We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something special!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chester Residence
Ranked #1 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Something special!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Luxurious rooms, modern with beautiful design touches and an understated elegance that really makes you feel special.
Without doubt the key factor to this hotels success is it's staff. Nothing was too much trouble, we felt like we had our own personal concierge, as whenever we needed anything someone magically appeared!
Rose and I have stayed in some amazing hotels around the world over the years and the staff at the Chester residence are a match for any we have had the pleasure to encounter anywhere.
If you are looking for a bit of luxury and 5 star service look no further.

Room Tip: We had a penthouse, which had the most amazing bathroom and great view to the castle from the bedroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nomad1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,625
    124
    20
    9
    6
See reviews for
337
1,011
31
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Beautiful apartment and really welcoming staff, it made for a great break after our wedding. Great band playing in the bar on Friday night; we even had a complimentary glass of champagne on the house :)

Room Tip: 8/1 (top flat) had a great view over the city - lovely view of the castle from the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matt198519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The apartment was amazing, with a level of luxury that is truely oustanding. I am a pretty seasoned traveller and have stayed at some amazing hotels in my time, but this was simply the best place I have ever stayed! The staff are friendly, so helpful, and really go out of their way to make sure your stay is special.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felix V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, Cheshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed here for my birthday weekend at the end of January. After wanting to visit Edinburgh for many years I decided to book the Chester residence after seeing the TripAdvisor reviews and the hotels own website which shows off the amazing rooms. From the moment we got there to the last minute we absolutely loved it!....the location, service and amazing rooms are as good as you can get. The rooms really do give you a wow/tingle factor as you walk in, large no make that huge! modern and very nicely furnished with a great TV which any guy will tell you is essential!. Cant really add anything to the countless other 5 out of 5 star reviews, no hesitation in recommending this hotel. Expected a lot when I booked and wasn't disappointed, treat yourself and book it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyS7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We travel a lt and this s one if the best places we ave ever stayed in. The apartments are huge - this time we had a penthouse suite with views over to Edinburgh castle from the bedroom an bathroom. Everything is very stylish, from the Alessi accessories in the kitchen to the led lights in the shower. Wonderfully comfortable beds.

What really makes this place outstanding is the service. Whenever you walk through reception someone - usually a cheerful young man in a kilt - is there to check if you need anything. One night we asked if we could use the Sky service to buy a film we wanted to see. They apologised that was nit available, and lent us 3 other films from the extensive DVD library. The next afternoon there was a knock at th door and they delivered the DVD of the film we had wanted to see with a bag of popcorn to eat while we watched it.

My husband also suffered from a painful neck injury while we wre there, and they found ad booked an excellent local physio, and even produced the hot water bottle she recommended on his return.

Nothing was too much trouble, restaurant recommendations, taxis, cocktails all appeared as if by magic. If you wan the independence of an apartment and the service standards off the best 5 star hotel, there is no better place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is my first review after using trip advisor for a number of years. The Chester Residence made me register to Tripadvisor to join in the rave reviews.

I have stayed in hotels and apartments from Australia to the UAE to the UK and this stay was by far the stand out. Over from Australia I was looking for somewhere to take my girlfriend for our 4 year anniversary. After using TripAdvisor I booked without hesitation after reading some of the reviews.

Upon arriving we were upgraded to a better apartment and the service they have offered us since walking through the door goes beyond anything I have experienced before. After a lovely introduction and tour, we received complementary glasses of champagne and a lovely, hand written card congratulating us on our anniversary. They ordered our dinner and have looked out for us like we are family. The apartment itself is out of this world.

I am writing this as we stay with them as they are that good. A special thank you to Matt for looking after us so well.

A must stay if in Edinburgh, as close to perfection as you can get.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warlingham ,surrey
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed many places over many years in Edinburgh and this is the best. Service exceptional and the Suite I had was beautiful and had everything you could wish for.

A bonus is the really cool bar and lounging area on Ground Floor - don't miss out on that.

Linked with Rutland Hotel nearby - if this is full go to that - also fantastic.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank kilgore1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,674 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Residence

Property: The Chester Residence
Address: 6 - 9 Rothesay Place, Edinburgh EH3 7SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#2 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chester Residence is a collection of 5 Georgian townhouses set in the stunning West End of Edinburgh. These chic 5 star (Scottish Tourist Board rated) designer suites blend seamlessly with attention to detail and a level of personalized service that ensures guests enjoy the highest standards, synonymous with The Chester Residence. Each suite is an oasis of tranquility, offering spacious, individually designed suites with all the benefits of a luxury hotel. The latest in room technology is provided including, Sky TV, Blu-ray DVD player. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Chester Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Chester Residence Edinburgh
Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
The Chester Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing