We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Chester Residence
Ranked #1 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2009

Never have I been more positively surprised by a hotel room on arrival. Huge apartment style suites await with fabulous decor and great service if required. We had room 7/3 which had dining for up to 6 people, 2 sofa lounge with fireplace, Kitchen bathroom and bedroom. Do not hesitate booking - rooms are as good as reviews suggest.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RokaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,854)
There are newer reviews for The Chester Residence
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,696 - 1,702 of 1,854 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2009

Just returned from Chester Residence after reading the great reviews on this site. We stayed 3 nights with a toddler and if only all hotels could be like this. We felt instantly relaxed and at home, well, a better version of home! Beautifully designed, all the very best gadgets and equipment and very cosy on a cold November weekend. For anyone with small children this really is the best type of accommodation - our little boy raced around with his toy cars loving the space, and we could relax in the living room watching DVDs while he slept in the evening.
Only very minor negative points would be that the location is about a 15/20 minute walk from the main street but a pleasant walk through a nice neighbourhood. Staff were friendly but we found better eating and child friendly entertainment than their recommendations through our own research.
But I can only highly recommend Chester Residence..

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonMandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2009

The only problem with the Chester Residence? That our stay was only two nights. This is, for us, the new gold standard of hotels. Modern, clean, roomy; it was like having our own flat in the city. Staff was beyond helpful, and with the possible exception of the parking situation (and even that was alleviated by our being there on the weekend), there is absolutely no aspect of the Chester Residence that could be improved. After a hellish drive from Stratford on the M6, arriving here was a larmic reward. I couldn't ask for a better hotel experience.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsikula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2009

Super posh design, everything is brand new, shiny and of good quality. Good taste. Located in an up-scale neighborhood. Very spacious living room and fully equipped kitchen. Great beds and outstanding media installations (huge flatscreen, surround sound in all rooms). All in all, pure luxury at VERY reasonable prices. Loved it!!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cb1077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

I've stayed at the Chester Residence on a number of occasions over the past few weeks - and its absolutely exceptional. Enormous rooms on the ground floor, wonderful penthouse with great views. Bathroom had underfloor heating and a plasma screen in front of the bath, lounge had enormous HD TV, iPod loaded with music, stocked fridge with fresh produce, exceptional standard of interiors. A sensational selection of apartments - if you can afford the extra £50 or so - step up to REAL luxury!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brummingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2009

We stayed here for our anniversary weekend for two nights and were very impressed. The suite was beautifully laid out, facilities were wonderful and staff excellent. We chose it because it was rated number 1 on this site and booked through laterooms.com where we got a much better price than their own site. Much better than a hotel.

If I'm being picky the location is not quite ideal because it's a 10 minute walk to Princes Street but a taxi is only £5. We ate at the Rutland Hotel (excellent, but be careful if you have a nut allergy as they don't alert you on the menu about which dishes contain nuts - very strange these days) and at The Dome (also excellent and a much livelier atmosphere).

Edinburgh itself was lovely - such a shame that Princes Street is being ruined by the tram works (the taxi drivers never stop telling you how stupid these are and that nobody wants trams, but then they would, wouldn't they?). Castle lovely too but a bit of a rip-off at £15 each, especially when it shuts at 5pm and we didn't get there till 3.30 (no discount, so get there earlier!) Royal Mile pleasant - avoid St Giles Cafe though - unbelievable prices and appalling service, and plenty of other places to go.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgncfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2009

We booked a two bedroom apartment for an overnight stay as we were traveling on the Royal scotsman the next day and this hotel seemed to have the best reviews for Edinburgh. On arrival we were able to park the car outside accross the street on a meter overnight which was good. We had to climb the stair as there is no lift but didn't mind at all. We were rewarded when we got into the apartment, it was lovely! All modern and contemporary. Well equiped kitchen and updated appliances. Bedrooms were comfortable and bathroom clean with very hot water, (mind the shower).The price was reasonable and you get a lot for your money. The only negative which was NOT the fault of the hotel was some fellow guest below us was smoking constantly through the night (HELLO! The hotel is a smoke free enviroment! ) and as our window was open it filltered into our room. So keep your window closed. The Chester rez is great though and we will definitely stay there again next time we go to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiveofninewales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,850 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
980 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 150 in Edinburgh
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,384 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,862 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Residence

Address: 6 - 9 Rothesay Place, Edinburgh EH3 7SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#2 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $197 - $464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chester Residence is a collection of 5 Georgian townhouses set in the stunning West End of Edinburgh. These chic 5 star (Scottish Tourist Board rated) designer suites blend seamlessly with attention to detail and a level of personalized service that ensures guests enjoy the highest standards, synonymous with The Chester Residence. Each suite is an oasis of tranquility, offering spacious, individually designed suites with all the benefits of a luxury hotel. The latest in room technology is provided including, Sky TV, Blu-ray DVD player. As our beautiful townhouses are listed, there is no elevator in them, but our Concierge will be happy to help with your luggage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chester Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Chester Residence Edinburgh
Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
The Chester Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing