We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury b&b with a perfect location”
Review of Ardmor House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ardmor House
Ranked #85 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Weve had a wonderfull stay at Ardmor House during Hogmanay. The 'cosy' room on the ground floor was had all you could ask for; good shower, perfect bed, hairdryer, plasma tv, coffee and tea facilities and so on. Better than we have experienced in any luxury hotel. Good bus connection to city centre, altough you could even walk (10mins.). Robin provides you with many and outstanding breakfast choices. Outstanding price/quality in lovely and lively Edinburgh. We will certainly return!!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
There are newer reviews for Ardmor House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 217 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

A fabulous warm welcome with on street parking, excellent local advise, buses passing the door and an easy 10-15 minute walk into town. What else would you need. We found this B&B to be a good value for money alternative to the big, unfriendly hotels. A comfortable bed in quiet, well decorated room. The bathroom had every accessory you need. The breakfast was a highlight - Haggis is available too! lots of choice for even a fussy eater. We will be going back and I would certainly recommend this to friends and family.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bubs78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Robin is an excellent host who will go out of his way to accommodate you. The breakfasts were amazing! Ardmor House is a wonderful place to stay, very charming and friendly. Nice traditional décor combined with a bit of hip. I would definitely stay there again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Nice accommodations, very well maintained, worth the value, and excellent large breakfast can keep you going for the long walks in Edinburgh.
Good location and close to public buses. Many restaurants and cafes nearby.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank World_Traveler_DR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed at the weekend and found the elderflower cordial a welcome drink on arrival. Beautiful room, huge bed - good and firm. Robin was a lovely host and Vera the dog was very cute. The breakfast was extremely tasty, sausages and haggis from Crombies - yum. No problem for decaf coffee or tea and home made cakes - what more can I say! Happy to recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CHickey101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Having stayed here years before, I deliberately booked this place for two nights on a four woman road trip. On arrival, we found parking outside on the road easy. We were welcomed with glasses of elderflower cordial and information on the area and local restaurants and transport. Our two rooms were on the first floor facing the street, one a double and the other, for our older relatives, a twin. Both had comfortable beds. Our shower room was clean - though larger towels would have been nicer to maintain modesty. Kettles in both rooms had to be boiled on the floor due to the low sockets and short cables. Unfortunately, that led to a nasty burn for my friend's mum. Also, when I moved the bedside table to plug in my ipad, I was disappointed to see quite a bit of fluff behind it and the bed.

Breakfast was good - and they started it early for us the first morning as we had to be out early for the "Hairy Coo" tour from the Royal Mile, a cab having been organised for us.

All in all, I wasn't as impressed this time around, though the owners are friendly and the location ideal for the city centre.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights . Very welcoming host , spotlessly clean. Robin very informative and nothing was too much bother. Would certainly recommend to friends to stay here. Although the house is a 20 minute walk from Waverley station ,the bus runs every 10mins from outside the house,excellent value. First class bed and breakfast hotel , very quiet rooms and excellent choice at breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hadders2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
2.3 mi away
Ashdene House
Ashdene House
#107 of 393 in Edinburgh
67 reviews
2.4 mi away
Barony House
Barony House
#2 of 393 in Edinburgh
744 reviews
0.0 mi away
Millers 64
Millers 64
#64 of 393 in Edinburgh
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Abercorn Guest House
Abercorn Guest House
#32 of 393 in Edinburgh
471 reviews
0.0 mi away
Antler Guest House
Antler Guest House
#49 of 393 in Edinburgh
66 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheridan Guest House
Sheridan Guest House
#18 of 393 in Edinburgh
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardmor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardmor House

Address: 74 Pilrig Street, Edinburgh EH6 5AS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $87 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ardmor House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Ardmor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardmor House Hotel Edinburgh
Ardmor House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing