We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Outstanding Place in Edinburgh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chester Residence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chester Residence
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
“Outstanding Place in Edinburgh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We booked the Chester Residence for a romantic weekend in May. The place is stunning in every aspect. Great team with excellent service and the apartments are of the highest standards. Would definitely recommend to stay at Chester Residenece if planning a trip to Edinburgh.

Wer eine wirklich authentische Residenz für einen Trip nach Edinburgh sucht, sollte auf jeden Fall einige Nächte hier in einer der sehr exklusiv und geschmackvoll gestalteten Wohnungen einplanen.

Room Tip: We loved the slight qwerkiness of apartment No 3 in the original Chester Street building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjorn2354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,482
    112
    17
    8
    5
See reviews for
302
907
29
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

There is no doubt that the Chester Residence must be one of the best paces to stay in any city, not just Edinburgh. As two couples (one of which was my parents) we were looking for something that allowed us some space and time to catch up and the 2 bedroom apartment fulfilled that brief and more. It was wonderfully well appointed and had all the facilities we needed. If you plan on cooking you will need to take all the ingredients with you down to the salt and pepper as none of this is supplied but there is tea and coffee and all the utensils and cookware you'd require.
We were able to set up our own home-from-home for the period of our stay but better than home as if you needed anything, like a taxi being ordered, the excellent staff on the front desk were there to sort everything out for you.
A great view and the easy location for all the main parts of the city topped it off. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: 7/2 was great. The upper floors have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rupert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Had a two night wonderful stay at the Chester Apartments and would definitely consider staying again. Cosily situated in the leafy West End area amongst small offices and residential apartments it really is a classy way to stay in Edinburgh.

I gave it 4/5 as there were a few snagging issues with the flat including a soap rack hanging off the wall. It was also quite noisy if the other apartments have their TV on. Finally, providing a small bottle of water complimentary is nice but to not replace it for the second night is a little mean when the room is about £200 per night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mappyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights and couldn't fault the service. We had the deluxe apartment and every room was clean, spacious and had all the mod cons you require for a city break. If you want something extra then go for the hotel packages, well worth the extra dosh and can be tailored to your coming and goings which we took advantage of. Would definately stay here again next time in the city.

One slight negative although not chesters fault but I got two parking tickets for my car even though I had paid for parking. The Ringo parking app sometimes didn't work and literally the 20 min that my ticket expired I got a ticket and also first thing in the morning when we were leaving. The wardens are like piranhas in that area so keep an eye on it!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Stunning apartment in a perfect location only overshadowed by the service which is both friendly and professional. Would recommend to anyone wanting luxury. So much space and meticulously kept to the highest standards.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

My partner and I booked an apartment at The Chester Residence for a short break in Edinburgh and were over the moon when we arrived. The apartments are within beautiful West End Townhouses and only a short walk from the city centre. We were given a free upgrade to the Owners's Residence - it was incredible - massive Jacuzzi, cinema room, lovely garden, Armani bed linen, everything about it was luxurious and to a very high standard. The staff were also very lovely and so helpful, made us feel right at home, first rate service. Would love to stay again, I really cannot praise The Chester Residence highly enough. We did not want to leave.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here in May 2014 and was nothing but impressed. From the moment we arrived and were greeted on the street, to the moment we left we were treated so well by all the staff. They referred to us by name at all times and their attention to detail is amazing!

We stayed on Chester Street and the apartments there are superb. Decorated to a very high standard and the furnishings are very tasteful. The bed was very comfortable and the apartment was not missing a single thing.

Truly wonderful stay. If you are going to Edinburgh then there is simply nowhere else to consider staying.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 3,126 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 578 reviews
Prestonfield
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#20 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 2,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Residence

Property: The Chester Residence
Address: 6 - 9 Rothesay Place, Edinburgh EH3 7SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#2 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chester Residence is a collection of 5 Georgian townhouses set in the stunning west end of Edinburgh. These chic 5 star (Scottish Tourist Board rated) designer suites blend seamlessly with attention to detail and a level of personalized service that ensures guests enjoy the highest standards, synonymous with The Chester Residence. Each suite is an oasis of tranquility, offering spacious, individually designed suites with all the benefits of a luxury hotel. The latest in room technology is provided including, direct-dial telephone, voice mail, wide-screen multi-channel TV, DVD, CD player and iPod docking stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Chester Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Chester Residence Edinburgh
Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
The Chester Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing