We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and Service”

The Slug and Lettuce
Ranked #1,835 of 2,505 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Broughton & Calton
Description: The Slug and Lettuce is just right for combining with any event that's going on - located as we are at the top of Leith Walk in the Omni Leisure development centre, right next door to the Playhouse Theatre. At The Slug we pride ourselves on catering for all occasions - a place to relax and take things easy even if it's just for a coffee or you want a pre or post-theatre meal. Or maybe you'd like to meet up for drinks - or enjoy a proper night out on the town? Whatever you're looking for, we aim to exceed your expectations.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food and Service”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Great food and Service, the waiter was amazing and very informative he brought all drinks to our table, would defo return.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    140
    128
    116
    133
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Kids Policy - Beware!!!!”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We went on a busy saturday for lunch. Seated quite quickly table of 4 only had 3 chairs however ordered drinks while pondering the menu. Nothing really stood out however we opted for steaks when eventually someone came to take our order. My daughter couldnt see anything she fancied so we asked for a kids menu but it stated was for kids up to the age of 8. She opted for a bowl of chips with garlic mayo. We were then told very rudely that we couldnt eat unless we all purchased a main meal!! Nothing stating this on the menu so we left. Upon settling the drinks bill we asked why werent there signs? to be told there are 2 one on either side of the windows?? Sorry but I dont look through windows I look at a menu and decide if we want to eat there and nothing stipulated on the menu either! We did have a look when we left and couldnt find anything. Waiter was rude and so what I presumed to be the manager. Avoid at all costs there is other places to eat in the Omni centre......

  • Visited May 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“playhouse and lunch”
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

I often visit Edinburgh and end up eating in the same old places seeing as the rest are poor food and terrible prices so after recomendation from my friend i decided to try slug and lettuce.
It was Wednesday lunch time so we didnt expect it to be busy however there was a matinee show on at the playhouse so it was rather busy.
We were seates imediatley and the waitress was very poliete.
Choosing not to have a starter my mum and i ordered the chicken burger which was served very quickly, and the portion size was great.
After we choose to relax for sometime before having dessert, i had the cheesecake it was amazing, my mum had lemon tart which looked to die for.

Overall the atmosphere was amazing, service was efficient and cheery and overall a good price. Id highly reccomend a visit next time your in Edinburgh

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kizzy199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Brilliant place to eat and drink”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I have visited the Slug and Lettuce in the Omni Centre on many occasions. We dined there on a busy Saturday night prior to a visit to the theatre. The waitress was pleasant, informative and very friendly. The food was brilliant and well priced. Drinks were good and the cocktail selection was excellent especially as they were on offer at half price whilst we were there. I would recommend this place to anyone for a tasty, reasonably priced lunch or evening meal or to meet friends for a drink. Excellent!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“holiday 2013”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

all staff very polite & courteous food very good plenty to eat & at a very fair price a very clean establishment

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Slug and Lettuce also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Slug and Lettuce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing