We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rave review”
Review of Ardmor House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ardmor House
Ranked #75 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rave review”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My partner and I stayed in this beautiful B&B and Robin and Barry are exceptional hosts. They went out of their way to make our stay a highlight of our European adventure. We had a mini crisis over a hire car that blew up and Robin's help and support saved the day

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    23
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
11
120
34
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights. Very welcoming, spotlessly clean, well decorated. It is a boutique b&b not a boutique hotel. Shame an electric shower. I only had continental at breakfast, but there was a good choice and quality.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed over a weekend in August during the Edinburgh fringe. We arrived a little early which wasn't a problem at all. We were greeted with a refreshing cold drink and given lots of useful information about the city and the festival before being shown to our lovely, comfortable room which overlooked a well maintained, prettily planted garden. We were especially pleased with the complimentary bottle of wine! (Which we received by booking through Mr. & Mrs. Smith). Vera, the B&B's Schnoodle (cross between a Schnauzer and a poodle) was also a complete adorable and excitable delight. The city is about a 15-20 minute walk away or far less on the bus, which you can catch right outside the house. Their are plenty of nice bars and restaurants close by too (Look for recommendations in the guest book) We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay and would love to come back! Thank you Robin, Barry & Vera!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the house which overlooks the garden....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie_Zak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

My partner and I were in Edinburgh for three nights and were fortunate to find this fabulous B&B. we arrived early which wasn't a problem for Robin and Barry, they welcomed us and were excellent hosts. As they were busy we had the small room on the first night before moving upstairs to possibly the biggest room we have ever stayed in! The attention to detail is what makes this B&B so good. Great bed, gorgeous toiletries and furnishings are all excellent. Many B&B's like to say they offer luxury but this one really does deliver. And breakfast was perfect. A great package in terms of rooms, location, breakfast and terrific hosts.

Room Tip: Book early or you might miss out. And if the small room is the only one available, take it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This guest house is the perfect mix of hotel quality with sophisticated homely charm. Small but beautifully formed. Robin is both knowledgeable and helpful and , friendly and welcoming - an excellent host. The breakfast was excellent - I would particularly recommend the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon. Its a bit of a trot into the centre but well provided with buses. A nice calm place to return to after a few very hectic days at the Festival. And the bed was really comfortable so we both had a really good sleep. I will definitely stay here next time I get to Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Room 2 is very spacious with a big bay window facing onto the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BidLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandysul, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

This is a little gem of a guest house. A beautiful old building with a pristine little front garden, which leads you to the grand porch of the house.

The welcome offered to us by Robin (the owner) was warm and friendly. The downstairs offered a well manicured mixture of old with the opulent contemporary.

The room was bright, elegant and clean. I have stayed in 5 star hotels that aren't as nice as this. As it was our honeymoon, Robin was more than happy to arrange flowers, champagne and a bottle of single malt to be in our room on arrival. This all added to a feeling to having got ourselves a really great place to stay.

The room had a very comfortable king size bed with luxurious heavy cotton bedding. There was a large antique wardrobe for all our clothes and luxurious toiletries in the bathroom. The tea and coffee facilities were well stocked. The view from our room was of Pilrig Road, however the park across the street did soften the outlook.

The bathroom was compact, with a modern finish and good facilities. The towels and robes provided were again very good quality.

The cooked breakfast selection, although small was superbly done. I highly recommend the scrambled egg and salmon, it was divine. Robin was even kind enough to share his secret on doing the eggs, YUM YUM. The range of fruits (both fresh & dried), breads, cereals and condiments was well thought out, offering you an almost endless array of breakfast combinations. I save the best to last, the Scottish breakfast - DELICIOUS!

I can confidently say that we will happily go back there in the future.

I have to mention only two negative points, which do not amount to any loss of a 5 star rating, but just as a pointer if you read this review. The ventilation fan in our bathroom was rather noisy and the wifi a little temperamental with only a mediocre signal. So if thats all I have to worry about, then you should have nothing to worry about.

Robin, you did us proud and helped make our honeymoon simply wonderful. Many thanks, Russ & Anna.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BuffaloWTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I stayed by myself for 3 nights and loved this place and would recommend it to anyone! Lovely comfy bed and pillows , super clean, beautiful decor, great hot breakfast choices and home made muffins and oatcakes! Easy walk/ bus to town. Robin has mastered the art of good but not over- bearing hosting. If they don't have availability for my trip up next year I will be very disappointed! Fiona C

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fifi1729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
2.3 mi away
Ashdene House
Ashdene House
#121 of 392 in Edinburgh
64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Millers 64
Millers 64
#80 of 392 in Edinburgh
165 reviews
0.0 mi away
Antler Guest House
Antler Guest House
#50 of 392 in Edinburgh
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Abercorn Guest House
Abercorn Guest House
#38 of 392 in Edinburgh
467 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bield B&B
Bield B&B
#59 of 392 in Edinburgh
222 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Conifers Guest House
The Conifers Guest House
#153 of 392 in Edinburgh
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardmor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardmor House

Property: Ardmor House
Address: 74 Pilrig Street, Edinburgh EH6 5AS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ardmor House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Ardmor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardmor House Hotel Edinburgh
Ardmor House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing