We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate Meals”

The Slug and Lettuce
Ranked #1,817 of 2,478 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Broughton & Calton
Description: The Slug and Lettuce is just right for combining with any event that's going on - located as we are at the top of Leith Walk in the Omni Leisure development centre, right next door to the Playhouse Theatre. At The Slug we pride ourselves on catering for all occasions - a place to relax and take things easy even if it's just for a coffee or you want a pre or post-theatre meal. Or maybe you'd like to meet up for drinks - or enjoy a proper night out on the town? Whatever you're looking for, we aim to exceed your expectations.
Rochester Hills
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Adequate Meals”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Although they offer some typical foods from the region and some other more popular items their prices were quite reasonable and the serve we had was pleasant.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank KN8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    139
    127
    113
    130
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Cocktail Masterclass, Lovely Food”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

myself and 13 friends took part in the cocktail masterclass on saturday, it was excellent. the bar man Julio was a good sport and we all had a brilliant time!
Firstly we made a strawberry Mojito, follwed by a gorgeous platter of food (way too much for 14 people), we then went on to make a Cosmopolitan, follwed by Jaeger Bombs! An excellent time was had by all and we all left slightly tipsy!! Definately worth the price!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Quite Average - Warning: kitchen closes 9pm”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Came for dinner after seeing a movie at the Omni centre. We pre-booked earlier that day for 8pm and on arrival we were greeted by the same waitress who took our booking and who remembered who we were.
The restaurant is split into 2 areas, the dining area which is quite tired looking, and the bar which was much more bustling and had a much better atmosphere.
They had an extensive drinks list and an even bigger food menu. We had the mushrooms to start which were lacking in flavour - the best part was the garlic mayonnaise! For mains I had the Chicken Souvlaki, and my partner had Italian-Style Chicken. For the price we paid, they weren't really value for money..
My chicken was presented on a skewer with pita bread and dips on the side. Take out the dips, and 3/4 of the plate was empty! Chicken was quite chewy, and honestly a little tasteless (again, thank goodness for mayo!). My partner's dish wasn't great either. It was very small and the 'white wine and garlic sauce' tasted more like watered down salad cream.
After finishing our mains, we decided to sit for a while before ordering desserts. The menu looked delicious so we wanted to enjoy our food. However, what we weren't told was that the kitchen closes at 9pm after we booked for 8pm!
Unfortunately I didn't fully enjoy my pudding as we had to eat it quickly otherwise it would have gone cold.
I assume the price you pay is for the location rather than the food because it was underwhelming and a fair disappointment.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 8anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Waste of money”
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

We went as a family of 3 adults and 2 children of 3 yrs and 2 yrs, after a long day we chose as a matter of convenience, adults ordered steak , chips with roasted tomato stuffed with watercress and we ordered sausage, mashed potatoes for the children. The waiter was very pleasant, but the meal was terrible, the mashed potatoes were instant powder potato substitute and the sausage must have been re - heated a number of times due to the toughness of them, I refused the children to eat, the steak was cheap and gnarly, the restaurant was far beyond 'tired' quite scruffy, wouldn't eat there or recommend at all, and all that for over £60! Yuk!

Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great for drinks!”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Often come here with the girls for after work drinks as they have a good promo on the fizz. Always a good crowd, takes a while to get served but after a few bottle, who notices?

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Slug and Lettuce also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Slug and Lettuce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing