We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Heriot Hill apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canadale Guest House
Ranked #131 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved Heriot Hill apartment”
Reviewed October 2, 2007

My sister and I stayed at the Heriot Hill apartment for 2 nights. Isabelle was very helpful in making our stay comfortable and convenient. Both the bed and the sleeper sofa were very comfortable. The kitchen was great as well. The bathroom is small but the shower was wonderful! We walked everywhere from here or bus/taxis are readily available. Be sure to see the Royal Botanic Gardens which are very close by!

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank love2walk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    103
    29
    16
    18
See reviews for
73
162
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, England
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2007

We stayed for a long weekend at Craigmoss in September 2007. The guesthouse itself is situated in a good position to use as a base to see Edinburgh, with several bus routes into the city, and some good pubs and restaurants nearby. We were welcomed by a friendly staff who were happy to help and provided excellent information on things to see and places to eat. The room was clean and homely, with a private bathroom across the hall (clean dressing gowns were provided) and had a large window, comfortable bed, tv, hairdryer and kettle. Breakfasts were well cooked and presented, with a good range of choice including porridge and full cooked breakfast. All in all we had a superb time in Edinburgh, aided by a pleasant and friendly guesthouse, and will certainly be looking to return in the future.

  • Liked — Friendly service
  • Disliked — Slightly expensive
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank busby19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croatia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2007

My friend and I are from Croatia. That was our second visit to Scotland. We spent a week in Edinburgh in the second part of August and we were really enjoying every minute there. Not only because of Fringe and all other events during August, but also because of our hosts at the Craigmoss Guest House. The Craigmoss family has a beautiful home and they were very friendly and helpful. It's very nice to start a day with their breakfast and a little chat about events in Edinburgh. We like to walk a lot and the Guest House is located perfectly so we were able to reach all important “addresses” in Edinburgh by feet (luckily, we had very nice weather during our stay in Edinburgh). We would like to thank family Craigmoss once more for exquisite hosting. We will surely be back.

  • Liked — Nice and big room, excellent breakfast
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Fiuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2007

The Craigmoss was our base while in Edinburgh for several days. We found the accommodations clean and comfortable. The extra touches - hairdryer, hot water pot and tea in the room, iron and ironing board available - were much appreciated! The owners, Isabelle and Harry were welcoming and always helpful. The breakfast selections were varied and delicious - we had to try all of them during our stay! The location was convenient to the bus and may places were within walking distance.

The Troxler Family from the US

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank carolinagirl1321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed with Harry and Isobel over the August Bank Holiday weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was modern & clean and had everything we needed - ensuite shower room that was clean and well equipped, a massive, comfy bed, tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer etc.. Although the road outside our window was busy, we slept very well.. a little too well.. we missed breakfast curfew one morning, but Isobel kindly offered to rustle something up - and it was lovely to have the sunny breakfast room to ourselves with the papers and traditional Scottish music gently playing... There's lots to choose from for Breakfast, all of it very tasty - you can be as naughty or healthy as you wish! The B&B itself is traditional to the area, 3 storey, big rooms - some of the decor in the central areas probably needs a revamp, but you have remember that this is a working home, not the Ritz Carlton. The homely, friendly atmosphere whilst still giving guests their privacy couldn't be faulted. Local buses run frequently but the walk into town only takes 15 mins for the more energetic. We paid a premium for staying during the Festival/Tattoo weekend, but would happily recommend this to friends/family as a home from home. Thanks! Ally & Phil

  • Liked — The privacy and friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — The second staircase was a challenge...!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allycat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2007

Just spent a few days at craigmoss in edinburgh,booked through a recommendation from a friend. We had a fantastic time nice rooms,great service from Isobelle and Harry,we were there during the edinburgh festival and it was very busy, but we were treated as if they had all the time in the world......
thank you and we will be back...

  • Liked — everything...
  • Disliked — getting up!!!!!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank holidays14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2007

I arrived at the guesthouse expecting a quaint, clean and cozy environment. Instead, I was shocked to find that their website photos must have been photographed by a very talented photographer indeed. I felt decieved. To begin with,the location is sketchy, not a safe walk into town after dark for a lady alone. Also, I found the overall condition of the building, especially the carpeting to be poor at best. The rooms were furnished with decrepid furniture and my door would not shut because the wood was so warped and banged up. The bed linens also did not feel or smell clean. I know this house is for the budget minded, but i was very disapointed, and for the price ought to have chosen a hostel, for that at least would have felt clean and predictable. Breakfast was the only acceptable part of the stay.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank nonih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Abbotsford Guest House
#95 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Fraoch House
#9 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Ashgrovehouse Hotel
#130 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Balmoral Guesthouse
#102 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Millers 64
#81 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
New Town
Edinburgh Central Guest House
Edinburgh Central Guest House
#66 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadale Guest House

Property: Canadale Guest House
Address: 62 Pilrig Street, Edinburgh EH6 5AS, Scotland (Formerly Craigmoss Guest House)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Canadale Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Canadale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigmoss Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Canadale Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing