We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Luxury in Edinburgh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chester Residence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chester Residence
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Luxury in Edinburgh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

This was the perfect place to land in following a trans-Atlantic flight with a changeover at Heathrow. We were exhausted, but the Chester Residence lived up to all its reviews and more. We had a suite of two huge rooms which included a full kitchen kitted out in the living area and a gigantic bathroom with all the modern conveniences. The rooms were immaculate and tastefully decorated. Although the residence is in a terrace of Georgian houses, our rooms were sleek, modern and restful. The staff was welcoming, accommodating and extremely efficient (I include the cleaning staff in this). We had a kilted, charming lad to point us in whatever direction we needed to go and give great advice. The evening we stayed in for supper, a delicious meal was delivered to our door on time and perfectly presented. Although this is a short ways from the tourist center of the city, it's not a difficult walk and buses are easily available. It was nice to come back to a quiet neighborhood in the evening. The absolutely top of the line and the best place I've ever stayed in the UK!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tereads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,519
    117
    19
    8
    6
See reviews for
313
933
29
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

First Class accommodation with a real 'wow' factor! From the moment we arrived we were met with very friendly and professional members of staff who treated us like royalty. Our apartment was a 'Grand' and we were truly amazed by the size, decor and cleanliness. It is obvious that no expense has been spared at renovating these classic properties which, amongst other features included sky tv, surround sound,and underfloor heating in bathroom.We had continental breakfasts included, which were of a very high standard delivered to our door every morning. If you are looking for top class accommodation with wonderful service and quiet surroundings, look no further, this really is the place to stay. Cant wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebkat14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Excellent and the best self catering apartment we have stayed in with your own kilted knight in shining armour to help out if you can't work out how to use the digital stove top!

Room Tip: Higher floor has more of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ESTHER F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night last week and can honestly say this place is amazing! We could definately see why it is rated number one on trip advisor. We stayed in one of the grand apartments and the are beautifully decorated, stylish, luxurious and comfortable! The apartments had all the amenities you could want and also has sky hd and docking stations for I pods in living room and bedroom! The staff were very welcoming and we were also given a tour of our apartment showing us how to use the gadgets which was helpful!
We would recommend to anyone looking to visit Edinburgh or even if you live in Edinburgh itself like we do and just looking to escape for a night in luxury! Would be brilliant for longer stays.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steph179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The Chester Residence is in a very attractive quiet neighborhood but an easy walk to to sights. The buildings and apartments are lovely and very comfortably furnished. I really wished that the bedrooms were a bit bigger. There was just enough room to walk around the beds and no closet just an armoire that was not an adequate substitute. Considering that this is in a vacation apartment where some people must spend extended stays that is quite a flaw. The living space and kitchen were stunning.
As comfortable as the surroundings were I was not wowed by the service. There was nothing wrong but there was nothing exceptional either.
If I had it to do over again I would not splurge on the Chester for a short touristy stay but if I was going to spend a week or more or needed a place to be able to spend time and be comfortable it is perfect.

Room Tip: These are Georgian Townhouses with no elevators so choose accordingly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AllTerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesterResidenceRory, General Manager at The Chester Residence, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Dear guest !
Thank you for your high scoring review !
I thought I would respond to let other guests know that we have various room types,
all with different bedroom sizes , our bedrooms are all bigger than any standard hotel room and if course all our apartments come with a living room , kitchen etc , so our bedrooms really are for sleeping !

I note you thought nothing was wrong with the service you received but that you thought it nothing special - At The Chester Residence , we like to think we are available for guest needs when requested and disappear when not !

Kind regards
Rory MacAleece
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Having never written a review before i felt compelled as this is such a better alternative to an Hotel. We stayed in the Penthouse of number 7 and it was like a home from home and very nice to work from. Every person working for The Chester Residence was incredibley warming, polite and simply couldn't do enough for you, it was a lovely welcome to Edinburgh, thank you.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicki1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Easily the best place I’ve stayed in the UK. Luxurious accommodation, outstanding staff, wonderful location. If you want to treat yourself, stay at the Chester Residence.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 3,253 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 648 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#18 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 417 reviews
Prestonfield
#4 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 957 reviews
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Residence

Property: The Chester Residence
Address: 6 - 9 Rothesay Place, Edinburgh EH3 7SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#2 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chester Residence is a collection of 5 Georgian townhouses set in the stunning west end of Edinburgh. These chic 5 star (Scottish Tourist Board rated) designer suites blend seamlessly with attention to detail and a level of personalized service that ensures guests enjoy the highest standards, synonymous with The Chester Residence. Each suite is an oasis of tranquility, offering spacious, individually designed suites with all the benefits of a luxury hotel. The latest in room technology is provided including, direct-dial telephone, voice mail, wide-screen multi-channel TV, DVD, CD player and iPod docking stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Chester Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Chester Residence Edinburgh
Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
The Chester Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing