We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Chester Residence
Ranked #1 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Weekend trip”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

A beautiful city trip made all the more pleasant by the most amazing experience at a hotel, especially in a city, for a very long time. Not only were the standard of the rooms impeccable but I havent experienced such a personal level of service before. If The Chester Residence is within affordable reach I couldn't recommend it further.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kunal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,670
    128
    21
    9
    6
See reviews for
354
1,039
32
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We chose the Chester Residence based on the amazing reviews we saw on Trip Advisor. From the moment our taxi arrived at the doors till they where calling our taxi to send us home the staff at the Chester Residence went above and beyond to make our vacation to Edinburgh memorable. We booked a penthouse apartment a month in advance which secured us a top floor experience with wonderful views. The fantastic apartment was only the beginning, the staff made us dinner reservations, called for taxi service, bought our groceries so we wouldn't have to hunt down a store in a foreign city, and even made us a fresh pitcher of daiquiri's and delivered to our door at nearly midnight. The concierge was very knowledgeable of the area, and the receptionist's were always polite. The last nights stay they even upgraded us to their Armani suite ( AMAZING!). The Chester Residence has hands down the friendliest staff I have ever had the pleasure to meet. End your search here for a quality and courteous experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank l w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in this fantastic 2 bedroom flat. Everything you need is on hand and all so comfortable. Loved all of the technology too. Spotlessly clean and all the comforts of a home from home. Make sure you get off at Haymarket if you are coming by train from the South

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daddyruffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

We've just come back from out second visit to the residence as a surprise birthday treat for my fiancé. From the moment you arrive your made to feel like your the most important guests they've ever had and coming from a modest home it's customer service that truly makes you feel special. When they realised it was a birthday trip we were upgraded, shown to our apartment and 5 mins later there was a knock on the door, Neil was there holding 2 glasses of champagne. Class.
The 2 days flow by and wish we'd booked a week. Thank you for everything the staff at the Residence

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christaylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I will definitely return to this hotel but for a longer stay next time. The hotel, its staff, its location and its amenities are all excellent. This is a boutique hotel but without any of the quirks you put up with in a boutique style. The accommodation is luxurious, the staff are beyond charming and gracious and highly well trained. It is in an ideal location with easy walking to the centre but very quiet from loud traffic. I normally wouldn't choose a boutique hotel, but was only in Edinburgh for 2 nights and just went with the #1 pick because I didn't care too much to do research. Clearly everyone who rated this are legitimate clients because it was excellent. In fact it was more than excellent, because the staff welcome you like you are an old friend returning for the umpteenth time. I absolutely loved Edinburgh, but it was in large part because of The Chester Residence.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fontesfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Incredible hotel. Fantastic service and luxurious accommodations. I got upgraded from Chester to Rothesay place and the unit was immaculate. The kitchen was particularly spacious and would be great for a group of people.

No reason so stay anywhere else in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmirJafri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our second visit to The Chester Residence and yet again, superb from the minute we arrived. Staff excellent - very attentive, friendly and down to earth. We stayed in a different apartment from the first time but again, were very pleased indeed - luxurious and incredibly comfortable with loads of space. We would not consider staying anywhere else when visiting Edinburgh and look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muirp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,808 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
958 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 149 in Edinburgh
604 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,831 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Residence

Property: The Chester Residence
Address: 6 - 9 Rothesay Place, Edinburgh EH3 7SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#2 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chester Residence is a collection of 5 Georgian townhouses set in the stunning West End of Edinburgh. These chic 5 star (Scottish Tourist Board rated) designer suites blend seamlessly with attention to detail and a level of personalized service that ensures guests enjoy the highest standards, synonymous with The Chester Residence. Each suite is an oasis of tranquility, offering spacious, individually designed suites with all the benefits of a luxury hotel. The latest in room technology is provided including, Sky TV, Blu-ray DVD player. As our beautiful townhouses are listed, there is no elevator in them, but our Concierge will be happy to help with your luggage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chester Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Chester Residence Edinburgh
Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
The Chester Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing