We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing! Couldn't have asked for anything more!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Chester Residence
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

My partner took me to Edinburgh for a weekend away, and we stayed in the Mews Apartment. We were greeted by a lovely guy, who took all our luggage off us. The man on the front desk was very pleasant, and showed us to our apartment and gave us a tour. Another gentleman appeared with two glasses of champagne, which was lovely! The apartment was beautiful, it was a basement type layout with a private garden. It had an open layout kitchen and lounge, two bedrooms with en suite bathrooms and a separate bathroom as well. The fridge was stocked with water and milk, and we also had a nespresso coffee machine with lots of different flavours of coffee. There was a television in every room, it was so nice to watch television in the bath, whilst drinking champagne! We arrived on a saturday afternoon, and thought we may struggle to get dinner reservations, but the hotel staff sorted it out for us, and got us a table at Kyloe- a steak restaurant. It was amazing, the best restaurant I have ever eaten in! Before we left for our dinner, we were brought more champagne and a selection of bath products, and the guy even offered to run a bath for us! We were also brought some delicious canapes and a bottle of rose wine. When we came back from our meal, the apartment was in darkness, lit only by candle light, with rose petals leading a trail to the bedroom. The bedroom had been all set up nicely, with a heart made out of tealights and classical music playing on the radio. It was so beautiful and well thought out. In the morning, we were brought a breakfast platter and even more champagne! It was delicious! We checked our early to explore the city centre. The overall stay was brilliant, staff were amazing and could not do enough. A big thank you to Jack and Ali (i think...) who were brilliant!

The apartments are beautiful, the bar is lovely, the location is perfect, staff are amazing and bend over backwards for their guests. There is even an extensive dvd library, which you can help yourselves to! The food was beautiful, and although it is pricey, it's worth it for a wonderful treat! The only downside is parking, but this is a reflection of the whole city, not just the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Turkeytimes09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,875)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

991 - 997 of 1,875 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed at The Chester Residence for three nights to kick off our week in Scotland. We were greeted by a friendly staff, and our bags were delivered to our fourth floor penthouse apartment. The apartment was decorated beautifully with modern decor, and provided plenty of space for us to spread out and enjoy. We knew when booking that there are no elevators and that it is quite a walk to the historic center of Edinburgh, but that may be a concern for older guests. We decided to walk everywhere, but a quick taxi ride could get you wherever you needed to go in a few minutes. We will definitely book again when back in Edinburgh!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RBD930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were not sure the property would live up to the reviews but it absolutely did! We stayed here for an anniversary trip and have nothing but positive things to say. The flat itself was impeccably appointed, clean and had every amenity - the bathroom was fantastic! We got the romance package and were not disappointed - everything in the package was delicious/ well executed - it really made our stay more romantic.

Room Tip: We had a penthouse flat on the fourth floor and it was a lot of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCDC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

My partner and stayed for 1 night, it was the best place I have ever stayed! The gentleman with the kilt was so professional and yet great fun! His cocktails were amazing :)
We will defiantly be returning very soon

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marieclarke80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

How do you top a visit to one of Europe's most beautiful cities? A stay at the Chester Residence might fit the bill perfectly. My last minute trip gave me the opportunity to discover these lovely, modern, restored luxury hotel-apartments. They offer huge amounts of space, unobtrusive but friendly and efficient service, and a quiet and central location that is walking distance to most of the sights and venues, especially during the Festival. The rooms are wonderfully decorated with lots of space to spread out. Definitely a splurge, but if you are looking for the best place to stay, it would be hard to top The Chester. Was so reluctant to check-out, so I hope to return very soon!

Room Tip: If you want full privacy, ask for rooms above the ground floor and that do not face the street. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lonelyplanetguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I booked these self-catering apartments to finish a week long holiday for my Grandmothers 70th off in style. I was extremely pleased with my suite; gorgeous double-headed roll top bath & huge walk-in shower, Bose sound system throughout & views of Edinburgh Castle....My Grandmothers ground-floor suite wasn't as luxurious in the bathroom stakes (no bath) but was still lovely. My only criticism was that for a ground floor apartment, there were a few stairs within the suite that didn't suit my Grandmother. The décor was to perhaps more masculine taste; lots of dark red/greys & broody artwork. Overall, I felt this would be perfect for people looking for extremely stylish, comfortable, smart & modern business-trip accommodation. I would go back if on business with my company or someone a little younger (e.g a partner).

Room Tip: Rooms in block 8 towards the top of the building can view Edinburg castle from the back, perfect if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MClo427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This hotel provided a breathtaking room with unbelievable luxury and service. The in-room PS3 wasn't playing the movies properly and the staff went to great lengths to sort it out. Would definitely recommend the grand apartments well furnished decor and high ceilings. A very peaceful hotel situated in a wonderful location. Would love to go back :)

Room Tip: The Grand apartments have massive amounts of space. They are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shieldsy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,036 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
656 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,418 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#17 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,916 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Residence

Address: 6 - 9 Rothesay Place, Edinburgh EH3 7SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#2 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $173 - $456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chester Residence is a collection of 5 Georgian townhouses set in the stunning West End of Edinburgh. These chic 5 star (Scottish Tourist Board rated) designer suites blend seamlessly with attention to detail and a level of personalized service that ensures guests enjoy the highest standards, synonymous with The Chester Residence. Each suite is an oasis of tranquility, offering spacious, individually designed suites with all the benefits of a luxury hotel. The latest in room technology is provided including, Sky TV, Blu-ray DVD player. As our beautiful townhouses are listed, there is no elevator in them, but our Concierge will be happy to help with your luggage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Chester Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Chester Residence Edinburgh
Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
The Chester Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing