We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, professional and fun!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ardmor House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ardmor House
Ranked #55 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
shrewsbury, england
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Friendly, professional and fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2010

My husband, myself and three friends have just had four excellent days at this hotel whilst attending my daughter's wedding. Centrally placed with an easy 15 minute walk into the city centre, this is a special place. Robin and Barry were very friendly and welcoming and Tracy, the housekeeper and chef is an absolute star. Nothing was too much trouble.The breakfasts cover the full range and the cooked elements are done immediately to order including a full Scottish, all with very high quality ingredients. Robin, the owner, also makes home made scones which are an added bonus as are visits by resident canine Lola. The rooms are spotless and the decor is different in each . The bathrooms are very clean and offer a range of good quality toiletries. The front rooms inevitably have some road noise but well fitting windows, blinds and thick curtains reduce this to an acceptable level. The front rooms also look out over Pilrig Park and offer a green aspect. The bus service for those who cannot (or do not want to) walk into the city centre run at the end of the street, 5 minutes walk away and buses for the Ocean Terminal and the Royal Yacht Britannia run past the hotel itself.
We can thoroughly recommend this hotel and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bayston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    23
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
11
120
34
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2010

stayed here with my partner for my birthday this year and we both loved it, the housekeeper who checked us in was really welcoming and as it was fairly late told us where to go for a good supper, the room was extremely comfortable with a good view and a huge comfortable bed, breakfast was great too. will be back and will reccommend highly to others

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james09Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
97 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2009

Stayed at this B&B in July 2005. Just returned this November. It is still GREAT! We had the large room upstairs with the bay windoe overlooking the street. Just redone. OUTSTANDING! Comfy beds, great baths and the breakfasts outstanding. Tracey will make you feel like you are in her home. Robin is the owner and is just wonderful. Helped arrange a tour for us of Stirling Castle and Loch Lomand.

Make sure you meet Lola, the princess of the house. I just can't say enough good things about this place. I will be back!

Great location, it is located downhill from the bars and fun and right on the bus route to get you up the hill the morning.

Thanks again Tracey and Robin. I will be back!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afineguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2009

I had a very pleasant eight-night stay at Ardmor House. It is welcoming, comfortable, convenient, and affordable. Two things stand out.

First, Tracey, who is on the premises most days and usually prepares the breakfasts, is a joy. She was our friend from day one, and she gave us excellent, candid advice about what to do (and what not to do) in the area.

Second, the breakfasts themselves are world-class. I am still dreaming of the full Scottish breakfast, toast with lemon curd (or Marmite or Nutella or marmalade or just about any other schmear you can name), and wonderful French-press coffee. I will be back for more, perhaps even sooner than I had planned.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2009

This is a lovely B&B with large bedrooms, lovely breakfast and quiet location,
Probably about 30 mins walk to the Royal Mile but you can get the bus,
Good places for coffee on Broughton Street (use recommendations in the file in the bedrooms) Otherwise, try 'Always Sunday' on the High Street.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SouthamptonMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2009

Of the four hotels we stayed in during our travels in the UK, this was the best. It was also the cheapest and smallest., so that's says a lot! The location is great- near the attractions but not in the midst of noise and traffic. Our room was small but comfortable and quiet (facing the garden). Breakfast the next morning was excellent. Service was friendly and efficient. The house itself looks small on the outside but is actually quite large, with a very impressive entry hall and grand staircase. We only stayed one night but there really was nothing negative about our experience. I'm American and my partner is British.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shufflinalong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2009

the staff was very helpful. food was great and the location was perfect.
Although htey do not ahve parking per se- free parking is availble on hte street utsdie. also - the car rental office is ony a few blocks away.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RangerDanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
2.3 mi away
Ashdene House
Ashdene House
#128 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fraoch House
Fraoch House
#8 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
0.0 mi away
Millers 64
Millers 64
#78 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Garlands Guest House
Garlands Guest House
#113 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Antler Guest House
Antler Guest House
#60 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheridan Guest House
Sheridan Guest House
#22 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardmor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardmor House

Property: Ardmor House
Address: 74 Pilrig Street, Edinburgh EH6 5AS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ardmor House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Ardmor House Hotel Edinburgh
Ardmor House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing