capital but at the same time stay not too far from the city centre and all main attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your AmarAgua Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaragua Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
AmarAgua Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing