We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place, highly recommended, lovely people, beautiful house, great stay”

The Conifers Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Conifers Guest House
Ranked #162 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent place, highly recommended, lovely people, beautiful house, great stay”
Reviewed March 2, 2011

My partner and I stayed at The Confiers Guest House for the weekend in February and were absolutely delighted with everything about it.
The room we had was a double and absoutely stunning, so much attention to detail and very comfortable bed.
Breakfast was delicious and Dave, who runs the place with his wife, was very accommodating and friendly.
The location is lovely too, as it is on a quiet street, so youdon't have hordes of tourists on your doorstep, but at the same time it is only 10-15 minutes walk from the centre of town (Princes Street etc). There are also some really nice pubs and restaurants very close by (which Dave kindly recommended for us).
If we come up for another weekend, we will definitely come back here. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharkgirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    16
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
18
39
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2010

We stayed for two nights over the first May Bank Holiday for the Rugby League Magic weekend at Murrayfield. We found the service to be excellent, the rooms clean and homely, and the breakfasts freshly cooked to order. The location is good with a 15 min walk to the city centre and a bus stop outside the guest house for those who want a ride to the city. We would stay again when visiting Edinburgh and would recommend the Conifers to other people. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RLFan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2009

I absolutely loved Conifers Guest House! It was a very clean and cozy place, very close to city center (and bus#11 is literally right outside the door - takes less than 10 minutes to get to St. Andrew's Sq.) David, the owner, is a great guy: very nice, accommodating and helpful. Made our stay very comfortable and worry-free. The vegetarian Scottish breakfast is the best I've had in Scotland. And if you need to leave early you can still get continental breakfast. The guest house is situated on a fairly quiet street but close to Leith walk (about 2 short blocks), where there are plenty of restaurants, supermarkets and buses. The Vittoria restaurant (an excellent Italian eatery) is a short walk away on Leith. The guest house itself is very pleasant, the beds are comfortable, and I was very happy to find there was a refrigerator in the room. I believe there are 4 rooms upstairs. We had a room with an en-suite shower/bathroom, but you can also share a bathroom and pay less. The prices are very reasonable. Would definitely recommend it, unless you really want to stay in a high-end hotel, but if that's not a necessity Conifers Guest House is a great place to stay to explore all Edinburgh has to offer. I stayed at a diffierent B&B 3 years ago when in Edinburgh and, although most B&Bs are similar, there was a world of difference between that place & Conifers. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed September 2009
Helpful?
1 Thank justa111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield Yorks
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights for the festival. We were recommended the Conifers by another B&B owner further up Pilrig Street who was already full. This was in April. We were so glad that we took her advice went ahead and booked.
When we arrived we had trouble parking as there was The Mela going on in the local park. David the owner took us straight away into a side street where we parked easily. We could see our car from our bedroom window and left it there safely for the whole of our stay.
We were shown to a lovely, large-sized, bay-windowed bedroom which still had some of the original features from when the house was built. It had a beautiful Victorian/Edwardian fireplace and ceiling mouldings. It was well-furnished with a comfy sofa in the baywindow. The bathroom had a large shower, sink and toilet and there was ample space to move around. Everywhere was very clean as was the bedroom.
Our room was a the front of the house overlooking the road. I am a light sleeper and I was not disturbed by traffic noise.
The full Scottish breakfast was freshly cooked to order or there was continental breakfast if we preferred. We could also help ourselves to fruit juice, cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts, muffins,and as much tea and coffee as we wanted to drink. David the host served us. He was very friendly and nothing seemed too much trouble.
It was about 20/25 minutes walk into the city or you can take the number 11 bus which costs £1.20 and it stops opposite the house. We walked each time so can't say how long the bus takes.
David was very helpful with directions and information about the city. He also recommended Vittoria Italian Restaurant which is about 10 mins walk away. We dined there and both food and service were excellent..
We will be visiting Edinburgh again early next year and we wouldn't stay anywhere else

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penstemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL,
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2009

This guest house surpassed any other that I have stayed in. The rooms were clean, well cared for and very comfortable. The owner was approachable, informative and appeared that nothing was too much! I would recommend this guest house without hesitation! Parking was not an issue I found a spot outside the house and everything was within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Indyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2009

My partner and I spent a few nights at the 'Conifers Guest House'. The 'Conifers' was recommended to us by a friend who has stayed there on numerous occasions whilst visiting the wonderous City of Edinburgh. Our stay was 'second to none' and had a fantastic time. The 'Conifers' is a family run guest house situated centrally to many many amenities. Our room was extremely comfortable and decorated to a high standard. Breakfast was delicious and nothing was too much trouble for our gracious hosts!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mand002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DARLINGTON
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2008

This guest house is located in Pilrig Street which lies off Leith Walk slightly North East of Princes Street and is located on the No. 11 Lothian bus route which will take you within minutes into Princes Street or, though we didn't venture that way, down to the Ocean Terminal where the Royal Yacht Britannia and a very modern shopping/eating complex can be found. Incidentally the bus stop for the city centre is directly opposite the guest house and if you are going the other way the stop is a further 20 seconds walk along the street!!
We stayed for 2 nights in room 4 the superior double room at the front of the property which cost £90 per night. It was very comfortable, clean and tidy...of a very high standard. You would have to be very 'picky' if being critical about the breakfast.
A comfortable 15-20 minute walk and you will reach an area of the city where you will find John Lewis Store, the Playhouse Theatre and the Omni multiplex cinema building which also houses several eating places. En route here and after about a 10 minute walk you will reach the very popular Vittoria Italian restaraunt where we had a very pleasant meal.
One day we went to Edinburgh Zoo which required an additional return bus journey. If you are making a number of bus journeys a £2.50 all day ticket is a great bargain.
Would we stay at this guest house again.......most certainly yes.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and good location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 1689ACKO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Glendevon Bed & Breakfast
#31 of 392 in Edinburgh
114 reviews
Garlands Guest House
#92 of 392 in Edinburgh
111 reviews
Ardmor House
#72 of 392 in Edinburgh
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheridan Guest House
#23 of 392 in Edinburgh
350 reviews
Dene Guest House
#21 of 392 in Edinburgh
328 reviews
West End
Casa Hamilton
Casa Hamilton
#45 of 392 in Edinburgh
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Conifers Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Conifers Guest House

Property: The Conifers Guest House
Address: 56 Pilrig Street, Edinburgh EH6 5AS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Conifers Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Conifers Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Conifers Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing