We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Local favourite”

Nobles Cafe Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #145 of 2,449 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $38
Cuisines: British, Scottish, Contemporary, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A beautifully re-imagined Victorian space. Innovative food made using the pick of Scotland's larder. Local craft brews, cocktails & an extensive wine list. Food served until late.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Local favourite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

I love coming here for a drink in the evening, both with friends or the other half, and for brunch on weekends. The staff are always very friendly and the food top notch, they know how to make a good cappuccino too! Try the Eggs Benedict £5.95 (pictured) you won't regret it, unless you're ravenous - in which case try the full breakfast £8.95/7.95 (veggie version pictured)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Debsloveslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    94
    17
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Great food and service in a beautiful bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Called in here last Saturday night for dinner and found the place heaving. However after only about 10 minutes they found us a space in the bar and quickly took our orders.

The bar itself is beautifully decorated with lovely wood panneling and stained glass.

All three of us found the food to be excellent, although the undoubted highlight was the cullen skink which we all voted as the best we had ever had.

Together with generous portions and warm friendly service from our Aussie waitress I would not hesistate in recommending Nobles for a great night out.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank snowydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great menu, lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

I've been to Nobles twice now and I love it. It has a warm, inviting interior and the menu is really good and reasonably-priced, whether you're in for brunch, pub lunch or an evening meal. I recently had the vegeterian breakfast and it was amazing! The service is always friendly, and there are sofas arranged around a fireplace which I imagine would be lovely in the winter. A fantastic find.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BubblesnPearls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“cozy and classic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

great fish and chips served by a helpful and welcoming staff

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank 2architex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Poor service and one ladies loo”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

Pretty much said it above. Visited on a Friday night - difficult to get served at bar and charged a different amount for a round each time. Only one female toilet compared to six urinals and a toilet for the men. Can't comment on the food although I believe it's very good.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moraginedinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nobles Cafe Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Nobles Cafe Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing