We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Canadale Guest House
Nearby Hotels
$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$141
$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$179
$164
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$265
$178
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$324
$205
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$106
$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
$156
$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$168
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$654
$509
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (366)
Filter reviews
366 results
Traveler rating
197
103
31
17
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
197
103
31
17
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsporridgepilrig streetprivate bathroomtop floorbed and breakfastscottish breakfastexcellent staygood nights sleepcooked breakfastguesthousescotlandbusespubs
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 366 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2014

when we arrived and found we were on the top floor, it was pointed out that due to my back I would not be able to get up the stairs, with no fuss we accommodated onto a lower floor. The rooms were very comfortable, the breakfast was excellent. the staff were very friendly, nothing was too much bother. would definitely, use again

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank certacitoBlackburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Our company has used this delightful B&B for some years now. Staff from the UK and Europe have all gone through the doors and enjoyed every minute of their stay. Isabelle and Harry (the owners) put the guests at ease with their warm and welcoming ways. Their knowledge of Edinburgh is invaluable for visitors, from where to go, how to get there, if they dont know, they will find out for you. The rooms are certainly a home from home.

I have not reviewed before as I had not stayed, but I recently spent 2 nights at 'Craigmoss' and can definitely recommend it. It is well located and provides a great base to explore the city. Isabelle makes you feel most welcome and Harry serves a great selection of mouth watering breakfasts. Craigmoss is furnished to a high standard and my bed was extremely comfortable. Fresh milk and tea/coffee making facilities were also provided.

I would'nt hesitate to recommend Craigmoss to anyone for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanisSnedz s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed here over the New Year period and were very impressed by facilities and the warmth of the owners. From great breafasts, to daily cleaning and letting us in at 5am when we'd forgotten our key! By far one of the best B n B's I've stayed in. The bus stop is directly opposite which goes straight to town (although only a 20 minute walk) and just 2 minutes from shops and restaurants. Would recommend to anyone looking for a homely feel. We were 4 girls and stayed in the family room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marisol452014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Owners were very warm and welcoming, gave us lots of info in terms of how to get about and things to see. We were a group of 4 girls in Edinburgh for New Years and had the best time would definitely come back and i highly recommend staying at this B&B :)

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendyMakula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We had booked a family room for 4 people for two nights. The welcome was very cold and unfriendly, we were just given the keys to the room and house.No lifts and assistance for the luggage. The room was small and cold. The central heating was switched off most of the time and when requested for an additional heater we were just told that it will get warmer. The breakfast was below standard. I had a hair in my porridge and there was no apologies or anything and got it back with lots of syrup, not sure if it was changed . The room was below standard and for the price charged it would have been better to rent two rooms in budget hotel like IBIS. Our choice for this type of accommodation was to experience a British style hospitality and was disappointed. Overall poor hospitality and I would not recommend it as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 730Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigmoss, Owner at Canadale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

I am sorry these people say they did not enjoy their stay. What they failed to point out in their review is they cancelled the first night of a two night booking the evening they were due to arrive. When they came to pay their bill they were informed they would be charged for the night they cancelled. They became extremely unhappy about this. They had agreed to the terms and conditions of the booking and the cancellation was chargeable. We were very helpful and provided a letter for their insurance company. The other issues re the heating, we turned it up for them, we apologised for the hair in the porridge and they were given a large four bed family room so we are surprised they thought it small. They were a very nice family and we got on well with them so we were very surprised to read this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews