We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chester Residence
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2014

If you're looking for a luxurious, beautifully equipped apartment in Edinburgh, look no further. The Chester Residence is located a couple of blocks from Princes Street in the middle of Edinburgh so you're close enough to walk anywhere, including Edinburgh Castle and the Royal Mile, while still being in a quiet location. The apartment was equipped with everything you'd need in a home away from home and is a destination in itself. The staff were all extremely professional and helpful with anything and everything, from meeting us at the airport to suggesting a spot for a Scottish breakfast. You won't regret your choice and we are already planning a return trip ourselves!

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor and as it's an historical building which cannot be altered, there i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank texoztai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,866)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

876 - 882 of 1,866 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is apartment residences. Nicely decorated - staff is pleasant however, if you are planning on paying ~$500 per night USD and the place is marketed as high end then you should be just that. When we arrived:

Electrical did not work in the bedroom or the kitchen. The breaker kept tripping - going out for the first three days at the apartment.

Our heat did not work properly - it was cold in Scotland and in our apartment - this could not be fixed - we left the fireplace on and spent most of our day in the living room.

No dining at the residences - they have a bar but that is all - when you stay at a high end hotel etc, you expect the finest in service - it just isn't that at this place - it is just average.

We had the staff book two reservations at restaurants - the first was never booked the second was booked at the wrong restaurant - they arranged transportation and the reservation - transportation got us there but reservation was not in their books. It was new years so this was difficult finding a space to eat dinner.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 4 - in bldg 7 - nice 1 bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank quantamboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We were staying in London over Christmas. We really wanted to get to Edinburgh. Because of the train service and other logistical issues, we could only stay one night (the 22nd). We took an early morning train from Kings Cross. The train ride is just north of 4 hours, but it went really fast. We booked first class seats and it was fine. My wife and 20 and 16 year old sons were with us. Nice family time. Got to Edinburgh and it was cold. The Chester Residence is about a 25 minute walk from the train station, but we went right past the Christmas Village, which was great. The Chester Residence is everything everyone said it was. We checked into a 2 bedroom apartment (it was on lower level). It was huge and very modern. It had everything you would need for a longer stay (fully equipped kitchen, living area, 3 bathrooms, 4 TVs, a patio with grill, etc). It was incredibly clean. It was ready on our arrival. Traveling with two big boys, I ordered some food which was in the refrigerator when we arrived (cost about 40 pounds for food and drinks, beer, wine). They have a really cute bar area where you check in and a great bar tender that serves drinks until late. But, the service was great. Only downside is that it is a little off the beaten path. It is near High street where there are lots of restaurants and it would not have been a big deal if we had been staying longer. Only other negative was that the maid's area was right outside our room, so it was a little noisy early. But, seriously, I had to look really hard to find anything wrong with this place. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We spent one night at number 6 as a special occasion break before I go away in February with work.

From the moment we arrived, the staff were very professional and welcoming. All dressed immaculately, particularly the member of staff in a kilt... Great traditional touch! We were offered complimentary canapés and cocktails on our late arrival, unfortunately we did not take this up but again a fantastic touch.

Number 6 apartment itself... What can I say about this place other than spectacular. The attention to detail was unbelievable! The cinema room, hot tub and just general layout was superb.

The Chester Residence also went to an extra special effort for our special occasion and set the bedroom out beautifully (particularly loved the night feature projector) this was again just another example of the genuine care for their guests.

The breakfast was so so fresh, a mix of continental and traditional as I requested. High quality produce set out beautifully.

From my initial booking, email correspondence to make this a special day, the Chester Residence cannot be faulted.

I would recommend this place to anyone, you get exactly what you pay for and more.

Thank you so much Chester Residence.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Siobhan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed in Edinburgh on a "bring the daughter to uni" trip. We booked a 2 bedroom apartment. We loved this place right away and immediatly regretted only staying one night. The layout of the flat was fabulous, kitchens and bathrooms were high spec and amentities were lux. The staff was amazing. they met us at our car in a torrential rain storm with umbrellas and strong backs to haul our going-to-uni luggage all the way to our room via the stairs. We popped into the bar before dinner and were entertained by the bar gent and his friend who offered advice on where to go for dinner. We followed their advice and had an outstanding meal at a small restaurant nearby. Can't wait to return. We'll stay longer this time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank APassportAffair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is the second time i have stayed at the chester residence. Once in the owners residence which was amazing with a large jacquzzi tub and a cinema room which was perfect for my boyfriends birthday night away! I have just returned from a night in the 'grand' apartment and this was equally as amazing! It met all my expectations and more, we werent originally booked for this apartment we got a free upgrade so had full sky channels, the staff couldnt have been more helpful and i will definately be returning here in the future!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed at the Chester Residence in September 2013.

From the time we arrived we couldn`t have been happier to have selected the Chester residence for our stay in Scotland. The first 2 staff that received us (one a South African and the other half Scottish, half Australian) were both super friendly and helpful. At the reception again, the staff were super friendly and very professional.

The apartment was impeccable with great views of the Sunset in the afternoon! We almost didn`t want to go out but it was our first time in Scotland and you cannot stay inside all day in a place like Edinburgh!

After a long day of exploring gorgeous Edinburgh, we felt inspired so when we were back at night, we decided to go to the Chester Residence reception and get a DVD of Brave Heart... we could not get the DVD player to work but nothing was was too hard for the friendly staff of the Chester Residence. They did not give up until they got our DVD working and we even got extra local travel tips from them : )

Our experience couldn`t have been better to the point that we really wished we had stayed for longer. It was sad to leave but we hope to be back some day!

Stunning place, excellence in customer service, best place in Scotland for sure!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debora B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,878 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,003 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,398 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,884 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Residence

Address: 6 - 9 Rothesay Place, Edinburgh EH3 7SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#2 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $195 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chester Residence is a collection of 5 Georgian townhouses set in the stunning West End of Edinburgh. These chic 5 star (Scottish Tourist Board rated) designer suites blend seamlessly with attention to detail and a level of personalized service that ensures guests enjoy the highest standards, synonymous with The Chester Residence. Each suite is an oasis of tranquility, offering spacious, individually designed suites with all the benefits of a luxury hotel. The latest in room technology is provided including, Sky TV, Blu-ray DVD player. As our beautiful townhouses are listed, there is no elevator in them, but our Concierge will be happy to help with your luggage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chester Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Chester Residence Edinburgh
Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
The Chester Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing