We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Chester Residence
Ranked #1 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were not sure the property would live up to the reviews but it absolutely did! We stayed here for an anniversary trip and have nothing but positive things to say. The flat itself was impeccably appointed, clean and had every amenity - the bathroom was fantastic! We got the romance package and were not disappointed - everything in the package was delicious/ well executed - it really made our stay more romantic.

Room Tip: We had a penthouse flat on the fourth floor and it was a lot of stairs
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCDC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,855)
There are newer reviews for The Chester Residence
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

972 - 978 of 1,855 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

My partner and stayed for 1 night, it was the best place I have ever stayed! The gentleman with the kilt was so professional and yet great fun! His cocktails were amazing :)
We will defiantly be returning very soon

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marieclarke80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

How do you top a visit to one of Europe's most beautiful cities? A stay at the Chester Residence might fit the bill perfectly. My last minute trip gave me the opportunity to discover these lovely, modern, restored luxury hotel-apartments. They offer huge amounts of space, unobtrusive but friendly and efficient service, and a quiet and central location that is walking distance to most of the sights and venues, especially during the Festival. The rooms are wonderfully decorated with lots of space to spread out. Definitely a splurge, but if you are looking for the best place to stay, it would be hard to top The Chester. Was so reluctant to check-out, so I hope to return very soon!

Room Tip: If you want full privacy, ask for rooms above the ground floor and that do not face the street. The...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lonelyplanetguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I booked these self-catering apartments to finish a week long holiday for my Grandmothers 70th off in style. I was extremely pleased with my suite; gorgeous double-headed roll top bath & huge walk-in shower, Bose sound system throughout & views of Edinburgh Castle....My Grandmothers ground-floor suite wasn't as luxurious in the bathroom stakes (no bath) but was still lovely. My only criticism was that for a ground floor apartment, there were a few stairs within the suite that didn't suit my Grandmother. The décor was to perhaps more masculine taste; lots of dark red/greys & broody artwork. Overall, I felt this would be perfect for people looking for extremely stylish, comfortable, smart & modern business-trip accommodation. I would go back if on business with my company or someone a little younger (e.g a partner).

Room Tip: Rooms in block 8 towards the top of the building can view Edinburg castle from the back, perfect if...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MClo427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This hotel provided a breathtaking room with unbelievable luxury and service. The in-room PS3 wasn't playing the movies properly and the staff went to great lengths to sort it out. Would definitely recommend the grand apartments well furnished decor and high ceilings. A very peaceful hotel situated in a wonderful location. Would love to go back :)

Room Tip: The Grand apartments have massive amounts of space. They are amazing.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shieldsy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I booked the Chester Residences for a special weekend for my boyfriends Birthday, we usually stay in Hotels but after seeing the reviews on here how could we not want to experience this ourselves. It more made up to our expectations, the suites are stylishly decorated, with everything you could possibly need (and more!) and nothing was too much trouble for the staff, we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

What an amazing hotel. I booked it as a treat for my wifes 40th birthday and it did not disapoint. Right from being spotted as we pulled up in our car and being met by the Concierge who then showed us in person where the car park was, to the ease of the check-in and the great service from all the staff. Our room was not ready as we had arrived early, but our bags were taken care of as we took a leisurely strole into Edinburgh city centre. By the way, i would strongly reccommend pre-booking a parking space as it is pricey around the area to park. We stayed at the Owners Residence, with its massive jaccuzi bath and cinema room.........what an apartment!!! It's about a 10 minute stroll from the main shopping area, but its a nice stroll, with nice bars and restaurants along the way. We have stayed at hotels in Venice, New York, Dubai, Paris to name just a few and i can honestly say this is the best one yet! Go on treat yourself, it's a tad pricey, but it's well worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Les N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,851 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
981 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 150 in Edinburgh
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,385 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,863 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Residence

Address: 6 - 9 Rothesay Place, Edinburgh EH3 7SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#2 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $196 - $460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chester Residence is a collection of 5 Georgian townhouses set in the stunning West End of Edinburgh. These chic 5 star (Scottish Tourist Board rated) designer suites blend seamlessly with attention to detail and a level of personalized service that ensures guests enjoy the highest standards, synonymous with The Chester Residence. Each suite is an oasis of tranquility, offering spacious, individually designed suites with all the benefits of a luxury hotel. The latest in room technology is provided including, Sky TV, Blu-ray DVD player. As our beautiful townhouses are listed, there is no elevator in them, but our Concierge will be happy to help with your luggage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chester Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Chester Residence Edinburgh
Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
The Chester Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing