We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Canadale Guest House
Ranked #148 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2008

We stayed two nights in Craigmoss guest house (1-2 july 2008) and we really loved it.
Isabelle and Harry are very kind and friendly, they gave us a lot of information. They are really nice and caring.
The breakfast was really good and with everything you need: a real Scottish breakfast but you can also find jam, juices, milk and fruit; really fantastic.
We stayed in the room n° 3, the bathroom was in front of our room. It is a lovely little room, warm and well groomed, very clean.
It's about 20 minutes walk from Edinburgh centre, but there is a bus stop (line n°11) just in front of the guest house door. Every 10 minutes you can catch your bus and in few minutes you are in the heart of the town.
They prefer payment in cash.
Surely I would stay again in Craigmoss Guest House and I want to thank again Isabelle and Harry for their lovely welcoming.


Milena and Marco

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Chicchirullo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (360)
There are newer reviews for Canadale Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 360 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2008

Booked at Craigmoss following reviews on this site and was very glad we did.
Right from the first contact with the owners everything was handled superbly .
Arrived in Edinburgh Breakfast time and was met by Isabelle who took our luggage in whislt we took a walk into town.
The walk into town was only 15 minutes but we could of been lazy as there is a bus stop just outside that you take anywhere for a very reasonable cost .
When we got back to Craigmoss we were shown to our room which was on the top floor (Bedroom 1) .A lovely tidy room with onsuite facilities and nice touches as well. Nice and quiet with an amazing comfortable bed just right for a good nights sleep after a days sight seeing.
Breakfast menu is given to the night before so you can study the large list of choices. My wife had the famous porridge with fresh fruit on both days and I opted for the scottish breakfast ,both of which were superb.
Isobelle is very welcoming and was helpful with questions we put to her regarding olaces to visit especially where to eat .The local Italian Resturant is fantastic !
We went to Craigmoss for our Wedding Anniversary and was more than happy with our stay . Would go back tomorrow.
Anybody browsing the sites and looking for a superb Guest house in Edinburgh you can stop looking now , you will hard pushed to find one much better than this....

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank moiraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2008

I recently stayed at 76/1 MacDonald Road in Edinburgh, and I can't speak highly enough about the place! It suited our needs perfectly, as I suspect it will for ANYONE visiting "Auld Reekie".

The 2 bedroom flat itself is spacious and clean, with everything you could possibly need, in terms of kitchen appliances, entertainments, linens, etc. Two bathrooms, and the most delightful high pressure shower I've ever experienced!

Steps to Leith Walk, and public transit anywhere in the city, the location is perfect. A ten minute walk will take you to Princes Street, and all the associated attractions of the town.

The landlady, Isabelle, is a delightful and charming lady. She was friendly, helpful, and considerate, and even gave me some milk out of her own fridge, so we could have a cup of tea on arrival!

I was delighted with my stay at the MacDonald Road flat, and can't imagine staying anywhere else, during future visits to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RichDeathrisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2008

Me and my gfriend stayed for a couple of nights at Craigmoss. First night we spent on the second floor, in a really small room, with a window that provided almost zero noise and cold insulation. The water in the showerhad vey low pressure. Second night we spend in a much better room in the first floor, the only but big problem there is that the water in the shower is NOT hot, it fluctuates from very cold to very hot in 10-seconds cycles that give maximum of 1 second of okay water -not an enjoyable shower as you can imagine.

Also, note that there was NO free wireless internet in either of the rooms, i had to go to the groundfloor to connect and the worst was the owners' reaction when I mentioned them the problem, from indifference to annoyance, they were making up irrelevant excuses. Breakfast was also a joke, in the second day I asked for the eggs with smoked salmon; the "smoked salmon" part was 4 very thin fibers of salmon.

At a cost of 85 GBP per night, this place is definitely very bad value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BlueTsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2008

Had a lovely visit to The Craigmoss Guest House. Proprietors were wonderful they made us feel very at home and the cooking was superb! Great location for exploring Edinburgh, extremely comfortable. Would highly recommend this Guesthouse and the appartments that they also own are beautiful. DEFINATELY go back!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Shani0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2008

Travelled with two children under 5. Located on a street lined with B&Bs. Did not receive the warmest welcome. Felt like we were a bother, and arriving too late (we arrived early evening and gave notice of such). Travel cot was forgotten in our room but when asked where it was, provided straight away.

Pictures of rooms on website look much nicer than they actually are. Our room was comfortable enough however tight with 2 adults/2 children. Our room faced Pilgrig Street...a fairly busy street with quite a lot of car traffic. Bus stop right across the street which was convenient to get to city centre, but a little noisy at night. Walking to city centre was unrealistic especially with two children in tow.

Not a lot of restaurants in close proximity to have dinner when we arrived. Needed a reservation to eat inside the Italian restaurant nearby...had to sit on smokey patio and service was very unfriendly.

Doesn't feel like the safest neighborhood. Would not walk around at night.

Unfortunately, would not return for the breakfast!

Nice to know if travelling with kids: there is a little playground
just about a block away (going away from Leith Walk).

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank CathySpence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2008

We're so happy we came to Craigmoss. After eight days of budget hotels and kipping out on friends' foldout beds, we were hoping to indulge ourselves at this B&B - and it did not disappoint! Our room, one of the largest, was lovely - spacious, luxurious, and scrupulously clean. All the little things that make life easier when travelling were there - proper soap in the bathroom, lots of clean fresh towels, extra blankets, a hairdryer, fully stocked tray for tea, even a few biscuits to nibble on. There were movies to borrow for evenings when we wanted to stay in, breakfast was consistently delicious, and every room came with a folder prepared by the Taylors offering suggestions for local restaurants (much appreciated!) We'd definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank northernange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Abbotsford Guest House
#92 of 393 in Edinburgh
153 reviews
Arden Guest House
#188 of 393 in Edinburgh
122 reviews
New Town
The Edinburgh Townhouse
The Edinburgh Townhouse
#43 of 393 in Edinburgh
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Strathallan Guest House
#71 of 393 in Edinburgh
214 reviews
West End
Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO
Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO
#51 of 393 in Edinburgh
193 reviews
Garfield Guest House
#37 of 393 in Edinburgh
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadale Guest House

Address: 62 Pilrig Street, Edinburgh EH6 5AS, Scotland (Formerly Craigmoss Guest House)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $88 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Canadale Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Canadale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigmoss Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Canadale Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing